[SOLVED] Hdmi problem

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:51 pm

Ok. You have a similar setup to someone I had been trying to help for a long time that was finally fixed by the combination of upgrading to the 19 version of Mint as well as following these instructions.

First, just to be safe apt install dkms (it should say you already have the latest version.)

Next, download this file

Now, in the terminal type cd Downloads followed by

Code: Select all

sudo dpkg -i oem-audio-hda-daily-dkms_0.201808050301~ubuntu18.04.1_all.deb
Reboot and test your sound. Does aplay -l now have a new entry?

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:57 pm

I've made all the steps. I got DKMS installed. I reboot the notebook.

Code: Select all

grivus@grivus-Lenovo-Y520-15IKBM ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC233 Analog [ALC233 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:02 pm

What does Driver Manager show?

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:05 pm

Screenshot from 2018-09-01 03-04-56.png

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:24 pm

DAMN! I thought for sure we would have gotten somewhere with that.

I only have one suggestion remaining. Just days ago another user in the same situation got their HDMI working when they uninstalled what you just installed. It's a total shot in the dark, but we can hope it works for you as well. In this order:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get remove oem-audio-hda-daily-dkms

Code: Select all

sudo apt autoremove
They did not say if they rebooted or not afterwards.

If this doesn't work, the only option I can think of is to upgrade your kernel whenever they are offerred and hopefully it will eventually resolve itself.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:36 pm

MrEen no luck. I reboot the computer and no result.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:00 pm

I went back through the whole thread and noticed I missed some alsa-base.conf options that would be worth trying, although I don't hold out a lot of hope.

In the terminal xed admin:///etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf at the bottom of the file, if you still have options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-dmic change it to options snd-hda-intel model=laptop-amic (add this line if the old line is not there.) Save the file, reboot and test.

If that doesn't work, open the file again and change that last line to options snd-hda-intel model=lenovo and save/reboot/test again.

*Fingers crossed*

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:16 pm

No luck. I've attached a picture to see if something is wrong.
Screenshot from 2018-09-01 04-10-56.png

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:23 pm

The only thing wrong in that screenshot is the file is showing as not having been saved (the * in front of the filename tells me that.) I assume you did save it after taking the screenshot though.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:28 pm

I save it after i've made the screenshot.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:28 pm

Let's see if dmesg tells us anything:
dmesg | grep -i audio
dmesg | grep -i snd

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:34 pm

Screenshot from 2018-09-01 04-34-31.png

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:45 pm

I also wonder if the modesetting driver might somehow be part of the problem.

One more dmesg to check:
dmesg | grep -i hdmi

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Fri Aug 31, 2018 9:49 pm

Screenshot from 2018-09-01 04-48-20.png
The HDMI is connected and i have the image on TV.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:04 pm

I only have one more thing I can think to try to troubleshoot this.

Create a new user then log out of your account and log in to the new user account and see if hdmi sound exists there.

Also, do you know which video card the HDMI cable is plugged into?

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Fri Aug 31, 2018 10:46 pm

Ahh. One more alsa-base.conf change worth trying with xed admin:///etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf and change model=lenovo to model=auto, so:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
then save/reboot/test.

Also, I find it strange your BIOS doesn't appear to have anything graphics related such as Primary Graphics Adapter: Onboard | PCI Express and IGPU Multi-Monitor:. Is there a NOVO button on the laptop? If so, pressing it might get advanced BIOS options.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Tue Sep 04, 2018 5:15 pm

Hello MrEen,

The new user has to have standard or administrator privileges?
I have a Lenovo Legion Y520-15IKBM i don't see a NOVO button.
I've changed the model to auto.

Thank you very much for your help and for your time

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:20 pm

I don't think it matters for a sound test. Just a standard user should be fine.

It's my pleasure to try to help. I just hate when it doesn't end up working out.

grivusag
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2018 2:29 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by grivusag » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:00 pm

MrEen no luck. I think we don't have solution.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1732
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Hdmi problem

Post by MrEen » Wed Sep 05, 2018 3:16 pm

Yeah I'm pretty much out of ideas. Only thing I can think to try that I doubt would help but you never know is:

1. Shut down the computer.
2. Unplug the HDMI cable.
3. Power up the computer
4. Log in to the desktop.
5. Plug in the HDMI cable.
6. Test again and check aplay -l to see if HDMI is an option.

If that doesn't work, you'll just have to hope a future update/upgrade sets it right I'm afraid.

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”