Line audio not working

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Line audio not working

Post by lamar » Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:12 pm

I have been using 18.1 mint cinnamon for a while on all three desktop units with no problems. Upgraded one to 18.2.............no problems. Decided to do a clean install on one. Install went in with no surprises. Later, I found out my audio was working but the line in/out is dead. Streaming audio off net works fine. I have gnome alsa mixer and pulse audio control installed but line in/out is still dead.
System is:

$ inxi -Fnx
System: Host: lamar Kernel: 4.8.0-58-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.4.3 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine: Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-A55M-DS2 v: x.x
Bios: Award v: F1 date: 02/29/2012
CPU: Dual core AMD A4-3400 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips: 10773
clock speeds: max: 2700 MHz 1: 1400 MHz 2: 2200 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA G96 [GeForce 9400 GT] bus-ID: 01:00.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
Resolution: 1680x1050@59.95hz, 1680x1050@59.95hz
GLX Renderer: GeForce 9400 GT/PCIe/SSE2
GLX Version: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 340.102 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.8.0-58-generic
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: de00 bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: enp2s0 state: down mac: 90:2b:34:8b:e9:de
Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR5212/5213/2414 Wireless Network Adapter
driver: ath5k bus-ID: 03:06.0
IF: wlp3s6 state: up mac: 00:1b:2f:c7:9f:85
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1175.9GB (1.0% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST9160314AS size: 160.0GB
ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EZEX size: 1000.2GB
ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: Cruzer_Blade size: 15.7GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 143G used: 6.5G (5%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 9.6C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:41C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 183 Uptime: 2:05 Memory: 1376.6/3948.3MB
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
lamar@lamar ~ $


Any help will be appreciated.

Lamar
lamar

lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Re: Line audio not working

Post by lamar » Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:08 pm

After clean install of 18.2 three times with no line output , I installed 18.1 again and had line audio output. Then, I upgraded to 18.2 and audio works fine.
Anyone have any thoughts about what is going on?
lamar

lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Re: Line audio not working BUMP

Post by lamar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:10 pm

As stated above, nothing I do will pass line audio unless I install 18.1 first. Can update to 18.2 or 18.3 and have line audio output. A clean install of 18.2 or 18.3 gives no line output although I see line input. Is there possibly a driver in 18.1 that has been discontinued?
Any help will be appreciated as I have been fighting this since last July.
lamar

User avatar
Flemur
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5936
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Line audio not working BUMP

Post by Flemur » Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:50 pm

lamar wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 2:10 pm
Is there possibly a driver in 18.1 that has been discontinued?
Any help will be appreciated as I have been fighting this since last July.
I would think the upgrade from 18.1 to 18.2,3 would supply the same software as an 18.2,3 install, so perhaps it's the system config files, or the config files which get created in your $HOME - if a file is already there from the 18.1 install, it isn't recreated when you upgrade, but it is created when you fresh-install 18.2,3 (created on a user basis, in their $HOME).

You might be able to test this by re-naming any pulse or alsa files under your $HOME and rebooting (log out/in?), then see if new files are created (from the 18.2,3 software) and the problem shows up. Dunno if system config files work the same way,
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Re: Line audio not working

Post by lamar » Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:19 pm

When I upgrade from 18.1 to 18.2,3 audio works. It's when I do a clean install from 18.2,3 is when audio don't work.
Last edited by lamar on Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
lamar

User avatar
Flemur
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5936
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Line audio not working

Post by Flemur » Sun Feb 11, 2018 11:34 am

lamar wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 3:19 pm
When I upgrade from 18.1 to 18.2,3 audio works. It's when I do a clean install from 18.2,3 that the audio don't work.
Yes. I think that could because of the config that get created.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Re: Line audio not working

Post by lamar » Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:00 pm

If it works with 18.1 only, it looks like something has been left out of the newer versions. I hate to think I will have to start with a clean install of 18.1 and then upgrade to new versions forever. No telling what will happen when ver 19 comes out.
lamar

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Line audio not working

Post by absque fenestris » Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:48 pm

Wrong audio settings or an audio device no longer exists?

This is from forum member ehtron https://www.ehlertronic.de/linux/tipps- ... .html#c658
Short version:
Search the existing settings under /.config/pulse (hidden folder).
Delete the folder pulse and restart the computer.

Maybe it helps
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)

lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Re: Line audio not working

Post by lamar » Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:24 am

Let me try to explain what is going on.

Clean install of 18.1.......have to install gnomealsa mixer to unmute line out. Works fine
Clean install of 18.2/3....have to install gnomealsa mixer to unmute line out.. No line out
Upgrade from 18.1 with line audio working to 18.2/3 audio works fine.
Pulse audio control sees line input in all combinations but only output with an 18.1 installation.

Is it possible that a driver has been left out of the 18.2/3 builds that was in 18.1?
lamar

lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Re: Line audio not working

Post by lamar » Tue Feb 27, 2018 7:48 am

bump
lamar@lamar ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System: Host: lamar Kernel: 4.13.0-36-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine: Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-A55M-DS2 v: x.x
Bios: Award v: F1 date: 02/29/2012
CPU: Dual core AMD A4-3400 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm) bmips: 11971
clock speeds: max: 3000 MHz 1: 1400 MHz 2: 2400 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA G96 [GeForce 9400 GT] bus-ID: 01:00.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
Resolution: 1680x1050@59.95hz, 1680x1050@59.95hz
GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NV96
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller
driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-36-generic
Network: Card: Ralink RT5372 Wireless Adapter
driver: rt2800usb v: 2.3.0 usb-ID: 002-005
IF: wlx9cefd5fed738 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 1175.9GB (5.2% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST9160314AS size: 160.0GB
ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WD10EZEX size: 1000.2GB
ID-3: USB /dev/sdc model: Cruzer_Blade size: 15.7GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 143G used: 8.1G (6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 14.4C mobo: N/A gpu: 37.0
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 177 Uptime: 9:37 Memory: 1462.9/3942.5MB
Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35
lamar

Pilfer
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:48 pm

Re: Line audio not working

Post by Pilfer » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:38 pm

I might have misunderstood your post and if so, I apologize. Are you trying to listen to the Line In channel? I noticed in 18.3 that the Line In is muted by default and the Loopback is also disabled. If you launch alsamixer from a terminal, you can unmute and enable loopback. Just arrow to the right until you see each one, press "M" to unmute a channel. Even if that isn't the issue, there are a lot more controls/options in alsamixer than the Sound Settings GUI.

Again, if I completely misunderstood your problem, please disregard!

lamar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:34 am
Location: Maine

Re: Line audio not working

Post by lamar » Tue Feb 27, 2018 4:14 pm

I had to install ALSA mixer in order to unmute line out in 18.1 as it is muted by default. This process does not work with clean install of 18.2/3. Line out is also muted by default. The only way I can get line out with 18.2/3 is to install 18.1 and upgrade.
Thank you very much for taking time to assist me. I hope I have explained the problem so you can understand it.
lamar

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 545
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Line audio not working

Post by absque fenestris » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:00 pm

@ Iamar
Always annoying when things don't work.
Maybe good to know, even very well-known and very expensive applications can freak out on different versions of the other OS. Happy jumping around... :mrgreen:
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”