Lost sound

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
davidc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:57 pm

Lost sound

Postby davidc » Fri Jun 12, 2009 1:30 pm

Hi,
I used to have sound with no problem, but not anymore after the last upgrade.
I forced to use the previous version of Gstreamer, but still get no sound.
I apreciate any help from you with this issue.
thanx in advance!
David

Mint 6 Felicia
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express DRAM Controller (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31/P35/P31 Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82G33/G31 Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 01)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 01)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 01)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev e1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 01)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 01)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Lost sound

Postby Husse » Sun Jun 14, 2009 7:07 am

You have Intel HDA sound
and it is very probable that the standard solution for all kinds of problems with HDA works
viewtopic.php?f=48&t=17801&p=107982&hilit=ich8+alsa#p107982
You change model to what ever you have or auto
You may have to try many different "models" to get it to work - brand or model ...
Note the link to a post in the Ubuntu forums for a list of "models"
This is probably the oldest chip for this solution
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

davidc
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 4:57 pm

Re: Lost sound

Postby davidc » Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:01 pm

Hi Husse,
thanx for your reply!
I tried all the models in the ALC662/663 section and nothing works for mine.
Is there any other list of models? Do I have other chance to fix this?
thank you!
D

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Lost sound

Postby Husse » Mon Jun 22, 2009 1:22 pm

I have so much to catch up after a short but refreshing holiday that I have to add you to my list - takes a bit of thinking :)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Lost sound

Postby Husse » Tue Jun 23, 2009 6:19 am

Are you sure you have ALC662/663?
If you have this could be the solution
Open up /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf again

Code: Select all

gksudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf

Add this below
# Keep snd-pcsp from beeing loaded as first soundcard
options snd-pcsp index=-2

Code: Select all

alias snd-card-0 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-6ch-dig
options snd-hda-intel enable_msi=1

In Sound change everything to ALSA
Reboot
Could also be that you should open alsamixer from the terminal with a switch - I read about that the other day, but forgot to bookmark it....
If the 3stack-6ch-dig alsa-base.conf option does not work, please try one of the following model options, reboot your pc and retest sound: (lots of options...)
3stack-dig 3-stack (2-channel) with SPDIF
3stack-6ch 3-stack (6-channel)
3stack-6ch-dig 3-stack (6-channel) with SPDIF
6stack-dig 6-stack with SPDIF
lenovo-101e Lenovo laptop
eeepc-p701 ASUS Eeepc P701
eeepc-ep20 ASUS Eeepc EP20
ecs ECS/Foxconn mobo
m51va ASUS M51VA
g71v ASUS G71V
h13 ASUS H13
g50v ASUS G50V
asus-mode1 ASUS
asus-mode2 ASUS
asus-mode3 ASUS
asus-mode4 ASUS
asus-mode5 ASUS
asus-mode6 ASUS
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests