Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:46 am

Kinda new to linux, revisited from mandrake days.
anyway i i got mint 19 running. sound works perfectly.
can detect front or back panel inputs (plugged in and out).
microphone seems detected and working. front and back. but no input is heard, the line meter doesnt move either.
works perfect in windoze10 .

tried using alsamixer and turning up all levels on input card, changing to mic / line etc.
pulse audio controller shows it working, detects plug/unplug. all looks working
but no sound is heard.

any one had this.


i am using gigabyte ax370 k7 motherboard. ryzen 2600 cpu.


any help appreciated

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:07 pm

Hi crackshot, and welcome to the forum.

My suggestion is to install and run PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol.) Go to the Configuration tab and check your profiles. For example, if one says Analog Stereo Output, change it to Analog Stereo Duplex. Also check the Input Devices tab and make sure the port is properly selected.

Hope that helps.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:17 am

tried all that. duplex is the only one that allows me to select the correct mic,

pulseaudiocontroller has a new GUI im guessing in the new version. i see people have an option to select "PORT" which isnt in the current version.

however. done all that. tried everything i can think of.


now is the time i post some screen shots and logs? ill post what i think you need..

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Mon Jul 30, 2018 2:38 am

my motherboard has
https://www.aorus.com/product-detail.php?p=505
GA-AX370-Gaming K7
Creative® Sound Blaster X-Fi MB5 support
Dual ALC 1220 with Front & Rear 120dB SNR HD Audio with Dual Smart Headphone Amps
Killer™ E2500 Gaming Network + Intel® Gigabit LAN (<------anyone got software/drivers?)

so its dual alc 1220
sound works fine, no capture through microphone. (yes mic works)
inxi -fxz lists

Audio:
Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 09:00.3
Card-2 NVIDIA GP106 High Def. Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 07:00.1
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-29-generic
Untitled3.png
Untitled2.png
the questions marks are the right device/name/linux driver for ALC1220 ?


found this

https://www.reddit.com/r/linuxquestions ... _on_linux/

tried this

Some people said this works:

"gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf"

Add at the bottom:

"options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-dmic"

And reboot.


nope

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:22 am

Hi crackshot.

So far, you've done a great job trying to get this working. And thanks for all the screenshots, that really helps.

I'm thinking your system is using another input device as default. I can see you've already unchecked the Set as fallback checkmark for something else in pavucontrol, so maybe we need to make a different change. What is the output of arecord -L

Also inxi -Fxz might help some (notice capital F.)

And one other thing, try changing laptop-dmic to laptop-amic then reboot and test (and if this doesn't help, I'd suggest at least commenting out the line if not deleting it, to make sure it doesn't interfere once the correct solution is found.)

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Tue Jul 31, 2018 1:03 am

thanks so much. testing those suggestions now.
alrecord - L reports

Code: Select all

arecord -L
default
    Playback/recording through the PulseAudio sound server
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
sysdefault:CARD=Generic
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Front speakers
dmix:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=Generic,DEV=2
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Alt Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=Generic,DEV=4
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=Generic,DEV=2
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Alt Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=Generic,DEV=4
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=Generic,DEV=2
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Alt Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=Generic,DEV=4
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=Generic,DEV=0
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=Generic,DEV=2
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Alt Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=Generic,DEV=4
    HD-Audio Generic, ALC1220 Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
inxi -Fxz shows

Code: Select all

System:    Host: blaZen Kernel: 4.15.0-29-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.8 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: AX370-Gaming K7 v: x.x serial: N/A
           UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: F23f date: 05/01/2018
CPU:       6 core AMD Ryzen 5 2600 Six-Core (-MT-MCP-) 
           arch: Zen rev.2 cache: 3072 KB
           
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 45596
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 1377 MHz 2: 1376 MHz 3: 1377 MHz
           4: 1376 MHz 5: 1376 MHz 6: 1377 MHz 7: 1376 MHz 8: 1374 MHz
           9: 1375 MHz 10: 1376 MHz 11: 1376 MHz 12: 1376 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 3GB] bus-ID: 07:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1060 3GB/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.48 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 17h (Models 00h-0fh) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 09:00.3
           Card-2 NVIDIA GP106 High Def. Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 07:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-29-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel I211 Gigabit Network Connection
           driver: igb v: 5.4.0-k port: e000 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2500 Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: alx port: d000 bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: enp5s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 360.1GB (12.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: Samsung_SSD_840 size: 120.0GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: WDC_WDS120G2G0A size: 120.0GB
           ID-3: /dev/sdc model: WDC_WDS120G2G0A size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 110G used: 41G (40%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 22.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:50C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 294 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 969.1/7987.2MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
amic did not work =(

this is literally the only thing stopping me using linux fulltime for everything including competitive gaming.

i have a usb M-Audio interface i could pull out and use but i remember drivers for them were crazy difficult even in windoze.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:20 am

It looks like everything you've done is correct. Try this:

Delete all the files in ~/.config/pulse/, issue pulseaudio -k, then wait a moment and test the mic.

If that doesn't work, go back to alsamixer capture page. Arrow over to the Input so under Line and use the up or down arrow to toggle it (to off, I'm guessing.)

If no help there, my possibly last suggestion is reloading sound stuff with (one line at a time):

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove --purge alsa-base pulseaudio
sudo apt-get install alsa-base pulseaudio
sudo alsa force-reload
I'm probably out of ideas after that other than trying a different kernel. Hopefully one of those gets it working.

Good luck.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:14 pm

I just came up with an idea that I always hate asking as it sort of implies stupidity. Is there a switch on the mic to turn it on? We've all made mistakes like that, so don't feel bad if that was the issue.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Thu Aug 02, 2018 7:23 am

MrEen wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:14 pm
I just came up with an idea that I always hate asking as it sort of implies stupidity. Is there a switch on the mic to turn it on? We've all made mistakes like that, so don't feel bad if that was the issue.
yes headset has mic and headphones 2x3.5mm jack with mic mute switch. when i test i also test to see if the switch disrupts line level at all.

so far nothing.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Thu Aug 02, 2018 7:34 am

MrEen wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 7:20 am
It looks like everything you've done is correct. Try this:

Delete all the files in ~/.config/pulse/, issue pulseaudio -k, then wait a moment and test the mic.

If that doesn't work, go back to alsamixer capture page. Arrow over to the Input so under Line and use the up or down arrow to toggle it (to off, I'm guessing.)

If no help there, my possibly last suggestion is reloading sound stuff with (one line at a time):

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove --purge alsa-base pulseaudio
sudo apt-get install alsa-base pulseaudio
sudo alsa force-reload
I'm probably out of ideas after that other than trying a different kernel. Hopefully one of those gets it working.

Good luck.
thank you. unfortunately still nothing =(

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:30 pm

I do have one last idea that actually worked for someone once. On your alsamixer screenshot, you show 8 items. Try arrowing more to the right to see if there's a ninth, tenth, and so on. Maybe something else is there and hidden that is muted.

After that, if still not working, hopefully a kernel update might fix it next time.

Oops, one more idea... where you changed dmic to amic, change the whole line to options snd-hda-intel model=headset-mic

If nothing else, you might find one day it suddenly starts working (hopefully soon.) That has happened to quite a few people.

The best of luck to you.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Thu Aug 02, 2018 4:27 pm

Okay. This should be the last of my last ideas. Does the output of lsmod | grep ctxfi return anything? If yes, you can ignore the rest of this post.

If no return, try sudo modprobe snd-ctxfi and if no errors reported, test the mic.

If that didn't work, use sudo modprobe -r snd-ctxfi to remove the module.

That module is for many Creative® Sound Blaster X-Fi cards (though I don't see MB5 listed) so it may help.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Fri Aug 03, 2018 1:01 am

I just booted into manjaro. Mic works fine. Also shows another card an-vc300 the mic works in both that one and family17h one.
I can see the level moving with input.
That's off live dvd boot install. Now installing and seeing what is different. I would like to continue with mint. Arch could be a bit over the top for me.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Fri Aug 03, 2018 4:55 am

Well what do you know.
I just re launched mint 19 dvd iso live install
Mic is working now and the same 2nd hardware turned up
2x family17h devices and the an-vc300 which has the microphone on it.

Not sure why it wasn't working before instalation or post, previously

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:44 am

MrEen wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:30 pm
If nothing else, you might find one day it suddenly starts working (hopefully soon.) That has happened to quite a few people.
I'm just glad it's working.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Fri Aug 03, 2018 5:55 pm

MrEen wrote:
Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:44 am
MrEen wrote:
Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:30 pm
If nothing else, you might find one day it suddenly starts working (hopefully soon.) That has happened to quite a few people.
I'm just glad it's working.
Thank you sir for your help and suggestions. Champion.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:08 am

and its broken again,
no mic on all devices and
an-vc300 has disapeared. it shows as a past connected device but is greyed out.

i dont know if its kernel related because i changed to 4.17
i went back to the previous kernel and still exists.

not sure.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Sun Aug 05, 2018 11:17 am

If you're still using the 4.15 kernel try following these instuctions. When it directs you to the download page, get the .deb for the Bionic version.

Hopefully that'll fix it!

EDIT: All my searching on an-vc300 turns up an LG TV webcam. Assuming you're using this device, I'd first attempt disconnecting it and see if that resolves the issue. The above instructions would hopefully resolve this either way, but if they don't, give disconnecting it a try. Also, see if that device has a way to disable its audio function.

If you're not using such a device, I'm at a loss.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1330
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by MrEen » Mon Aug 06, 2018 9:47 pm

One thing I forgot to mention previously. If you use Windows, even on another drive, try doing a full shutdown when you are finished before booting any linux distro. Sometimes Windows can leave sound in a weird state that can be sometimes fixed with a full power down vs reboot.

crackshot
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:43 am

Re: Sound working, Mic detected - no sound

Post by crackshot » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:03 am

yeah what is weird is i was on 4.15 kernel and it worked and then went to 4.17 and it worked for a few days. then it stopped working.
i went back to prev kernel. persistent bug.
yeah searching that audio device the only thing that comes up is a LG webcam.

im using onboard rear audio jack on a x370 mb. pink mic in. mic on gaming headphones.

anyway when it was working that AN-VC300 was an option to use.
if i used the family17 or the aN-VC300 device both worked identical.

at somestage the an-vc300 disapeared (can show previous devices its greyed out)

not sure confused is going this is crazy. u know what years ago when i wanted to switch to mandrake. i had this exact problem. except i never got mic working at all.

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”