Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
asinoro
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:43 am

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by asinoro »

And this.

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

asinoro wrote: Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:33 am And this.

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards

Code: Select all

$ cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xfe600000 irq 16
 1 [NVidia         ]: HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
                      HDA NVidia at 0xfe080000 irq 52
asinoro
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:43 am

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by asinoro »

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
remove
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
and make it.

Code: Select all

options snd_hda_intel enable=0 index=0

Code: Select all

options snd_hda_intel enable=1 index=1
reboot and check your sound again.
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

asinoro wrote: Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:47 am

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
remove
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
and make it.

Code: Select all

options snd_hda_intel enable=0 index=0

Code: Select all

options snd_hda_intel enable=1 index=1
reboot and check your sound again.

Code: Select all

# ls -al /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.con
ls: cannot access '/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.con': No such file or directory
Sir Charles

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by Sir Charles »

rickshaw wrote: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:00 am

Code: Select all

# ls -al /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.con
ls: cannot access '/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.con': No such file or directory
Please correct the typp con --> conf
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

Marziano wrote: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:17 am
rickshaw wrote: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:00 am

Code: Select all

# ls -al /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.con
ls: cannot access '/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.con': No such file or directory
Please correct the typp con --> conf
OK, there is no line: "options snd-hda-intel model=auto" in the alsa-base.conf file.

I seem to remember it was removed last page of this thread. Do you still want me to add:

Code: Select all

options snd_hda_intel enable=0 index=0
options snd_hda_intel enable=1 index=1
Sir Charles

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by Sir Charles »

Please proceed as suggested by @asinoro.
asinoro
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:43 am

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by asinoro »

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
Remove also this if it is there.
options snd-hda-intel index=1,0

Change the option with this to have – instead _.

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel enable=0 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=1
Remove this file.
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=264763&start=60#p1438528

reboot and check.
YetiD

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by YetiD »

rickshaw wrote: Mon Mar 05, 2018 1:56 am However it has the word "silence" above it.
Just for the record, I'm having the same problem as the OP on an old Toshiba Satellite laptop. Sound through the built in speakers, but inaudible through the external headphone jack, even though the volume/mixer software shows there is.

I don't want to confuse the matter by giving my specs and things here while you're still working with the OP, other than to say I've been following this thread and nothing works for me either.

I just want to point out that the word "silence" appears to be associated with the volume control slider on the Pulse Audio above the sound bar ("100%" on one end, "silence", rather than "0%" on the other, see the screen shot he provided), and really has nothing to do with the problem.
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

asinoro wrote: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:55 am

Code: Select all

gksudo xed /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
Remove also this if it is there.
options snd-hda-intel index=1,0

Change the option with this to have – instead _.

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel enable=0 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=1
Remove this file.
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=264763&start=60#p1438528

reboot and check.
Which file, please? This one? /etc/modprobe.d/snd-hda-intel.conf
asinoro
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:43 am

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by asinoro »

yes
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

asinoro wrote: Tue Mar 06, 2018 2:00 amyes
Still no sound. Still the word "silence" above the output bar in Alsa Mixer.

[A few minutes later]

OK, I can report I can now hear something distorted. Very distorted. It doesn't correspond to the video I am playing.
asinoro
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:43 am

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by asinoro »

Now change them to

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable=0 index=1
Reboot and check.
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

asinoro wrote: Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:11 am Now change them to

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable=0 index=1
Reboot and check.
OK, I appear to now to have lost my output, except for the HDMI output. My monitor does not have inbuilt speakers so now I have no sound at all. It still has the word "silence" above it:
asinoro
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1288
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 11:43 am

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by asinoro »

Remove these options.
options snd-hda-intel enable=1 index=0
options snd-hda-intel enable=0 index=1
Create a new file.

Code: Select all

gksudo  /etc/asound.conf
And add this.

Code: Select all

pcm.!default {
    type hw
    card SB
}

ctl.!default {
    type hw           
    card SB
}
Reboot and check.
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

OK, I have other outputs now available. I do not have sound. :(
User avatar
trytip
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5371
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by trytip »

just as a reference It still has the word "silence" above it: i believe they all say that even in my arch linux that doesn't mean it is "silent" it just means that the left side ff the bar is for silence and the right bar is for 100%

Image

Image

do you have SOUND in other live linux distros?
Image
rickshaw
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2017 11:59 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by rickshaw »

trytip wrote: Tue Mar 06, 2018 1:14 pm do you have SOUND in other live linux distros?
What "other live linux distros"? I only have Mint installed.
User avatar
geekomatic
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:11 am
Location: Awesome Western Australia!

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by geekomatic »

I've had various sound issues myself (& many others) and in looking around, this post (reply #11) is similar to what I ended up having to do a while back:

https://www.linuxquestions.org/question ... 175605741/

It's been long enough that I think it was somewhere around Mint 13?? I just recall having to adjust a conf file to get it working.

Hope this works-- or if not, leads you to an answer!

Cheers
User avatar
trytip
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5371
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Sound not working in Mint 18.3

Post by trytip »

rickshaw wrote: Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:07 pm
trytip wrote: Tue Mar 06, 2018 1:14 pm do you have SOUND in other live linux distros?
What "other live linux distros"? I only have Mint installed.
what that means use https://distrowatch.com/ DOWNLOAD another distro and test the sound.
Image
Locked

Return to “Sound”