[SOLVED] Hdmi problem

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

[SOLVED] Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Sat Aug 04, 2018 6:03 pm

Hello,

I have a problem with the hdmi sound. On the TV i get the image but without sound. Also i don't see the HDMI on Sounds Setting -> Outputs.
Screenshot from 2018-08-05 00-56-02.png
sudo lspci -H1
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v6/7th Gen Core Processor Host Bridge/DRAM Registers (rev 05)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor PCIe Controller (x16) (rev 05)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Device 591b (rev 04)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H USB 3.0 xHCI Controller (rev 31)
00:14.2 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H Thermal subsystem (rev 31)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H CSME HECI #1 (rev 31)
00:17.0 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 31)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H PCI Express Root Port #3 (rev f1)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H PCI Express Root Port #4 (rev f1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H LPC Controller (rev 31)
00:1f.2 Memory controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H PMC (rev 31)
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation CM238 HD Audio Controller (rev 31)
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-H SMBus (rev 31)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GP106M [GeForce GTX 1060 Mobile] (rev a1)
02:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 8265 / 8275 (rev 78)
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 10)
Last edited by grivusag on Sun Sep 09, 2018 6:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Sat Aug 04, 2018 10:41 pm

Hi grivusag.

Install and run PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol.) Go to the Configuration tab and select HDMI then the same on the Output Devices tab.

If you have any issues after that, report back here.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:07 am

Hello MrEen,

I have install pavucontrol but i don't see the HDMI option.
I have only those options: Analog Stereo Duplex, Analog Stereo Output, Analog Stereo Input, Off.
Screenshot from 2018-08-05 15-04-38.png
And to Output Devices tab i have just: Speakers, Headphones (unplugged).
Screenshot from 2018-08-05 15-09-13.png

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Sun Aug 05, 2018 11:10 am

Ahhh. So it's not detecting the card properly.

Please paste back the results of inxi -Fxz and aplay -l and enclose the results in-between [ⅽode] and [/ⅽode] code markers by selecting </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply.

User avatar
BG405
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1441
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by BG405 » Sun Aug 05, 2018 1:47 pm

The HDMI audio option was missing also on one of my machines. I fixed it using these steps:
  • Close the PulseAudio settings.
  • Connect your TV or external monitor through HDMI.
  • In a Terminal issue the command pulseaudio -k
    - this kills the running daemon.
  • Open Sound Settings again. The HDMI option should now be present.
Now, HDMI should automatically be detected when you plug in the cable.

Hope this helps. :)
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - Manjaro KDE, LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:39 pm

Hello MrEen,

Code: Select all

System:    Host: grivus-Lenovo-Y520-15IKBM Kernel: 4.15.0-29-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: LENOVO (portable) product: 80YY v: Lenovo Y520-15IKBM
           Mobo: LENOVO model: LNVNB161216 v: NO DPK
           Bios: LENOVO v: 5XCN09WW date: 06/21/2017
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-HT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 22464
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 1399 MHz 2: 2882 MHz 3: 2859 MHz
           4: 2342 MHz 5: 2744 MHz 6: 2721 MHz 7: 2782 MHz 8: 3178 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Device 591b bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GP106M [GeForce GTX 1060 Mobile] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 1920x1080@59.94hz, 1920x1080@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: GeForce GTX 1060 with Max-Q Design/PCIe/SSE2
           GLX Version: 4.5.0 NVIDIA 384.130 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel CM238 HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-29-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Wireless 8265 / 8275 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 3000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2000.4GB (7.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST2000LM007 size: 2000.4GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 1.8T used: 132G (8%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.46GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-0
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 38.5C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:38C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 251 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 1056.2/7851.9MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
BG405 i've tried your method but without success.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:49 pm

This is the cable: Hama HDMI-CA.GO.5M POLY ID10

Separately shielded lines for optimum picture and sound quality without interference
Integrated channel for transmitting network data with up to 100 Mbit/s
Return of the audio signal without additional audio cable (ODT, RCA etc.)
3D transmission due to extended bandwidth
HDMI™ cable for perfect, high-resolution ultra HD cinema quality 4096x2160 (4k) pixels
Elegant and flexible fabric jacket for additional kink protection

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:02 pm

Hi grivusag.

Let's see if this helps get the HDMI recognized. In the terminal type xed admin:///etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf and scroll to the bottom of the file and add this new line:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-dmic
Save the file and reboot. Did that get it working?

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Sun Aug 05, 2018 7:13 pm

Hi MrEen,

I'm getting this error.
Screenshot from 2018-08-06 02-12-28.png
Screenshot from 2018-08-06 02-12-59.png

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:17 pm

Sorry, thought you were using 19 for some reason. Use gksudo xed /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf instead.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Sun Aug 05, 2018 8:37 pm

I've added but is the same problem.
Screenshot from 2018-08-06 03-37-27.png

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:16 pm

Did you reboot after making the change? And is there any change to aplay -l ?

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Mon Aug 06, 2018 11:04 am

Hi MrEen,

This is the code:

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Mon Aug 06, 2018 2:37 pm

Let's see if this helps. Paste back the output of lspci -v | grep -A7 -i "audio"

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Mon Aug 06, 2018 3:31 pm

Code: Select all

00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation CM238 HD Audio Controller (rev 31)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device 3816
	Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 32, IRQ 131
	Memory at a4320000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
	Memory at a4310000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=64K]
	Capabilities: <access denied>
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
	Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
	

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:26 pm

Hi grivusag.

For some reason your system isn't detecting the HDMI and I have 2 options I want you to possibly check.

1. Although it doesn't appear to me that you are using Windows on that laptop, in case you are, boot to Windows and make certain fast boot is off. While there, also test the HDMI output if you can to make sure it works at all over there. When done, do a full shutdown and wait a moment before you power up the laptop.

2. If no Windows at all, do a full shutdown and wait a moment before you power up the laptop and go into your BIOS to see if anything sound related is disabled there (or even HDMI related.) Then boot into Mint.

After those, I'm hoping aplay -l will have a new item added that has HDMI option(s). If so, HDMI should now show up on the Configuration tab of pavucontrol.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Tue Aug 07, 2018 2:34 pm

Hello MrEen,

I have only Linux Mint 18. The notebook was shut down over 8 hours. I attached the pictures from the bios.
I only get TV signal, but no audio.

bios5.jpeg
bios4.jpeg

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:00 pm

Hi grivusag.

I'm struggling to come up with more ideas to try. I doubt this will help, but it will not hurt. Delete the files in ~/.config/pulse/ then in the terminal type pulseaudio -k and wait several seconds before trying your sound.

In the BIOS, on the Security tab, is Secure boot disabled? Anything there that might be blocking?

In the Driver Manager, is there anything different recommended for the nvidia card? Right now you're running NVIDIA 384.130. If that's the one that says recommended, I'd stick with it.

If you boot to an older kernel (pre 4.15) does everything work?

If none of those help, my last suggestion is to try the directions here to upgrade alsa. When it sends you to get a deb file, get the one for Bionic as long as you're still using the 4.15 kernel.

Good luck.

P.S. Thanks for all the screenshots. That really helps.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Tue Aug 07, 2018 4:56 pm

MrEen I didn't try the suggestions but if I update to Mint 19 it will help?

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Tue Aug 07, 2018 5:11 pm

That is very possible, yes.

I know one user that we tried for ages for whom 19 did not help get his sound working. But I had another that was fixed very recently by going to 19. I believe it's worth a shot.

Wishing you the best of luck! :)

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”