No Sound via HDMI with several applications

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
dfuchs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:40 am

No Sound via HDMI with several applications

Post by dfuchs »

Hi there,

I most recently installed Mint and it worked out quiet well.
However I'm unable to get any sound via my HDMI Output using any "normal" way.
Since my computer running Mint should work as a media centre this is annoying.

The strange thing is that if I watch TV via Kaffeine (the easiest software to configure and use even under cinnamon) I get a sound output and after I started Kaffeine I can switch to e.g. youtube or anything else and the sound still works well.

I wonder if anyone can help me get my sound without starting Kaffeine each time.

I tried several things like uninstall and later reinstall pulseaudio
Set options to the /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
Looked into pacmd list-sinks witch looked good to me

Code: Select all

daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name ~ $ pacmd list-sinks
Welcome to PulseAudio! Use "help" for usage information.
>>> 2 sink(s) available.
  * index: 1
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_03_00.1.hdmi-stereo-extra1>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: RUNNING
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 9050
	volume: 0: 100% 1: 100%
	        0: 0,00 dB 1: 0,00 dB
	        balance 0,00
	base volume: 100%
	             0,00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 160,19 ms
	max request: 39 KiB
	max rewind: 64 KiB
	monitor source: 2
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 48000Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 1
	linked by: 1
	configured latency: 210,00 ms; range is 0,50 .. 341,33 ms
	card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_03_00.1>
	module: 5
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.id = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "7"
		alsa.card = "1"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA NVidia"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA NVidia at 0xfbafc000 irq 19"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:03:00.1"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.2/0000:03:00.1/sound/card1"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "10de"
		device.vendor.name = "NVIDIA Corporation"
		device.product.id = "0be3"
		device.product.name = "High Definition Audio Controller"
		device.string = "hdmi:1,1"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "hdmi-stereo-extra1"
		device.profile.description = "Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		device.description = "High Definition Audio Controller Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Nvidia GPU 0b HDMI/DP"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10de000b,10de0101,00100200"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		hdmi-output-1: HDMI / DisplayPort 2 (priority 5800, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
				device.product.name = "TOSHIBA-TV
  "
	active port: <hdmi-output-1>
    index: 2
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.iec958-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: SUSPENDED
	suspend cause: IDLE 
	priority: 9958
	volume: 0: 100% 1: 100%
	        0: 0,00 dB 1: 0,00 dB
	        balance 0,00
	base volume: 100%
	             0,00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 0,00 ms
	max request: 0 KiB
	max rewind: 0 KiB
	monitor source: 3
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 48000Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 0
	linked by: 0
	configured latency: 0,00 ms; range is 0,50 .. 341,33 ms
	card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
	module: 4
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "ALC887 Digital"
		alsa.id = "ALC887 Digital"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "1"
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel at 0xf9ef8000 irq 58"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "8086"
		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
		device.product.id = "27d8"
		device.product.name = "NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "iec958:0"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "iec958-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Digital Stereo (IEC958)"
		device.description = "Internes Audio Digital Stereo (IEC958)"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC887"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0887,10438427,00100202"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		iec958-stereo-output: Digitaler Ausgang (S/PDIF) (priority 0, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				
	active port: <iec958-stereo-output>
and last but not least I tried to find out witch one of my outputs is working using aplay

Code: Select all

daniel@daniel-System-Product-Name ~ $ LC_ALL=C aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: ALC887 Analog [ALC887 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: ALC887 Digital [ALC887 Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 7: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 8: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 9: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
With aplay -D I found out that card 1 device 7 is the working one.

If there is any other information I can provide you to help me fix this I try my best to get it. However my Linuxskills are at userlevel so please keep it simple.

Greeting Daniel

P.S.: I just discovered another strange behavoir: If I perform a sound test right after starting the system it works. After that I started an MP3 which did not work and the sound test performed during the MP3 did not work ether.
dfuchs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:40 am

Re: No Sound via HDMI with several applications

Post by dfuchs »

Can anybody help me with this?
Aristotelian
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 7:12 pm

Re: No Sound via HDMI with several applications

Post by Aristotelian »

When you open "sound settings", does it list HDMI as the active output? If not, is it listed as available?

In the past I have almost always needed to manually set up HDMI as the default output. Try:

Code: Select all

pacmd set-default-sink 1
This should permanently change your pulse audio settings to your HDMI sink.

Also, take a look at /etc/pulse/default.pa and see if anything else looks suspicious.
dfuchs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2015 9:40 am

Re: No Sound via HDMI with several applications

Post by dfuchs »

Hello,

thanks for your try.
I think it's hardware problem. I just ordered a new board. Maybe I'm lucky. If not I'll be back.

Greetings Daniel
Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”