18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
fbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:06 am

18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by fbr » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:12 am

Hi,

I try to show videos on TV as second monitor from laptop, but only the desktop background is shown on tv. No icons or anything else.

'Mirror' is selected for monitors, connection is HDMI, 720x576 25Hz settings for second monitor/tv.

Laptop is Medion Akoya 7222.

Can anyone help? :?

User avatar
MrEen
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2014
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by MrEen » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:26 am

Hi fbr.

While I probably can't help with this issue, those that can will probably want to see the output of running inxi -Fxz in the terminal.

When pasting large blocks of text, please enclose the results in-between [ⅽode] and [/ⅽode] code markers by selecting </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply.

fbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:06 am

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by fbr » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:43 am

Thanks MrEen

hope this is helpful:

Code: Select all

fbr@fbr-E7222 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: fbr-E7222 Kernel: 4.15.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: MATE 1.18.0 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: Medion (portable) product: E7222 v: 1.0
           Mobo: Medion model: E7222 v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 206 date: 04/13/2012
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-2350M (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 9178
           clock speeds: max: 2300 MHz 1: 893 MHz 2: 899 MHz 3: 811 MHz
           4: 853 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1440x900@59.89hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 7 Series/C210 Series Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230
           driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 750.2GB (1.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: HITACHI_HTS72757 size: 750.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 343G used: 9.3G (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 52.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 187 Uptime: 1:13 Memory: 750.5/3839.8MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

User avatar
MrEen
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2014
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by MrEen » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:50 am

This probably won't make any difference, but... Your inxi output showed this:

Code: Select all

           Resolution: 1440x900@59.89hz
Can you set the resolution for the TV to that as well in the display settings?

Also, another command that might help others help you is the output of xrandr but I'd do that after the first suggestion.

User avatar
administrollaattori
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5676
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 4:51 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by administrollaattori » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:55 am

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Multihead

PS. If you are not using Multihead, simply mirror displays via mate-display-properties, or install Arandr and set settings using it.

Code: Select all

apt install arandr
To run

Code: Select all

arandr

fbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:06 am

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by fbr » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:05 pm

Thanks MrEen and administrollaatori,

Setting TV resolution the same as laptop helped, I have picture now.

I now have to work on also having sound from the TV.

Help on that will also be much appreciated. :wink:

User avatar
MrEen
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2014
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by MrEen » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:13 pm

Your laptop is known for having sound issues when using Linux. Hopefully, we can get it working. What I'd like you to try first is to play a video (YouTube or whatever) and while it is running enter the following into the terminal:

Code: Select all

pacmd list-sinks
Paste the output back here and we'll see what we can do.

Also, did the sound work on the laptop before connecting to the TV while using Mint?

The output of aplay -l might help as well.

fbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:06 am

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by fbr » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:30 pm

MrEen, thanks again

I have sound on the laptop both with and without TV connected.

Here are the 2 outputs:

Code: Select all

fbr@fbr-E7222 ~ $ pacmd list-sinks
1 sink(s) available.
  * index: 0
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: RUNNING
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 9959
	volume: front-left: 45876 /  70% / -9.29 dB,   front-right: 45876 /  70% / -9.29 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 68.22 ms
	max request: 16 KiB
	max rewind: 64 KiB
	monitor source: 0
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 48000Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 1
	linked by: 1
	configured latency: 90.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 341.33 ms
	card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
	module: 6
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "ALC269VC Analog"
		alsa.id = "ALC269VC Analog"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "0"
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel PCH"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel PCH at 0xf7f10000 irq 30"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "8086"
		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
		device.product.id = "1e20"
		device.product.name = "7 Series/C210 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "front:0"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
		device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC269VC"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0269,1b0a20f0,00100202 HDA:80862806,1b0a20ca,00100000"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		analog-output-speaker: Speakers (priority 10000, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-speakers"
		analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
	active port: <analog-output-speaker>
	
fbr@fbr-E7222 ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC269VC Analog [ALC269VC Analog]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC269VC Digital [ALC269VC Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
	

User avatar
MrEen
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2014
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by MrEen » Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:48 pm

Oh, this is great. I'm pretty sure we can fix this easily.

Install and run PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol) and go to the Configuration tab and change the Profile to HDMI.

There's a chance MATE's sound settings can do this as well, but I don't use it and besides, pavucontrol offers more options.

fbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2014 10:06 am

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by fbr » Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:07 pm

[SOLVED] It worked great, thanks a lot :D

The Mate Sound can actually do the same.

So it has mainly been a matter of a 'fault 40' (we use centimeters in my country).

Regards
fbr

User avatar
MrEen
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2014
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: 18.3 Mate 64bit - only desktop background shown on 2. monitor

Post by MrEen » Tue Nov 06, 2018 9:25 pm

fbr wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 1:07 pm
[SOLVED] It worked great, thanks a lot :D

The Mate Sound can actually do the same.

So it has mainly been a matter of a 'fault 40' (we use centimeters in my country).

Regards
fbr
LOL. Until you know, you don't know. But if you want to take the blame, I prefer PEBCAC. :D

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”