[SOLVED] Hdmi problem

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Tue Aug 07, 2018 5:30 pm

Thanks MrEen I will keep update you if I succed.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:46 pm

Hello MrEen,

I installed Linux Mint 19. The HDMI still don't work.
Any other ideas?

Thanks

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:15 pm

Hi again, grivusag.

First try BG405's suggestion of pulseaudio -k in the terminal. Wait a moment then open the sound settings and see if HDMI is there.

Also, be absolutely certain it's fully plugged in at both ends.

Oh, and be certain the TV is not muted or has sound all the way down to 0 as well. (If it's still the same issue as before, this isn't as important yet.)

If none of this works, I'll have you try upgrading alsa next.

Good luck.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 564
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by AndyMH » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:46 pm

Might be relevant - I've got a T430, mint 18.3 and a monitor with speakers connected via display port to HDMI. Mint can see the HDMI speakers, but when selected no sound. Search the web, lots of moans about failures to get HDMI sound out of lenovo laptops and the finger of blame pointing at lenovo. I've given up trying and live with it.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19, Thinkpad T430 i7-3632 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T420 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T410 Cinnamon 17.3, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:15 pm

AndyMH wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:46 pm
Might be relevant - I've got a T430, mint 18.3 and a monitor with speakers connected via display port to HDMI. Mint can see the HDMI speakers, but when selected no sound. Search the web, lots of moans about failures to get HDMI sound out of lenovo laptops and the finger of blame pointing at lenovo. I've given up trying and live with it.
Hi AndyMH.

In this case, the OP doesn't have any HDMI options in any audio settings.

For your case, I don't know what you've tried, but my first suggestion would be to run alsamixer in the terminal, press F6 and select your HDMI option, and check to see if the output is muted.

If that doesn't work and you're up to trying again, I am happy to try to help get it sorted. You should start your own thread though if that's the case.

Good luck.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:14 pm

Hello MrEen,

Still not working. In the terminal i write

Code: Select all

alsamixer
.
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 02-03-15.png
I press F6.
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 02-14-47.png
This is the image from the TV. I have image with no sound.
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 02-12-59.jpeg

User avatar
Lord Boltar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:24 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by Lord Boltar » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:27 pm

In the sound settings, in Output tab the built-in-audio was set to Analog Stereo Duplex. Change the mode to HDMI output Stereo. Note that you must be connected to an external monitor through a HDMI cable to see HDMI output option otherwise it will not show up.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:39 pm

I have only Analog Stereo Input. The HDMI is connected.I have image on the TV.
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 02-39-03.png

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:44 pm

And on PulseAudio Volume Control i have this options:

Analog Stereo Duplex
Analog Stereo Output
Analog Stereo Input
OFF
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 02-43-02.png

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:52 pm

Ok grivusag. Can you post the output of inxi -Fxz please. I just want to make sure your setup is as I expect before giving the upgrade instructions.

OunceofCommonSense
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:52 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by OunceofCommonSense » Thu Aug 30, 2018 8:08 pm

I solved in this way:
sudo gedit /etc/pulse/default.pa
commented out this line --> load-module module-switch-on-port-available
Saved

If you don't have gedit installed use any text editor such as leafpad,etc
MB: Asrock Extreme4-M CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @3.50GHz Memory: Corsair Low Profile Vengeance 16.00 GB. GC On CPU HD4000 Platform: x86_64 Distribution: Linux Mint 19 Tara

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 5:40 am

I've comment this: load-module module-switch-on-port-available
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 12-29-44.png
I'm getting this warning:
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 12-30-39.png
I tried this command:

Code: Select all

pactl set-card-profile 0 output:hdmi-stereo
and i'm getting this error:
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 12-32-16.png
The

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
result:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: grivus-Lenovo-Y520-15IKBM Kernel: 4.15.0-33-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.8 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1) Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: LENOVO product: 80YY v: Lenovo Y520-15IKBM serial: N/A
           Mobo: LENOVO model: LNVNB161216 v: NO DPK serial: N/A
           UEFI [Legacy]: LENOVO v: 5XCN09WW date: 06/21/2017
Battery    BAT0: charge: 38.8 Wh 97.0% condition: 40.0/45.0 Wh (89%) model: SMP L16M3P24 status: N/A
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i7-7700HQ (-MT-MCP-) arch: Skylake rev.9 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 22464
           clock speeds: max: 3800 MHz 1: 1156 MHz 2: 3135 MHz 3: 2644 MHz 4: 3114 MHz 5: 2943 MHz 6: 2622 MHz
           7: 2997 MHz 8: 2827 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Device 591b bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GP106M [GeForce GTX 1060 Mobile] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 ) drivers: modesetting,nvidia (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,nouveau)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@59.94hz, 1920x1080@60.02hz
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1060 with Max-Q Design/PCIe/SSE2
           version: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.48 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel CM238 HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-33-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Wireless 8265 / 8275 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 3000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 2000.4GB (12.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST2000LM007 size: 2000.4GB temp: 34C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 1.8T used: 218G (13%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 8.46GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/dm-0
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 0.0:44C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 251 Uptime: 12 min Memory: 1331.9/7851.9MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
I have this sound card: Realtek Audio Driver

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:11 am

Hi grivusag.

I found one other possibility to try before we try upgrading alsa. In the terminal type exactly (or paste from this):

Code: Select all

sudo adduser $grivus audio
It will probably return adduser: the group 'audio' already exists. But according to this it fixes some permissions problem. I don't understand how it's working, but it worked for the author as well as 1 of the people in the comments section.

Now close up everything and reboot. Did that get something similar to HDMI/DisplayPort 2 – Built-in Audio to show up in sound settings?

If no, close the sound settings and try one more time pulseaudio -k then check again after a moment.

If still not working we'll do the alsa upgrade.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:06 am

Still not working. Please take a look at the picture.
Screenshot from 2018-08-31 16-05-40.png

OunceofCommonSense
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 3:52 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by OunceofCommonSense » Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:01 am

did you reboot after changing the .pa file?
MB: Asrock Extreme4-M CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770K CPU @3.50GHz Memory: Corsair Low Profile Vengeance 16.00 GB. GC On CPU HD4000 Platform: x86_64 Distribution: Linux Mint 19 Tara

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:39 am

Yes i reboot the notebook.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:54 pm

I'm now confused (not hard to accomplish.)

You are posting images that I'm not sure why you're posting. (Also not sure why you have 32-bit versions of some stuff.)

Did you follow the set of instructions in my last post?

Also, for clarity, did you upgrade to 19 or did you do a fresh install?

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:16 pm

Yes i followed the instructions. I got this message

Code: Select all

adduser: the group 'audio' already exists.
I've try this

Code: Select all

pulseaudio -k
.
I upgrade to 19.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1337
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:36 pm

Ok. One last thing to check. Post outputs of both of these: aplay -l and sudo aplay -l

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:47 pm

Screenshot from 2018-09-01 01-47-06.png

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”