Change the bitrate to rip audio cd

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Skrach37
Level 1
Level 1

Change the bitrate to rip audio cd

Postby Skrach37 » Sun Oct 27, 2013 9:49 am

Hi, I'm a bit new in this linuxworld, but normaly I can manage to solve some problems looking in the web. This I could not solve so I ask about it. The problem is that I am ripping my cd's but I can't change the bitrate to have a better qualety music. So what must I do so I may change this???

Thanks!!!

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Re: Change the bitrate to rip audio cd

Postby xenopeek » Sun Oct 27, 2013 3:01 pm

Are you using Banshee as your media player for ripping CDs? If so, you would go to its Edit > Preferences menu, then to the Source Specific tab, and select as Source "Audio CDs". Then you can choose the import format, and if desired click the Edit button to select bitrate and (if applicable) encoding mode. Enjoy the music :D

Skrach37
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Skrach37 » Tue Oct 29, 2013 5:23 am

Perfect!!! :) I was ripping with K3b and it only let me change the ogg format. I know this one is better quality but I think many players don't soppot it. The only difference with the K3b is that this one detects better the information than Banshee.

Many thanks

xenopeek
Level 24
Level 24

Postby xenopeek » Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:53 am

In K3b, go to Settings > Configure K3b, then to Plugins, then under the Audio Encoder heading the wrench button next to "K3b External Audio Encoder". There you can configure the command line for lame. For example adding the option --preset extreme will output 320 kbps VBR MP3 if you rip to MP3.

Skrach37
Level 1
Level 1

Postby Skrach37 » Tue Oct 29, 2013 7:47 am