[SOLVED] Mic issue in Linux Mint 18.3

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
SJM

[SOLVED] Mic issue in Linux Mint 18.3

Post by SJM »

Hi all, thanks in advance for any help.

I'm struggling to make my microphone work on my headset. Whether or not I'm speaking into it, it produces continuous noise, like this:-

https://www.mediafire.com/file/26nilt1n ... +sound.ogg

(Sorry for using mediafire -- this forum won't accept a .ogg as a file attachment).

I'm quite new to Linux, and I don't know what I'm doing, but I did try to search for my problem before posting a question, and I think the output of pacmd -ls may be helpful? If so, then here it is:-

[Removed very long paste from terminal -- it was a red herring anyway]

S
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
deepakdeshp
Level 20
Level 20

Re: Mic issue in Linux Mint 18.3

Post by deepakdeshp »

Please install Ubuntu kernel updater. With its help install highest version of kernel 4.10 series. Reboot and test
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help.
Regards,
Deepak

Mint 21.1 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A6 / 8GB
Mint 21.1 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U/8gb
SJM

Post by SJM »

Thank you for responding. I was not able to find the Ubuntu kernel updater in Software Sources. System info confirms that I am using Linux Kernel 4.10.0-42-generic.
SJM

Post by SJM »

Sorry to bump a thread, but I'm still a bit stuck here. Is any further advice available?

Merry Christmas

S
jimallyn
Level 19
Level 19

Post by jimallyn »