60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:57 pm

When watching a youtube video which is 60 FPS. My cpu's cores are at 100% any help?
The linux coder.
Image

User avatar
MintBean
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2469
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby MintBean » Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:58 pm

Not enough info.

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:02 pm

MintBean wrote:Not enough info.
'

This enough for you? XD

System: Host: majik Kernel: 4.13.5-041305-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 7.2.0)
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.8.7 (Qt 5.6.1) Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine: System: LENOVO (portable) product: 80T7 v: Lenovo ideapad 110-15IBR
Mobo: LENOVO model: 00RD15IPG076 v: SDK0J40700 WIN Bios: LENOVO v: 1GCN19WW date: 10/03/2016
CPU: Dual core Intel Celeron N3060 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 6400
clock speeds: max: 2480 MHz 1: 1600 MHz 2: 1600 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Device 22b1 bus-ID: 00:02.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@59.97hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 400 (Braswell)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card Intel Device 2284 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 Sound: ALSA v: k4.13.5-041305-generic
Network: Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros Device 0042 driver: ath10k_pci bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: wlp2s0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 1000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Card-3: Atheros usb-ID: 001-003
IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives: HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (13.8% used) ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST500LT012 size: 500.1GB
Optical: /dev/sr0 model: PLDS DVD-RW DA8A6SH rev: GL61 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw
Features: speed: 24x multisession: yes
audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running
Partition: ID-1: / size: 455G used: 61G (15%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.20GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID: No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 61.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 212 Uptime: 3 days Memory: 2011.1/3862.0MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.3
The linux coder.
Image

User avatar
MintBean
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2469
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby MintBean » Sun Oct 15, 2017 8:40 pm

Your processor is a fairly weak one with only integrated graphics. It might be worth trying a lighter desktop like MATE.

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 9:46 pm

Wow. This computer i dropped and it currupted the root drive. And i made a USB drive with windows and used the gparted Fix command and got it working. And THAT was a pain. And now i have to rip it off my pc? :(
The linux coder.
Image

User avatar
MrEen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby MrEen » Sun Oct 15, 2017 10:07 pm

mrmajik45 wrote: Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@59.97hz

That looks odd. No display driver?

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:42 pm

Well it says here https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/3#TOC-Improve-video-performance-for-Intel-graphics that the driver was for OLD intel graphics and it slows down NEW intel graphics
The linux coder.
Image

greerd
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 712
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby greerd » Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:32 pm

You could try using the modesetting driver instead of intel, see Pjotr's Easy linux Tips here, section 5.
Image

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 6:13 pm

greerd wrote:You could try using the modesetting driver instead of intel, see Pjotr's Easy linux Tips here, section 5.

I JUST SAID THAT I DID THAT
The linux coder.
Image

User avatar
MrEen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby MrEen » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:51 pm

What does this report:

Code: Select all

grep modesetting /var/log/Xorg.0.log

Hoser Rob
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2829
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby Hoser Rob » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:40 am

mrmajik45 wrote:
greerd wrote:You could try using the modesetting driver instead of intel, see Pjotr's Easy linux Tips here, section 5.

I JUST SAID THAT I DID THAT


These are all volunteers here, and the truth is that there are some people that you'd have to get paid to support.

You're one of them.

Goodbye.

ColdBootII
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2017 8:19 am

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby ColdBootII » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:27 am

@OP

What you haven't said is, which browser is maxing the CPU? In case it's Chromium/Chrome, go to chrome://flags and enable "Override software rendering list" which might bring it down a bit. Chromium is currently more CPU efficient at video playback than FF and its derivatives.

User avatar
JerryF
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1633
Joined: Mon Jun 08, 2015 1:23 pm
Location: Rhode Island, USA

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby JerryF » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:49 am

mrmajik45 wrote:
greerd wrote:You could try using the modesetting driver instead of intel, see Pjotr's Easy linux Tips here, section 5.

I JUST SAID THAT I DID THAT


No, you did not say that you did that. You only showed a link that had that information, which not everyone clicks on, so they wouldn't have any idea.

Also, CAPS means that you're shouting. No need to do that. We are here to help, not to be belittled like you did in your response to mintbean with

mrmajik45 wrote:This enough for you? XD
Don't forget to edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject line if your problem has been fixed.
My main language is English. I speak very little Portuguese, and a whole lot of gibberish.

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:25 pm

JerryF wrote:
mrmajik45 wrote:
greerd wrote:You could try using the modesetting driver instead of intel, see Pjotr's Easy linux Tips here, section 5.

I JUST SAID THAT I DID THAT


No, you did not say that you did that. You only showed a link that had that information, which not everyone clicks on, so they wouldn't have any idea.

Also, CAPS means that you're shouting. No need to do that. We are here to help, not to be belittled like you did in your response to mintbean with

mrmajik45 wrote:This enough for you? XD

Sorry about that.
The linux coder.
Image

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:26 pm

ColdBootII wrote:@OP

What you haven't said is, which browser is maxing the CPU? In case it's Chromium/Chrome, go to chrome://flags and enable "Override software rendering list" which might bring it down a bit. Chromium is currently more CPU efficient at video playback than FF and its derivatives.

I do use chrome so i tried that and restarted. but nope still lags
Last edited by mrmajik45 on Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The linux coder.
Image

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:28 pm

MrEen wrote:What does this report:

Code: Select all

grep modesetting /var/log/Xorg.0.log

[ 43.568] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 2
[ 43.569] (II) LoadModule: "modesetting"
[ 43.569] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/modesetting_drv.so
[ 43.569] (II) Module modesetting: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 43.570] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 2
[ 43.571] (II) LoadModule: "modesetting"
[ 43.571] (II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/modesetting_drv.so
[ 43.571] (II) Module modesetting: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
[ 43.571] (II) UnloadModule: "modesetting"
[ 43.571] (II) Unloading modesetting
[ 43.571] (II) Failed to load module "modesetting" (already loaded, 0)
[ 43.572] (II) modesetting: Driver for Modesetting Kernel Drivers: kms
[ 43.598] (WW) Falling back to old probe method for modesetting
The linux coder.
Image

greerd
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 712
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2010 10:58 am
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby greerd » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:44 pm

I should of noticed your link, as I've pointed to it enough times, so sorry for that. So cool, your sorry, I'm sorry, everybody's sorry.

Your output from MrEen's request says (I think) that modesetting is loaded but it would be nice to see the output of inxi -Gx.

Also did you try disabling hardware rendering in your browser as ColdBootII alluded to?

One more thing I can think of is to use SMPlayer and SMTube to see if that's more efficient. Available in the repos I believe.
Image

User avatar
MrEen
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby MrEen » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:18 pm

Other than what has already been suggested by others, all I can offer is this from the same website:
Do you experience any new problems because of this driver switch? Then undo the switch, as described in item 6.1 below.

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:00 pm

MrEen wrote:Other than what has already been suggested by others, all I can offer is this from the same website:
Do you experience any new problems because of this driver switch? Then undo the switch, as described in item 6.1 below.

It's was doing it before. so i did THAT to see if it would help.
The linux coder.
Image

User avatar
mrmajik45
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:51 pm
Location: USA, indiana
Contact:

Re: 60 FPS cpu Maxed out?

Postby mrmajik45 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:02 pm

Code: Select all

inxi -Gx

Graphics: Card: Intel Device 22b1 bus-ID: 00:02.0
Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@59.97hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 400 (Braswell)
GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.0.7 Direct Rendering: Yes
The linux coder.
Image


Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”