Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

Hi!

So I've been tinkering with a eZbook 3 Pro, which has an ALC269VC audio chip. The laptop has a 3.5 TRRS headset jack, and I tried to use a Y-splitter for 4 pin 3.5 jacks (to 3 pin headset and mic) that I use with my regular laptop. But the headset microphone is just not seen. And even weirder, instead of getting no signal when I select it in input devices, I'm getting signal from the built-in microphone. At the same time, the headphone part of the setup is detected properly, without issue.

I tried setting snd-hda-intel model to anything that made sense from the kernel list (auto, headset-mic, headset-mode, misc alc269 modes), but so far no result. I also tried a model for dell which apparently helped someone, and got "extra" mic 1 and mic 2, but nothing worked. I tried option position_fix=1, and also nothing came out of it.

As for hdajackretask, I have no idea what I'm even looking at; my attempt to override the pins according to one recipe I found resulted in input devices disappearing at all.

I assumed it could be a CTIA/OMTP pinout problem, and tried an adapter. Also in vain.

Here's my pacmd list-cards:

Code: Select all

1 card(s) available.
    index: 0
	name: <alsa_card.pci-0000_00_0e.0>
	driver: <module-alsa-card.c>
	owner module: 7
	properties:
		alsa.card = "0"
		alsa.card_name = "HDA Intel PCH"
		alsa.long_card_name = "HDA Intel PCH at 0x82210000 irq 128"
		alsa.driver_name = "snd_hda_intel"
		device.bus_path = "pci-0000:00:0e.0"
		sysfs.path = "/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:0e.0/sound/card0"
		device.bus = "pci"
		device.vendor.id = "8086"
		device.vendor.name = "Intel Corporation"
		device.product.id = "5a98"
		device.product.name = "Celeron N3350/Pentium N4200/Atom E3900 Series Audio Cluster"
		device.form_factor = "internal"
		device.string = "0"
		device.description = "Встроенное аудио"
		module-udev-detect.discovered = "1"
		device.icon_name = "audio-card-pci"
	profiles:
		input:analog-stereo: Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 65, available: unknown)
		output:analog-stereo: Аналоговый стерео выход (priority 6500, available: unknown)
		output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo: Аналоговый стерео дуплекс (priority 6565, available: unknown)
		output:hdmi-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI) выход (priority 5900, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo+input:analog-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 5965, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI) выход (priority 800, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 865, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI) выход (priority 800, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 865, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra1: Digital Stereo (HDMI 2) выход (priority 5700, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra1+input:analog-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI 2) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 5765, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra1: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 2) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra1+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 2) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra1: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 2) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra1+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 2) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra2: Digital Stereo (HDMI 3) выход (priority 5700, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra2+input:analog-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI 3) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 5765, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra2: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 3) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra2+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 3) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra2: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 3) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra2+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 3) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra3: Digital Stereo (HDMI 4) выход (priority 5700, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra3+input:analog-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI 4) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 5765, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra3: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 4) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra3+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 4) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra3: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 4) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra3+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 4) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra4: Digital Stereo (HDMI 5) выход (priority 5700, available: no)
		output:hdmi-stereo-extra4+input:analog-stereo: Digital Stereo (HDMI 5) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 5765, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra4: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 5) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround-extra4+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 5.1 (HDMI 5) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra4: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 5) выход (priority 600, available: no)
		output:hdmi-surround71-extra4+input:analog-stereo: Digital Surround 7.1 (HDMI 5) выход + Аналоговый стерео вход (priority 665, available: no)
		off: Выключено (priority 0, available: unknown)
	active profile: <output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo>
	sinks:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_00_0e.0.analog-stereo/#0: Встроенное аудио Аналоговый стерео
	sources:
		alsa_output.pci-0000_00_0e.0.analog-stereo.monitor/#0: Monitor of Встроенное аудио Аналоговый стерео
		alsa_input.pci-0000_00_0e.0.analog-stereo/#1: Встроенное аудио Аналоговый стерео
	ports:
		analog-input-internal-mic: Встроенный микрофон (priority 8900, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
		analog-input-headset-mic: Микрофон гарнитуры (priority 8800, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-input-microphone"
		analog-output-speaker: Динамики (priority 10000, latency offset 0 usec, available: unknown)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-speakers"
		analog-output-headphones: Аналоговые наушники (priority 9900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "audio-headphones"
		hdmi-output-0: HDMI / DisplayPort (priority 5900, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
		hdmi-output-1: HDMI / DisplayPort 2 (priority 5800, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
		hdmi-output-2: HDMI / DisplayPort 3 (priority 5700, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
		hdmi-output-3: HDMI / DisplayPort 4 (priority 5600, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
		hdmi-output-4: HDMI / DisplayPort 5 (priority 5500, latency offset 0 usec, available: no)
			properties:
				device.icon_name = "video-display"
What can I do from here, apart from resorting to a small USB audio card?
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

Hi hvs, and welcome to the forum.

Let's get a look at your sound setup with this command:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
The last line of output will have a URL pointing to the info.
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:30 pm
Hi hvs, and welcome to the forum.

Let's get a look at your sound setup with this command:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
The last line of output will have a URL pointing to the info.
Ok, here is the result: https://termbin.com/jfkfk
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

Did you have the headset plugged in when you ran that code? It doesn't appear that you did.

And was the option model=dell-headset-multi the other you referred to? That one works more often than the one you have presently: model=headset-mode

However, I don't want you to change it yet. But I could use a fresh curl output with the headset plugged in.
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 9:33 pm
Did you have the headset plugged in when you ran that code? It doesn't appear that you did.

And was the option model=dell-headset-multi the other you referred to? That one works more often than the one you have presently: model=headset-mode

However, I don't want you to change it yet. But I could use a fresh curl output with the headset plugged in.
Yes, sorry, my audio stuff was plugged back into my main working laptop.

Here is the output with it plugged in the eZbook: https://termbin.com/fr44
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

Okay, go ahead and change it to model=dell-headset-multi then reboot and run the curl command again.

That output shows the headset-mic as not available while the headphones were available, so it's looking like that model=headset-mode "fix" won't work for you.
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Tue Dec 08, 2020 9:57 pm
Okay, go ahead and change it to model=dell-headset-multi then reboot and run the curl command again.

That output shows the headset-mic as not available while the headphones were available, so it's looking like that model=headset-mode "fix" won't work for you.
It's even worse with the dell option, there is only the monitor among the input devices. https://termbin.com/39u8

Headphones still work though when plugged in the Y-connector.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

That's because the sound card has become output only. Use the Configuration tab of pavucontrol to change it to Analog Stereo Duplex (Аналоговый стерео дуплекс) or run this to do it:

Code: Select all

pacmd set-card-profile alsa_card.pci-0000_00_0e.0 output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 12:28 pm
That's because the sound card has become output only. Use the Configuration tab of pavucontrol to change it to Analog Stereo Duplex (Аналоговый стерео дуплекс) or run this to do it:

Code: Select all

pacmd set-card-profile alsa_card.pci-0000_00_0e.0 output:analog-stereo+input:analog-stereo
OK, tried that. In audio settings the sound card just doesn't have the analog stereo duplex mode: only stereo output and disabled. So I tried the command line. I got "headset mic", "mic 1" and "mic 2". Headset mic is actually the built-in mic. Mic 1 records nothing (and if selected, defaults to monitor, which I assume is the sign of it "not working"), and mic 2 comes as "analog" from the get-go, but records noise. The headphones work.

https://termbin.com/2gzqr
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

Okay, we might need to try the Headphone mic instead. Run alsamixer in the terminal then press F5 to show all columns. The first Input Source column should be changed from Headset Mic to Headphone Mic. Make sure the Headphone mic column isn't muted. Muted column have MM at the bottom. Maybe we'll get lucky with that.
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 5:01 pm
Okay, we might need to try the Headphone mic instead. Run alsamixer in the terminal then press F5 to show all columns. The first Input Source column should be changed from Headset Mic to Headphone Mic. Make sure the Headphone mic column isn't muted. Muted column have MM at the bottom. Maybe we'll get lucky with that.
No luck. I tried changing the source in all kinds of combinations there are, and I either get no signal, or signal from internal mic. I don't think the dell model is even relevant for my hardware, considering how much tinkering it requires to even get the regular mic working.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

The "dell model" is a codec specific quirk to add a headset mic option that does apply to a range of codecs including yours. It only has dell in the name because that was what it was fixing when it was first created. Anyway, I do accept that it's not working for you, just like headset-mode didn't, although I'd like you to try one more thing before we abandon this path. In pavucontrol use the Input Device tab to select the the mics one at a time and then click on the lock icon to expose the left and right volume sliders. Lower the right one all the way to zero. Try with one, then try with the other. Does that sense?

Some mics require this, and I can't answer why other than stating phase inversion, which I'm not going to try to understand.

EDIT: And I'd prefer you use pavucontrol over Sound Settings. This might make a difference.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

Just had another thought after looking through all the outputs. Assuming the above didn't help at all, remove the dell-headset-multi line completely (commenting it out is fine, then reboot and run the curl command again.

In your first output the headset-mode quirk was there, but it didn't change anything:

Code: Select all

!!Sysfs Files
!!-----------

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_pin_configs:
0x12 0x40000000
0x14 0x90170120
0x15 0x04214010
0x17 0x411111f0
0x18 0x04a14030
0x19 0xb7a7013f
0x1a 0x411111f0
0x1b 0x411111f0
0x1d 0x4044a205
0x1e 0x411111f0

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/driver_pin_configs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/user_pin_configs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_verbs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/hints:
When changed to dell-headset-multi, at least it made some changes:

Code: Select all

!!Sysfs Files
!!-----------

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_pin_configs:
0x12 0x40000000
0x14 0x90170120
0x15 0x04214010
0x17 0x411111f0
0x18 0x04a14030
0x19 0xb7a7013f
0x1a 0x411111f0
0x1b 0x411111f0
0x1d 0x4044a205
0x1e 0x411111f0

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/driver_pin_configs:
0x19 0x01a1913c
0x1a 0x01a1913d

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/user_pin_configs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_verbs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/hints:
So it might help to get a look at the default setup output to compare with both of the others, but I'm betting it'll be identical to the headset-mode quirk applied output. And the reason will probably be your codec is actually ALC269VC and not ALC269.

Also, is Windows still on this machine?
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 6:22 pm
Just had another thought after looking through all the outputs. Assuming the above didn't help at all, remove the dell-headset-multi line completely (commenting it out is fine, then reboot and run the curl command again.

In your first output the headset-mode quirk was there, but it didn't change anything:

Code: Select all

!!Sysfs Files
!!-----------

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_pin_configs:
0x12 0x40000000
0x14 0x90170120
0x15 0x04214010
0x17 0x411111f0
0x18 0x04a14030
0x19 0xb7a7013f
0x1a 0x411111f0
0x1b 0x411111f0
0x1d 0x4044a205
0x1e 0x411111f0

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/driver_pin_configs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/user_pin_configs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_verbs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/hints:
When changed to dell-headset-multi, at least it made some changes:

Code: Select all

!!Sysfs Files
!!-----------

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_pin_configs:
0x12 0x40000000
0x14 0x90170120
0x15 0x04214010
0x17 0x411111f0
0x18 0x04a14030
0x19 0xb7a7013f
0x1a 0x411111f0
0x1b 0x411111f0
0x1d 0x4044a205
0x1e 0x411111f0

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/driver_pin_configs:
0x19 0x01a1913c
0x1a 0x01a1913d

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/user_pin_configs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/init_verbs:

/sys/class/sound/hwC0D0/hints:
So it might help to get a look at the default setup output to compare with both of the others, but I'm betting it'll be identical to the headset-mode quirk applied output. And the reason will probably be your codec is actually ALC269VC and not ALC269.
The output with no model=... line at all (Y-adapter with mic and headphones plugged in): https://termbin.com/8uik
MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 6:22 pm
Also, is Windows still on this machine?
Well, it is, but I never activated it (or launched the installer, for that matter): I installed an SSD and installed Linux there right from the get-go.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

Interesting. The sysfs stuff is the same, but the dmesg output shows something quite different:

Code: Select all

[    6.534309] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC269VC: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[    6.534313] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.534315] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x15/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.534317] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    6.534318] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[    6.534321] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Internal Mic=0x19
[    6.534322] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Mic=0x18
That's with no quirk applied, vs the headset-mode:

Code: Select all

[    6.552134] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC269VC: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[    6.552139] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.552141] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x15/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.552142] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    6.552143] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[    6.552146] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Internal Mic=0x19
[    6.552148] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Headset Mic=0x18
Is there one port or two on the side of that laptop? I had assumed one, but the system (from what the BIOS reported) seems to think there are 2.
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 6:38 pm
Interesting. The sysfs stuff is the same, but the dmesg output shows something quite different:

Code: Select all

[    6.534309] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC269VC: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[    6.534313] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.534315] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x15/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.534317] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    6.534318] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[    6.534321] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Internal Mic=0x19
[    6.534322] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Mic=0x18
That's with no quirk applied, vs the headset-mode:

Code: Select all

[    6.552134] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC269VC: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:speaker
[    6.552139] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.552141] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x15/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[    6.552142] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[    6.552143] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[    6.552146] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Internal Mic=0x19
[    6.552148] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Headset Mic=0x18
Is there one port or two on the side of that laptop? I had assumed one, but the system (from what the BIOS reported) seems to think there are 2.
There is a single port, and I even tried to verify that it is a 4-contact one. Although I admit, I cannot really see inside even with a flashlight, but it does indeed look that way.

PS: tried with Ubuntu 20.10, when I plug in the adapter, it only sees the headsets.
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

Yeah, I would expect a single port to be TRRS capable. So the BIOS is reporting a separate mic port that doesn't actually exist.

My next thought would be to try HDAJackRetask without the model=config and see if setting 0x18 from Mic to Headset Mic makes a difference that way, assuming you didn't already try that. Also, check the box for Advanced override after changing this and tell me what the 8 boxes have.
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 7:08 pm
Yeah, I would expect a single port to be TRRS capable. So the BIOS is reporting a separate mic port that doesn't actually exist.

My next thought would be to try HDAJackRetask without the model=config and see if setting 0x18 from Mic to Headset Mic makes a difference that way, assuming you didn't already try that. Also, check the box for Advanced override after changing this and tell me what the 8 boxes have.
I made screenshots of hdajackretask with unconnected pins off and on. Thing is, there is no option to set 0x18 to Headset Mic. There is an option "Microphone" and "Headphone", and the rest is various SPDIFs and Line Ins and such. Without advanced override, I have the options of "Microphone", "Internal mic" and "Dock microphone". What am I doing wrong here?
Attachments
2020-12-10-022234_836x1054_scrot.png
2020-12-10-022228_836x1054_scrot.png
2020-12-10-022039_811x744_scrot.png
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 18363
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by MrEen »

You're not doing anything wrong. The documentation for this app is almost non-existent, so I have to make guesses at what's going to be available. Using the model= parameters (now) obviously does stuff on another level that this app doesn't expose. But while we're looking at this, I would suggest looking 0x1a and 0x1b to see if they can be changed to Headset/Headphone Mic. I'm not expecting it'll be possible, but it's worth looking to see at least.

You can also look at the Parser Hints. The last 2 options are related to what we're looking for. Double clicking on them to change them from default to yes might make some difference here.
hvs
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2020 7:54 pm

Re: Realtek ALC269VC: cannot see headset microphone, internal mic is used instead.

Post by hvs »

MrEen wrote:
Wed Dec 09, 2020 8:28 pm
You're not doing anything wrong. The documentation for this app is almost non-existent, so I have to make guesses at what's going to be available. Using the model= parameters (now) obviously does stuff on another level that this app doesn't expose. But while we're looking at this, I would suggest looking 0x1a and 0x1b to see if they can be changed to Headset/Headphone Mic. I'm not expecting it'll be possible, but it's worth looking to see at least.

You can also look at the Parser Hints. The last 2 options are related to what we're looking for. Double clicking on them to change them from default to yes might make some difference here.
OK, I went through all the unconnected pins, and it looks like the range of options is the same for all of them, even though most default to some particular option (line in or spdif, for example). As for hints, I could enable the last one, and it made no difference; the penultimate one does not change upon application of changes, and there's is an error about busy device.
Post Reply

Return to “Sound”