Microphone working in some ways [SOLVED]

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
mrodent
Level 2
Level 2

Microphone working in some ways [SOLVED]

Post by mrodent »

Linux Mint Cinnamon 18.1. I'm still a newb but I think this sub-forum is more appropriate than the general "Newbies" one.

I have a USB mike, called a "Buddy 6G". It shows up under Sound --> Input. Under "Device settings". The "Volume" slider spot is always at the far left ("Softer") and can't be moved. The "Input level" bar never shows anything (it contains no slider spot, and I'm not clear whether this is meant to show the volume of sound coming into the mike).

Yesterday, however, I made some brilliant progress with the microphone and with one of my crucial "transition to Linux" goals: in W10 I use DNS (Dragon Naturally Speaking) dictation software all the time. I followed a lot of the configuration advice at this page, and eventually managed to get things so that I could save a bit of microphone input into a .wav file. None of this configuration stuff (alsamixer) changed the appearance of things under Sound --> Input. NB the command which enabled a 10-second .wav file to be created was:

Code: Select all

arecord -f cd -c 1 -D hw:2,0 -d 10 test2.wav
(NB although this is not relevant to this question here I then managed to get a non-Web-based dictation app to correctly interpret my speech in the .wav file! I did this by following the instructions of the genius who put together this page).