Netflix and ... Linux Mint

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Poissonchat
Level 1
Level 1

Netflix and ... Linux Mint

Post by Poissonchat » Sat Feb 16, 2019 9:34 am

Hello everybody,

I would love to watch Netflix on my computer ( Toshiba satellite running on Linux mint cinnamon 18.3 ...) but it is sound impossible :shock:

I love Linux and my version and please ... i don't want to come back on windows. I have this message from Netflix ( see picture ) and i would like to avoid touch the command line because I am a complete noob. I download Chrome ... it doesn't work - Firefox doesn't work ... I have no idea how to install sylverlight ... in linux.

Thank you for your help ...
Attachments
Screenshot from 2019-02-16 13-21-40.png

bertradio
Level 2
Level 2

Re: Netflix and ... Linux Mint

Post by bertradio » Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:12 am

I can confirm that Netflix runs just fine in Firefox 65.0 under Mint 18.3 and 19.1. Not sure what your problem is. But Netflilx does work under Mint.

Flemur
Level 17
Level 17

Post by Flemur » Sat Feb 16, 2019 10:53 am

firefox 65 works on netflix.

IIRC, the install process is bizarre but simple....an internet search provided the answer below in a few seconds:

https://itsfoss.com/netflix-firefox-linux/
"Step 1: Enable DRM

Open Firefox and type about:preferences#content in the address bar. Look for Digital Rights Management (DRM) Content field and check the box in front of Play DRM-controlled content. [There's is also a check-box in a GUI somewhere, but 'about;' is probably easier]

Enable DRM content playback on Firefox

This will start to install the Widevine plugin from Google. Depending on your network speed it will take a few minutes to install this add-on."
...then make sure you have the other stuff they list at that site...
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?