No HDMI in sound settings

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:20 pm

Hello everyone need some support.

Just built myself a new desktop and everything works like a dream other than there is no option to select HDMI in sound settings. i have Line Out, Digital output (S/PDIF) but no option for HDMI so can't get full benefits as of yet. My specs are as followed if any of it helps.

Processor - AMD FX(tm)-8350 Eight-Core Processor
Ram - 16GB
Graphics (on board) - [AMD/ATI] RS780L [Radeon 3000]
Motherboard - Asus M5A78L-M PLUS/USB3
Monitor - Acer KA220HQ
OS - Mint 19 Cinnamon

Would this be a sound or graphics card issue i wasn't sure which is the correct place to get support?

Thank you in advance :)

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Fri Nov 30, 2018 2:48 pm

Hi electric-wildflower.

I'd suggest you install and run PulseAudio Volume Control (pavucontrol.) Once open, go to the Configuration tab and see what Profiles are available for you to select.

If that didn't help, please paste the output from running inxi -Fxz and aplay -l in the terminal.

Good luck.

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:52 am

Thanks for the response.

I installed Pavucontrol and it only showed built in audio, analog stereo as an option but when i visit configuration i get the option of choosing RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon 3000/3100/ HD 300/3300]. In the drop down profile list it says off and i get options of Digital surround sound 7.1, 5.1, Stereo, all that say (unplugged)

I turned off Built-in audio and enabled 7.1 HDMI option for it to go silent and all youtube videos speed up, it's the same with the other HDMI options no music and sped up video.

After running inxi -Fxz i am greeted with

Code: Select all

System:    Host: electricwildflower Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64
           bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M5A78L-M PLUS/USB3 v: Rev X.0x serial: N/A
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 0502 date: 11/18/2016
CPU:       8 core AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core (-MCP-) 
           arch: Bulldozer rev.0 cache: 16384 KB
           
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 64285
           clock speeds: max: 4000 MHz 1: 2078 MHz 2: 1473 MHz 3: 1721 MHz
           4: 1471 MHz 5: 1405 MHz 6: 1403 MHz 7: 1405 MHz 8: 1404 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RS780L [Radeon 3000]
           bus-ID: 01:05.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: modesetting,fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.00hz
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD RS780 (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.15.0-20-generic, LLVM 6.0.0)
           version: 3.3 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon 3000/3100 / HD 3200/3300]
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:05.1
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-20-generic
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e800 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (85.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST31000322CS size: 1000.2GB
           ID-2: /dev/sdb model: KINGSTON_SA400S3 size: 120.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 110G used: 16G (15%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 25.0C mobo: 21.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 1973 sys-1: 1283
Info:      Processes: 227 Uptime: 28 min Memory: 1228.8/15771.3MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 
And running aplay -l i am greeted with

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:24 pm

I think the first thing to try is upgrade your kernel. I'm not sure if a 4.15 series will be enough. You may need the latest 4.18.

If still not working after a kernel upgrade, in the terminal type xed admin:///etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf then scroll to the bottom of the file and add this line:

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel model=dual-codecs
Save the file, reboot and test sound. If that didn't help, undo the change then follow the next part.

Good luck.

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:56 pm

Thanks for the support but no change

I updated the Kernal via update manager but that only took it to 15.39 and no change on reboot. I then added the code in alsa-base.conf and rebooted but no change so removed the code. I then visited this website and followed the guide to get the 64bit kernal installed.

http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/201 ... inux-mint/

System info now states 4.18.0-041800-generic but after rebooting no change. I then edited the alsa-base.conf adding the line of code and rebooted and no change still so not sure where to go from here??

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:11 pm

I remember reading that sometimes HDMI sound is very finicky to get working when it's not listed as the first sound device.

Let me try to research that a bit and see if I can come up with a workaround.

I should actually have you paste back the results of aplay -l again in case the kernel upgrade changed things.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:23 pm

Does speaker-test --channels 2 --rate 48000 --device hw:1,3 get a static sound playing one side then the other on whatever you're playing to?

Use Ctrl-c to stop the test.

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Sat Dec 01, 2018 6:36 pm

Here are the results of aplay -l

Code: Select all

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: SB [HDA ATI SB], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Also no static sounds or anything when running the test, i have ran Xubuntu from a memory stick just to check and that doesn't have the option for HDMI sound as well.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:17 pm

I can't find the stuff about HDMI not being card 0 right now, so give this a shot.

Unplug the HDMI from the computer then reconnect it. Does that change what's showing on the Configuration tab of pavucontrol for the HDMI Profile?

I believe that has worked for some.

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:45 pm

No change after unplugging the HDMI, Tested Ubuntu from a memory stick just to make sure it's not a Mint issue and again nothing.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Sat Dec 01, 2018 7:53 pm

All right, I found a really old post that had a situation much like yours here: https://www.linuxquestions.org/question ... ux-819172/

His fix was in post #5. I'd say it's worth a shot, it can always be undone.

Yours would be the same as his with options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2

Good luck.

P.S. You could reboot instead of the rmmod/modprobe method if you prefer.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2510
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by AndyMH » Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:18 pm

If you want to try a 4.19 kernel and see if it makes any difference install ukuu:
Screenshot from 2018-12-02 00-14-57.png
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:37 pm

Hi AndyMH.

Just to let you know, I've seen a few reports of troubles with the 4.19 kernel here on this forum. In every case, reverting to 4.18 was necessary.

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2510
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by AndyMH » Sat Dec 01, 2018 8:51 pm

I actually used ukuu to revert from a 4.15 kernel to 4.4 cos my monitor resolution was not being picked up by anything greater than 4.5.7. Did try 4.19 briefly, just long enough to prove it didn't fix my monitor problem :D
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:40 pm

Sadly no change, I followed the guide creating sound.conf in modprobe.d and adding

Code: Select all

options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0xffff,0xfff2

Reboot and HDMI vanishes from Pulse Audio so deleted sound,conf and rebooted and it appears again still with (unplugged) so no HDMI sound as of yet. Would the graphics card driver have any role in it?

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:56 pm

electric-wildflower wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:40 pm
Would the graphics card driver have any role in it?
Yes. You have the same graphics drivers installed as I have on my machine. Sadly, I don't use HDMI, so I can't try testing things before having you try them. One area we differ is my aplay output lists devices 7, 8 and 9 along with the 3 that you show:

Code: Select all

card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Again, I'm suspecting the HDMI card being other than zero could be the issue.

Here's a couple of things to try/check.

1. Let's see the output of dmesg | grep HDMI to see if that gives us any clue.

2. If it's possible, disable the onboard sound in your BIOS and see if that helps the HDMI issue.

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Mon Dec 03, 2018 7:03 am

Thanks for the reply back

I popped into bios to snoop around and i disabled and re enabled both AMD 760 HDMI audio and HD audio controller and again no change other than HDMI vanishes as an option in pulse audio when disabling either one.

The output to dmesg | grep HDMI is

Code: Select all

[    3.385981] [drm]   HDMI-A-1
[    6.604332] input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:05.1/sound/card1/input11

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Mon Dec 03, 2018 8:04 am

I'm just about out of ideas.

What's the output of pacmd list-sinks?

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:00 pm

The output of pacmd list-sinks is

Code: Select all

1 sink(s) available.
  * index: 0
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_14.2.analog-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: SUSPENDED
	suspend cause: IDLE 
	priority: 9039
	volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 0.00 ms
	max request: 0 KiB
	max rewind: 0 KiB
	monitor source: 0
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 0
	linked by: 0
	configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_14.2>
	module: 8
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "ALC887-VD Analog"
		alsa.id = "ALC887-VD Analog"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "0"
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA ATI SB"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDAudio-Gigabyte-ALC1220DualCodecs"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:14.2"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "1002"
		device.vendor.name = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]"
		device.product.id = "4383"
		device.product.name = "SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "front:0"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Analogue Stereo"
		device.description = "Built-in Audio Analogue Stereo"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC887-VD"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0887,10438576,00100302"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		analog-output-lineout: Line Out (priority 9900, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				
		analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
	active port: <analog-output-lineout>

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5035
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Mon Dec 03, 2018 4:15 pm

You need to go back to pavucontrols Configuration tab and set the Profile for RS780 HDMI Audio to something and set the other Profile to Off for the moment. Try Digital Stereo (HDMI) (unplugged) for now, then start something with sound and run pacmd list-sinks again please.

Also, while it's playing, look on the Playback tab to ensure it's playing to the appropriate card. You can change it if necessary.

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”