[Solved]Bluetooth speakers paired but unable to connect

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Crybaby
Level 1
Level 1

[Solved]Bluetooth speakers paired but unable to connect

Post by Crybaby »

Hi everyone, newbie here...
I'm running Mint 19.1 Mate from a multiboot USB with 4GB persistence created with Yumi, to give it a try.
For a couple of days I simply connected my Rockbox Brick by clicking the bluetooth icon on the taskbar and the sound would flow. Then it didn't work anymore, It cannot connect. I installed Blueman and followed the instructions, everything went fine till the pairing, then when it tries to connect I get this message: Connection Failed: blueman.bluez.errors.DBusFailedError: Resource temporarily unavailable.
I will add that I use a usb bluetooth dongle as the pc has not BT. Also, the speakers don't appear as a sound device, only the built-in stereo is listed.
I couldn't find my way in the plethora of posts/tutorials about BT in the google results, the only thing I tried is running "sudo rfkill list" where I saw that bluetooth is not blocked.
Any help is appreciated, have a nice day
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
HP Pro 3500 MT PC 64bits
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-3240 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Dual Boot: Mint 19.1 Mate / Windows 10 Pro
Crybaby
Level 1
Level 1

Re: Bluetooth speakers paired but unable to connect

Post by Crybaby »

Update:
trying again i found that the connection sometimes works and sometimes not, so my best guess is that the speakers are malfunctioning. Therefore i consider this topic closed.
HP Pro 3500 MT PC 64bits
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23

Post by MrEen »

Hi Crybaby, and welcome to the forum.

I somewhat doubt the speakers are malfunctioning. More likely you just haven't got everything set up properly yet.