ffmpeg libx264 cpu capabilities used: none!

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
ImLearnin
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:02 pm

ffmpeg libx264 cpu capabilities used: none!

Post by ImLearnin » Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:27 pm

Recently upgraded from 18.1 Mate to 18.3 mate with a clean install and now I have run into a problem I did not have before. I have built ffmpeg from current stable source and now have issues with encoding with libx264. I did this with 18.1 as well to fix this same issue but it no longer works. I have read the nasm and yasm need to be updated which I did.

nasm --version
NASM version 2.13.02 compiled on Jan 30 2018

yasm --version
yasm 1.2.0
Compiled on Jan 17 2018.

I installed ffmpeg system wide with checkinstall

Any thoughts or suggestions?

User avatar
Flemur
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5500
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: ffmpeg libx264 cpu capabilities used: none!

Post by Flemur » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:03 pm

ImLearnin wrote:I have built ffmpeg from current stable source and now have issues with encoding with libx264.
What issues?

Edit: the title!

Edit2:
search on

Code: Select all

libx264 cpu capabilities
it seems to be a common problem.
Last edited by Flemur on Wed Jan 31, 2018 2:30 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
trytip
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1273
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: ffmpeg libx264 cpu capabilities used: none!

Post by trytip » Wed Jan 31, 2018 1:39 pm

most likely you don't have every dependencies of building from source.

look into https://launchpad.net/~mc3man/+archive/ ... erus-media ffmpeg is already at 3.4
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”