No HDMI in sound settings

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:33 pm

Followed the steps and this is the outcome for pacmd list-sinks

Code: Select all

1 sink(s) available.
  * index: 1
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_01_05.1.hdmi-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: RUNNING
	suspend cause: 
	priority: 9030
	volume: front-left: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB,   front-right: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 39.17 ms
	max request: 6 KiB
	max rewind: 64 KiB
	monitor source: 2
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 1
	linked by: 3
	configured latency: 40.00 ms; range is 26.00 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_01_05.1>
	module: 7
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.id = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "3"
		alsa.card = "1"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfe8e8000 irq 19"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:01:05.1"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:05.1/sound/card1"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "1002"
		device.vendor.name = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]"
		device.product.id = "960f"
		device.product.name = "RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon 3000/3100 / HD 3200/3300]"
		device.string = "hdmi:1"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "hdmi-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		device.description = "RS780 HDMI Audio [Radeon 3000/3100 / HD 3200/3300] Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		alsa.mixer_name = "ATI RS690/780 HDMI"
		alsa.components = "HDA:1002791a,00791a00,00100000"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		hdmi-output-0: HDMI / DisplayPort (priority 5900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
	active port: <hdmi-output-0>
On the playback tab in pulse audio it just shows VLC media player and a flickering bar underneath??

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5123
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Tue Dec 04, 2018 5:41 pm

Beside VLC, there's a box. Mine says Built-in Audio Analog Stereo. If I click on it, I can change it to other cards.

What does yours say and what other options are there?

electric-wildflower
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 4:23 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by electric-wildflower » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:03 pm

Never mind i solved it lol.

The Monitor in question i am using is an acer ka22ohq which i didn't realize when i brought it that there is two options one with built in speakers and one without and of course i picked up the non speaker model and was confused why in the options on the monitor you couldn't select the sound option but now i know. I was planning on getting a second monitor anyway when i upgrade to a dedicated graphics card so ill get the monitor with speakers option.

Hence why HDMI works fine but it says unplugged with audio my bad haha.

User avatar
MrEen
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5123
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No HDMI in sound settings

Post by MrEen » Tue Dec 04, 2018 6:22 pm

LOL!

Glad this is solved, regardless. :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”