SOLVED: Flash not working after installing updates

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
hester3073

SOLVED: Flash not working after installing updates

Post by hester3073 »

Hey everybody, this is my first post on here. I apologize if this has been asked before but I tried searching first and couldn't find anything quite like my problem.
I have Linux Mint 13 LTS XFCE 32 bit running on a Compaq desktop with a 80GB HDD and 1GB RAM. I've played around with Ubuntu, Xubuntu, Bodhi Linux and some others before but I'm new to Mint.

To begin with I was having problems with youtube videos freezing after a few seconds of playback. I thought the problem might be that I was running an older version of flash or firefox, so I installed all my updates and now youtube videos wont play at all... I get either a blank gray or black rectangle where the video should be.

Please help! I'm on youtube all the time so being able to watch videos is very important. I had been playing around with Xubuntu 12.04 and couldn't get videos to play either, but on my other computer which is running Ubuntu 12.04 youtube videos have always played with no problem even after updates :? :? :?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gold_finger

Re: Flash not working after installing updates

Post by gold_finger »

See if this tutorial applies to your computer: How to Fix Flash Video Problems on Older Computers
hester3073

Post by hester3073 »

gold_finger wrote:See if this tutorial applies to your computer: How to Fix Flash Video Problems on Older Computers

Ok I did everything that tutorial said and that didn't change a thing... still not working :(
gold_finger

Post by gold_finger »