[SOLVED] The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

[SOLVED] The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

A while ago, I made a post about this problem happening, and now it's happening again. I tried the terminal suggestions from that post, and none of them worked. One of the people who responded said I should upgrade my kernel to 5.3, but I'm currently running 5.4.0-42. I should mention that I somehow misplaced the remote for my monitor (which prompted me to look everywhere in my bedroom for it), so I've had to unplug the monitor when I want it off, and plug it back in when I want it on. I'm wondering if that can affect the sound at all? If that's not the cause of the problem, I'm wondering if this is a hardware issue (because it is a bit old), or if I should upgrade to Mint 20 to fix this?
Last edited by SpongebobFan1994 on Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16528
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by MrEen »

Hi SpongebobFan1994,

I'm suspecting the sound is switching to your HDMI output due to plugging it in. You can verify with pacmd list-sinks. If the asterisk is next to the HDMI output, then my assumption is correct, and we need to comment out some lines in /etc/pulse/default.pa to stop this from happening.
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:17 pm
Hi SpongebobFan1994,

I'm suspecting the sound is switching to your HDMI output due to plugging it in. You can verify with pacmd list-sinks. If the asterisk is next to the HDMI output, then my assumption is correct, and we need to comment out some lines in /etc/pulse/default.pa to stop this from happening.

Code: Select all

 * index: 0
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_01_00.1.hdmi-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: SUSPENDED
	suspend cause: IDLE 
	priority: 9030
	volume: front-left: 32768 /  50% / -18.06 dB,   front-right: 32768 /  50% / -18.06 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: no
	current latency: 0.00 ms
	max request: 0 KiB
	max rewind: 0 KiB
	monitor source: 0
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 0
	linked by: 0
	configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 0 <alsa_card.pci-0000_01_00.1>
	module: 7
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.id = "HDMI 0"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "3"
		alsa.card = "1"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI at 0xe1460000 irq 33"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:01:00.1"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/0000:01:00.1/sound/card1"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "1002"
		device.vendor.name = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]"
		device.product.id = "aab0"
		device.product.name = "Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7700/7800 Series]"
		device.string = "hdmi:1"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "hdmi-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		device.description = "Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7700/7800 Series] Digital Stereo (HDMI)"
		alsa.mixer_name = "ATI R6xx HDMI"
		alsa.components = "HDA:1002aa01,00aa0100,00100300"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		hdmi-output-0: HDMI / DisplayPort (priority 5900, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
	active port: <hdmi-output-0>
    index: 1
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	flags: HARDWARE HW_MUTE_CTRL HW_VOLUME_CTRL DECIBEL_VOLUME LATENCY DYNAMIC_LATENCY
	state: SUSPENDED
	suspend cause: IDLE 
	priority: 9039
	volume: front-left: 5358 /   8% / -65.25 dB,   front-right: 5358 /   8% / -65.25 dB
	        balance 0.00
	base volume: 65536 / 100% / 0.00 dB
	volume steps: 65537
	muted: yes
	current latency: 0.00 ms
	max request: 0 KiB
	max rewind: 0 KiB
	monitor source: 1
	sample spec: s16le 2ch 44100Hz
	channel map: front-left,front-right
	             Stereo
	used by: 0
	linked by: 0
	configured latency: 0.00 ms; range is 0.50 .. 371.52 ms
	card: 1 <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_1b.0>
	module: 8
	properties:
		alsa.resolution_bits = "16"
		device.api = "alsa"
		device.class = "sound"
		alsa.class = "generic"
		alsa.subclass = "generic-mix"
		alsa.name = "ALC269VB Analog"
		alsa.id = "ALC269VB Analog"
		alsa.subdevice = "0"
		alsa.subdevice_name = "subdevice #0"
		alsa.device = "0"
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel PCH"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel PCH at 0xe1560000 irq 32"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:1b.0"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1b.0/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "8086"
		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
		device.product.id = "1c20"
		device.product.name = "6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "front:0"
		device.buffering.buffer_size = "65536"
		device.buffering.fragment_size = "32768"
		device.access_mode = "mmap+timer"
		device.profile.name = "analog-stereo"
		device.profile.description = "Analog Stereo"
		device.description = "Built-in Audio Analog Stereo"
		alsa.mixer_name = "Realtek ALC269VB"
		alsa.components = "HDA:10ec0269,1028047e,00100100"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	ports:
		analog-output-lineout: Line Out (priority 9900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				
		analog-output-speaker: Speakers (priority 10000, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-speakers"
		analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
	active port: <analog-output-headphones>
 
There doesn't seem to be an asterisk next to HDMI. I think you were confusing the HDMI cord with the cord for the monitor.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16528
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by MrEen »

Yes there is:

Code: Select all

 * index: 0
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_01_00.1.hdmi-stereo>
And not here:

Code: Select all

    index: 1
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
I assume you're still using the computer speakers, correct?
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:31 pm
Yes there is:

Code: Select all

 * index: 0
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_01_00.1.hdmi-stereo>
And not here:

Code: Select all

    index: 1
	name: <alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo>
I assume you're still using the computer speakers, correct?
Thanks for correcting me on that as I took what you said too literally. I occasionally still use them.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16528
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by MrEen »

I'm having difficulty understanding exactly what is happening. Are you saying the HDMI audio is crapping out, or the computer speakers output is crapping out?
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:36 pm
I'm having difficulty understanding exactly what is happening. Are you saying the HDMI audio is crapping out, or the computer speakers output is crapping out?
Both
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16528
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by MrEen »

Okay, while sound is working, run this again:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
Paste the output of that when done. Then the next time the sound craps out, do the same thing.

If you still have pavucontrol installed, it might be as simple as changing where it's outputting on the Playback tab to get back to working sound.

EDIT: And the unplugging of the cable might be messing up PulseAudio's config files. Deleting them in /home/YourUserName/.config/pulse then running pulseaudio -k might also fix this.
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:44 pm
Okay, while sound is working, run this again:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
Paste the output of that when done. Then the next time the sound craps out, do the same thing.

If you still have pavucontrol installed, it might be as simple as changing where it's outputting on the Playback tab to get back to working sound.

EDIT: And the unplugging of the cable might be messing up PulseAudio's config files. Deleting them in /home/YourUserName/.config/pulse then running pulseaudio -k might also fix this.

Code: Select all

   % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
100  2039  100  2039    0     0   4949      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--  4937
lsof: WARNING: can't stat() tracefs file system /sys/kernel/debug/tracing
      Output information may be incomplete.
https://termbin.com/qybj
 
I'll try looking for that remote again so I don't have to keep putting in pulseaudio -k
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16528
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by MrEen »

Based on that output, you have headphones plugged in, and they're muted. This should fix that:

Code: Select all

amixer set Headphone unmute
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:53 pm
Based on that output, you have headphones plugged in, and they're muted. This should fix that:

Code: Select all

amixer set Headphone unmute
(I should've mentioned this at the beginning) the headphones were never a problem, but I'm still not getting any sound when playing a video through VLC
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16528
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by MrEen »

SpongebobFan1994 wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:59 pm
MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:53 pm
Based on that output, you have headphones plugged in, and they're muted. This should fix that:

Code: Select all

amixer set Headphone unmute
(I should've mentioned this at the beginning) the headphones were never a problem, but I'm still not getting any sound when playing a video through VLC
Ya gotta help me here. How would you like to be listening to what VLC is playing?
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 10:03 pm
SpongebobFan1994 wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:59 pm
MrEen wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 9:53 pm
Based on that output, you have headphones plugged in, and they're muted. This should fix that:

Code: Select all

amixer set Headphone unmute
(I should've mentioned this at the beginning) the headphones were never a problem, but I'm still not getting any sound when playing a video through VLC
Ya gotta help me here. How would you like to be listening to what VLC is playing?
I was trying to watch a review of the Legend of Korra that I downloaded using YouTube DL. Because I've been having problems with YTDL lately, it did say "warning" under the video's status. What I'm guessing is the file for the video must've gotten corrupted as it was being downloaded. I can try using Clip Grab and see if that makes a difference.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16528
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by MrEen »

Is sound in general working at this time?
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

MrEen wrote:
Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:45 pm
Is sound in general working at this time?
Earlier today, I decided to test a YouTube video while on it's site to see if it wasn't just the video I was trying to watch. Somehow the sound wasn't working when I tried both HDMI and using headphones plugged into the computer. However, I tried it again earlier, and Idk how, but they're both working fine. After redownloading the video, the sound is working within it as well. Hopefully when I upgrade to 20, because I've been meaning to do that anyway, this issue may finally stop, but only time will tell.
User avatar
BG405
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2415
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by BG405 »

SpongebobFan1994 wrote:
Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:05 am
After redownloading the video, the sound is working within it as well.
This is sometimes the case. I assume you had enough room on the target medium for the conversion to take place? .. I've had a few occasions where there wasn't sufficient space available for the conversion/combination process to write the target file, leaving a video-only file; particularly those large GB+ ones from iPlayer.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Lenovo T440 8GB - Manjaro KDE with Mint VMs
Toshiba NB250 - Manjaro KDE------------------------K7S5A AMD 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 ----Two ROMS don't make a WRITE ...
SpongebobFan1994
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 273
Joined: Wed May 06, 2020 12:19 am

Re: The Sound on My Computer Keeps Crapping Out Again

Post by SpongebobFan1994 »

BG405 wrote:
Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:25 am
SpongebobFan1994 wrote:
Wed Aug 12, 2020 1:05 am
After redownloading the video, the sound is working within it as well.
This is sometimes the case. I assume you had enough room on the target medium for the conversion to take place? .. I've had a few occasions where there wasn't sufficient space available for the conversion/combination process to write the target file, leaving a video-only file; particularly those large GB+ ones from iPlayer.
I always have videos I've downloaded stored my external hard drive. Thankfully it has a TB capacity, so it's not getting too full anytime soon, especially since I had purged a number of unnecessary files off of it a while back.
Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”