No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A) [SOLVED]

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A) [SOLVED]

Post by FFIXCollector »

So how do I get surround sound to work?
I have a ASRock B550M Pro4 with 3 outputs, the traditional stereo, line in, and MIC.
B550M Pro4(L5).png
SUPPOSEDLY this chip supports surround sound...? AlsaMixer confirms it:
Screenshot from 2020-10-30 08-33-06.png
But the sound settings only show stereo:
Screenshot from 2020-10-30 08-35-35.png
Last edited by FFIXCollector on Thu Nov 05, 2020 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

Hi FFIXCollector,

Let's see what options are available with this command:

Code: Select all

pacmd list-cards
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by FFIXCollector »

Code: Select all

2 card(s) available.
    index: 0
	name: <alsa_card.pci-0000_09_00.1>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	owner module: 7
	properties:
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA ATI HDMI at 0xfce60000 irq 103"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:09:00.1"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:03.1/0000:09:00.1/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "1002"
		device.vendor.name = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]"
		device.product.id = "aaf0"
		device.product.name = "Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590]"
		device.string = "0"
		device.description = "Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590]"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	profiles:
		output:hdmi-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI) Output (priority 5900, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI) Output (priority 800, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI) Output (priority 800, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra1: Digital Stereo (HDMI 2) Output (priority 5700, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra1: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 2) Output (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra1: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 2) Output (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra2: Digital Stereo (HDMI 3) Output (priority 5700, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra3: Digital Stereo (HDMI 4) Output (priority 5700, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra4: Digital Stereo (HDMI 5) Output (priority 5700, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra5: Digital Stereo (HDMI 6) Output (priority 5700, available: unknown)
		off: Off (priority 0, available: unknown)
	active profile: <output:hdmi-stereo-extra2>
	sinks:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_09_00.1.hdmi-stereo-extra2/#10: Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590] Digital Stereo (HDMI 3)
	sources:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_09_00.1.hdmi-stereo-extra2.monitor/#10: Monitor of Ellesmere HDMI Audio [Radeon RX 470/480 / 570/580/590] Digital Stereo (HDMI 3)
	ports:
		hdmi-output-0: HDMI / DisplayPort (priority 5900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
		hdmi-output-1: HDMI / DisplayPort 2 (priority 5800, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
		hdmi-output-2: HDMI / DisplayPort 3 (priority 5700, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
				device.product.name = "Sceptre F27"
		hdmi-output-3: HDMI / DisplayPort 4 (priority 5600, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
				device.product.name = "Sceptre F27"
		hdmi-output-4: HDMI / DisplayPort 5 (priority 5500, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
				device.product.name = "ASUS VP28U"
		hdmi-output-5: HDMI / DisplayPort 6 (priority 5400, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
				device.product.name = "ASUS VP28U"
    index: 1
	name: <alsa_card.pci-0000_0b_00.4>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	owner module: 8
	properties:
		alsa.card = "1"
		alsa.card_name = "HD-Audio Generic"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HD-Audio Generic at 0xfca00000 irq 105"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:0b:00.4"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:08.1/0000:0b:00.4/sound/card1"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "1022"
		device.vendor.name = "Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD]"
		device.product.id = "1487"
		device.product.name = "Starship/Matisse HD Audio Controller"
		device.string = "1"
		device.description = "Starship/Matisse HD Audio Controller"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	profiles:
		input:analog-stereo: Analog Stereo Input (priority 65, available: no)
		output:analog-stereo: Analog Stereo Output (priority 6500, available: unknown)
		output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo: Analog Stereo Duplex (priority 6565, available: no)
		off: Off (priority 0, available: unknown)
	active profile: <output:analog-stereo>
	sinks:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_0b_00.4.analog-stereo/#1: Starship/Matisse HD Audio Controller Analog Stereo
	sources:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_0b_00.4.analog-stereo.monitor/#1: Monitor of Starship/Matisse HD Audio Controller Analog Stereo
	ports:
		analog-input-front-mic: Front Microphone (priority 8500, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
		analog-input-rear-mic: Rear Microphone (priority 8200, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
		analog-input-linein: Line In (priority 8100, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				
		analog-output-lineout: Line Out (priority 9000, latency offset 0 usec, available: yes)
			properties:
				
		analog-output-headphones: Headphones (priority 9900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

Okay, it's certainly not recognized as being available.

That's a very new audio codec, that might require a newer kernel to have everything recognized properly. I'm not saying the support is there in a newer kernel yet, but that's where it will show up first.

I would suggest giving kernel 5.8 or 5.9 a shot and see what happens. But don't try that if you don't how to boot into an older kernel first, in case the newer kernel doesn't agree with your system.
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by FFIXCollector »

I know how to boot into a old kernel, but I don't know where to get a newer kernel.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

I was looking at the specs here: https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/B550M%20P ... cification

It does mention 7.1 CH HD Audio, but I am a bit stumped how that is achieved. Three ports could at best support 5.1 audio as far as I know. And there's no S/PDIF port is appears that might also be able to provide 7.1. It really looks to me like only the HDMI output is capable of 7.1 audio.

You might want to take a quick peek at your BIOS to see if there's something in there that might need to be enabled. But I'm suspecting it probably won't help.
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by FFIXCollector »

I did look into the BIOS, and there are no settings.
I never considered that they would roll 7.1 audio into the HDMI.....
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

FFIXCollector wrote:
Fri Oct 30, 2020 8:38 pm
I never considered that they would roll 7.1 audio into the HDMI.....
And see, that's the part that has me a bit confused. Because the HDMI is a separate audio card, not part of the ALC1200 codec. But they list things thusly:
7.1 CH HD Audio (Realtek ALC1200 Audio Codec), Nahimic Audio
To be honest, I have no idea what Nahimic Audio is all about, but it didn't appear in your output for either card.
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by FFIXCollector »

This is the EASIEST Kernel update I have ever done.
I'm running 5.9.3, still an issue. (see attachments)
------
With the official windows drivers, you can set the MIC and INPUT to output SURROUND and SUB. I have seen no such features in Linux, and I think it might be at the root of why the 7.1 output is not available with the current motherboard layout.

I have another issue with Bluetooth sound that may or may not be related: viewtopic.php?f=48&t=334336
Attachments
Sound 2.png
Sound 1.png
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

Even if we changed the pins for line in and mic in, you'd only get 5.1 sound max. The two front you already have, two surround channels, and center/LFE, if that's even possible, as center and LFE might have to be on separate pins. We'd still be missing rear left and right.

If you want to see if it's possible to get something like that, let me know. There's a tool called HDAJackRetask that is part of the alsa-tools-gui package that can be used for this purpose.
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by FFIXCollector »

Yes! Let me know your experience with HDAJackRetask > It looks like the tool I need.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

Let's start with this output:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
That will have a URL on the last line of output pointing to your sound setup. That will show me what pins are involved.
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by FFIXCollector »

Code: Select all

  % Total    % Received % Xferd  Average Speed   Time    Time     Time  Current
                                 Dload  Upload   Total   Spent    Left  Speed
100  2039  100  2039    0     0   3869      0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:--  3861
dmesg: read kernel buffer failed: Operation not permitted
https://termbin.com/6urr
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

Umm, try killall speech-dispatcher and see if that fixes your BT issue. That's been known to cause audio issues, so it's worth a shot.

Still looking through the output.
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by FFIXCollector »

Output: [speech-dispatcher: no process found]
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A)

Post by MrEen »

Okay, install alsa-tools-gui so you can run HDAJackRetask. When it opens make sure Select a Codec in the upper left shows ALCS1200A.

Now click on the Override checkboxes for 0x18 and 0x1a. Change 0x18 from Rear Microphone to either Center/LFE if that is available, otherwise just LFE. Change 0x1a from Line In to Surround.

You might need to check the Advanced override box so you can change the direction of those two pins. I assume they should change automatically, but I'm not certain on that.

Now try clicking on Apply now. If you get a "Device or resource busy" error, you'll need to click on Install boot override then reboot. Either way, now run pacmd list-cards and see if the Starship/Matisse card now shows a 5.1 option. If you were able to get here without clicking on Install boot override, go ahead and click on it now if 5.1 was in the list of profiles in the pacmd command.

At this point, this easiest option is to use pavucontrol to change the Profile on the Configuration tab.

Ask any question you need to, and paste any outputs you're confused by. I'm thinking there's at least an 80% chance of this working to get 5.1, 4.1 at the worst.

Good luck.

Don't worry about the speech-dispatcher thing. It must have closed itself properly.
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A) [SOLVED]

Post by FFIXCollector »

Your recommendation worked like a charm, I now have full 5.1 which is exactly what I wanted! Thank you :)
User avatar
MrEen
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 15238
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A) [SOLVED]

Post by MrEen »

WOW!

That's the first time I've helped do what you just did. I'm honestly rather amazed it worked so smoothly!

Glad I could help. :D
FFIXCollector
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2014 9:07 am

Re: No suround sound on the starship matisse controller (Realtek ALCS1200A) [SOLVED]

Post by FFIXCollector »

So things went screwy today.... Here is what is happening with the override in place:
  • 5.1 Mode
    - No; Center, Front Right, Rear Left
    - Everything but Subwoofer is very quiet
  • 4.1 Mode
    - No; Front Right, Rear Left
    - Everything but Subwoofer is very quiet
  • 2.1 Mode
    - Everything but Subwoofer is very quiet
  • 5.0 Mode
    - Center is at a normal volume
    - Front/Rear-Left/Right is very quiet
  • 4.0 Mode
    - No rear Left
    - Front Right comes through Subwoofer
  • Stereo
    - Works Normal
I reworked the Jack overrides and tried multiple setting with the same results every time.
Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”