HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install [solved]

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Rhidalin_Bytes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:56 pm

HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install [solved]

Post by Rhidalin_Bytes » Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:34 pm

I've been through several audio troubleshooting threads and searched for similar problems and have not found, nor discovered an example or solution that directly pertains to my issue. I have found a blue million video card works (or headphones) but not build-in audio.

This is a fresh install of Linux Mint 19 - Mate which I primarily connect to over XRDP. This box will eventually be used as an audio processor and Software Defined Radio player into my mixer (physical 6 channel Mackie). I'd like to pack it with hard drives and NAS it as well at some point.

I know the audio works. I had it running Ubuntu 18.04 earlier in the month and decided to give Mint a go around.

Phenom x4 2.5GHz w/ 4GB ddr2 with on-board video.

Here is the output of the most popular commands I have run across.

Code: Select all

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ lspci -nnk | grep -i -A7 audio
00:14.2 Audio device [0403]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) [1002:4383]
	Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) [103c:3029]
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
	Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
00:14.3 ISA bridge [0601]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller [1002:439d]
	Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company SB7x0/SB8x0/SB9x0 LPC host controller [103c:3029]
00:14.4 PCI bridge [0604]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge [1002:4384]
00:18.0 Host bridge [0600]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 10h Processor HyperTransport Configuration [1022:1200]

Code: Select all

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_analog    16384  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    73728  1 snd_hda_codec_analog
snd_hda_intel          40960  0
snd_hda_codec         126976  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_analog,snd_hda_codec_generic
snd_hda_core           81920  4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_analog,snd_hda_codec_generic
snd_hwdep              20480  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                98304  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_seq_midi           16384  0
snd_seq_midi_event     16384  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi            32768  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                65536  2 snd_seq_midi_event,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_device         16384  3 snd_seq,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq_midi
snd_timer              32768  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    81920  10 snd_hda_intel,snd_hwdep,snd_seq,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_analog,snd_timer,snd_rawmidi,snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm
soundcore              16384  1 snd

Code: Select all

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ lshw | grep -A11 multimedia
WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
        *-multimedia
             description: Audio device
             product: SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
             vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
             physical id: 14.2
WARNING: output may be incomplete or inaccurate, you should run this program as super-user.
             bus info: pci@0000:00:14.2
             version: 00
             width: 64 bits
             clock: 33MHz
             capabilities: bus_master cap_list
             configuration: driver=snd_hda_intel latency=32
             resources: irq:16 memory:f0300000-f0303fff
brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ 

Code: Select all

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ dmesg | grep -iC 3 "snd"
[   11.260580] EDAC amd64: ECC disabled in the BIOS or no ECC capability, module will not load.
                Either enable ECC checking or force module loading by setting 'ecc_enable_override'.
                (Note that use of the override may cause unknown side effects.)
[   11.706843] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: autoconfig for AD1884: line_outs=1 (0x12/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[   11.706857] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3:    speaker_outs=1 (0x13/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   11.706859] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3:    hp_outs=1 (0x11/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   11.706861] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[   11.706862] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3:    inputs:
[   11.706864] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3:      Mic=0x14
[   11.706866] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3:      Line=0x15
[   11.716530] input: HDA ATI SB Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card0/input8
[   11.716617] input: HDA ATI SB Line as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card0/input9
[   11.716680] input: HDA ATI SB Line Out as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card0/input10

Code: Select all

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ aplay -l
aplay: device_list:270: no soundcards found...

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ sudo aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: AD1884 Analog [AD1884 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 2: AD1884 Alt Analog [AD1884 Alt Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
I haven't had this much problem with a sound card since I tried to install Audigy alongside SB16 on an old ISA system.

Thanks so much for your input. --Rhid
Last edited by Rhidalin_Bytes on Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
**No trees were harmed in the creation of this post. However, a great many electrons were momentarily inconvenienced.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1694
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install

Post by MrEen » Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:04 am

Hi Rhidalin_Bytes, and welcome to the forum.

Your last output shows indicates what is most likely wrong (only sudo sees your card.)

If you have a ~/.asoundrc file, delete it. Also might as well try deleting the files in ~/.config/pulse and then reboot.

Hope that helps.

User avatar
Rhidalin_Bytes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:56 pm

Re: HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install

Post by Rhidalin_Bytes » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:47 pm

I did not have a

Code: Select all

~/.asoundrc
I deleted directory

Code: Select all

~/.config/pulse
After a reboot this had no effect.

With fresh eyes and some different search terms, I attacked it from a permissions standpoint because root could see it but user could not (thanks MrEen for pointing that out).

Code: Select all

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:ls -l /dev/snd/
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root       60 Aug 28 13:07 by-path
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  2 Aug 28 13:07 controlC0
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  7 Aug 28 13:07 hwC0D3
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  4 Aug 28 13:07 pcmC0D0c
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  3 Aug 28 13:07 pcmC0D0p
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  6 Aug 28 13:07 pcmC0D2c
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  5 Aug 28 13:07 pcmC0D2p
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116,  1 Aug 28 13:07 seq
crw-rw----+ 1 root audio 116, 33 Aug 28 13:07 timer
I verified that I was in the audio group

Code: Select all

sudo groups username
I was not.

My solution was:

Code: Select all

sudo usermod -a -G audio username

Code: Select all

aplay -l
now lists the devices to the user.

This did not fix my audio problem, but devices are now visible to the user.

I redeleted

Code: Select all

~/.config/pulse/
and reinstalled pulseaudio with no positive results (assume a reboot now between all attempts). The weird thing is aplay lists the devices. However, the hardware does not appear in pavucontrol. I think the problem may be with the alsa sinks, but I'm not sure how to rectify that.

Thanks!
**No trees were harmed in the creation of this post. However, a great many electrons were momentarily inconvenienced.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1694
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install

Post by MrEen » Tue Aug 28, 2018 3:59 pm

Okay. You're getting closer.

See what happens with aplay -vv /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Center.wav in the terminal. It'll spit out a bunch of stuff, but errors are all I'm really concerned with.

Next, start a song or video then issue pacmd list-sinks in the terminal and paste the output back here.

Good luck.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1694
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install

Post by MrEen » Tue Aug 28, 2018 4:08 pm

I just spotted something else from your first post that's indicating we're going to have a little work in store:
[ 11.706843] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: autoconfig for AD1884: line_outs=1 (0x12/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[ 11.706857] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: speaker_outs=1 (0x13/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 11.706859] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: hp_outs=1 (0x11/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[ 11.706861] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: mono: mono_out=0x0
[ 11.706862] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: inputs:
[ 11.706864] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: Mic=0x14
[ 11.706866] snd_hda_codec_analog hdaudioC0D3: Line=0x15
Notice that's all Card 0 Device 3, but your aplay only listed devices 0 and 2 and is also missing device 1.

Hopefully it won't be too much work to get this all straightened out.

User avatar
Rhidalin_Bytes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:56 pm

Re: HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install

Post by Rhidalin_Bytes » Wed Aug 29, 2018 9:03 am

Okay, I've ran those two commands. I'm disappointed to report no errors. I abhor no error problems :) Still showing no hardware in pulse widget or pavucontrol other than dummy(/dev/null). I see what you mean by the disassociation of the device numbers.

Code: Select all

brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ aplay -vv Downloads/sound.wav 
Playing WAVE 'Downloads/sound.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
ALSA <-> PulseAudio PCM I/O Plugin
Its setup is:
  stream       : PLAYBACK
  access       : RW_INTERLEAVED
  format       : S16_LE
  subformat    : STD
  channels     : 2
  rate         : 44100
  exact rate   : 44100 (44100/1)
  msbits       : 16
  buffer_size  : 22050
  period_size  : 5512
  period_time  : 125000
  tstamp_mode  : NONE
  tstamp_type  : GETTIMEOFDAY
  period_step  : 1
  avail_min    : 5512
  period_event : 0
  start_threshold  : 22050
  stop_threshold   : 22050
  silence_threshold: 0
  silence_size : 0
  boundary     : 6206523236469964800
#+                                                 | 00%
brian@brian-dc5850-m8:~$ pacmd list-sinks
1 sink(s) available.
  * index: 0
	name: <auto_null>
	driver: <module-null-sink.c>
	flags: DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: IDLE
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 1000
	volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 541.21 ms
	max request: 344 KiB
	max rewind: 344 KiB
	monitor source: 0
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 0
	linked by: 0
	configured latency: 2000.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 2000.00 ms
	module: 2
	properties:
		device.description = "Dummy Output"
		device.class = "abstract"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card"
**No trees were harmed in the creation of this post. However, a great many electrons were momentarily inconvenienced.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1694
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install

Post by MrEen » Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:14 pm

A few suggestions to try.

First, in the terminal type xed admin:///etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf and scroll to the bottom of the file and add this new line:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=auto
then save the file and reboot.

If that doesn't help or make any difference undo that edit and see if this post helps.

Good luck.

User avatar
Rhidalin_Bytes
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 7:56 pm

Re: HP Compaq dc5850 - no audio on new install

Post by Rhidalin_Bytes » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:07 am

Sorry to let this dwell for so long. I'll be marking this problem as solved for the time being.

Status update.
PA and Alsa are both working on local terminal and I thank everyone for their efforts to get this working.

Addendum:
Now that I know better, I had a couple of major roadblocks preventing my from creating a security loop through the audio system. This box was intended to become a remote access audio source. Most everything I was doing to remedy this problem seemed to have little to no effect. This is because Pulse as called by XRDP is a completely separate session script from Pulse as called by a local terminal connection. Testing on remote is not equal to testing locally. I should have picked up on this earlier but I was asking all the wrong questions. Once I read more about PA and XRDP and sesman, it became clear that the permission issue I had before was step 1 in defeating the security isolation of the sound system proper (see Pulse multi-user environment).

For future reference, I will be asking myself, am I connecting locally or by remote. It makes a huge difference with Pulse and its detected sinks. I'm currently reading up on compiling a Pulse sink for RDP / TCP stream. It seems the best way to deal with this issue that I'm having is to loopback over IP to the sound card. This gives the added benefit of transporting that TCP stream wherever needed (already forming next hobby sound plan).

Nice write-up on this at https://scarygliders.net/2012/04/06/get ... or-remote/

Thanks again!
**No trees were harmed in the creation of this post. However, a great many electrons were momentarily inconvenienced.

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”