Sound does not work only in Firefox

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
victorkyochi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:20 pm

Sound does not work only in Firefox

Postby victorkyochi » Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:51 pm

Sound does not work only in Firefox (version 56.0-64bit). In chrome and other softwares work normally..

Recently the audio was not working on linux and I had to install the latest kernel from the 4.10 series.

I installed the pulseaudio and got the following message when I opened:

Connection to PulseAudio failed. Autom. retry in 5s
In this case this is likely because PULSE_Server in the Environment/X11 Root Window Properties or default-server in client.conf is misconfigured. This Situation can also arrise when PulseAudio crashed and left stale details in the X11 Root Window. If this is the case, then PulseAudio should autospawn again, or if this is not configured you should run start-pulseaudio-x11 manually.


Code: Select all

victor@victor-Aspire-5745 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: victor-Aspire-5745 Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 2.24.30) Distro: Linux Mint 18.2 Sonya
Machine:   System: Acer product: Aspire 5745 v: V1.19
           Mobo: Acer model: JV51_CP Bios: INSYDE v: V1.19 date: 22/03/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5 M 460 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10109
           clock speeds: max: 2534 MHz 1: 1199 MHz 2: 1199 MHz 3: 1466 MHz
           4: 1333 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.02hz, 1920x1080@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Mobile
           GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR8151 v1.0 Gigabit Ethernet
           driver: atl1c v: 1.0.1.1-NAPI port: 2000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9287 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express)
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (82.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HTS54505 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 57G used: 30G (56%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.10GB used: 0.30GB (7%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 42.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 205 Uptime: 1 day Memory: 2019.5/3624.3MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4391
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Sound does not work only in Firefox

Postby administrollaattori » Wed Nov 08, 2017 3:24 pm

Start Firefox in the safe-mode via Terminal.

Code: Select all

firefox -safe-mode

victorkyochi
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:20 pm

Re: Sound does not work only in Firefox

Postby victorkyochi » Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:33 pm

Did not solve
I think I'm having problems with the pulseaudio


Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”