No microphone input or line

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

Hi everyone,

My newlaptop for work doesn't get any mic signal, with built-in mic or headphone set mic :roll: . They both work fine on windows (dual-boot) :oops:

After cheking on Pavu control, everything seems ready to work. Only one port is available, the one selected.

Image

Image

Though, under ALSA no mic line seem to appear.

Image

Image

It's my second install on this laptop with the same issue. It's a real issue for visio-conference and work and I really don't want to return Windows...!!! :oops: :?
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

Hi F_bb, and welcome to the forum.

Let's get a look at your sound setup with this command:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
The last line of output will have a URL pointing to the info.
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

Thanks MrEen,

I get this URL : https://termbin.com/wwhbd

Not sure how to interpret the result !
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

Hmmm, that sound card isn't showing any input devices at all. And while that might be expected in a sense, it also isn't showing any of the sof driver stuff loaded that would explain that. Did you add something with either dmic_detect=0 or dsp_driver=1 to your kernel command line or anything like that?
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

I didn't change anything to kernel. I only installed pulse audio...
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

Okay, let's try forcing the sof driver and see if that helps:

Code: Select all

sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/sof-fix.conf <<<'options snd-intel-dspcfg dsp_driver=3'
Run that then reboot and test. If it fails, try this one and do the same:

Code: Select all

sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/sof-fix.conf <<<'options snd-intel-dspcfg dsp_driver=2'
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

Thank you.
MrEen wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 3:41 pm
Okay, let's try forcing the sof driver and see if that helps:

Code: Select all

sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/sof-fix.conf <<<'options snd-intel-dspcfg dsp_driver=3'
Run that then reboot and test. If it fails, try this one and do the same:

Code: Select all

sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/sof-fix.conf <<<'options snd-intel-dspcfg dsp_driver=2'
I tried both. I have no input or output.

No device is available in the control panel. I can't open Alsamixer it says "no file or folder of this kind has been found. "
MrEen wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 12:45 pm
Hmmm, that sound card isn't showing any input devices at all. And while that might be expected in a sense, it also isn't showing any of the sof driver stuff loaded that would explain that. Did you add something with either dmic_detect=0 or dsp_driver=1 to your kernel command line or anything like that?
Actually I did remember I got this help from another forum asking me to chage this line inside grub :
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi_osi=Linux"
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

Try this one now:

Code: Select all

sudo tee /etc/modprobe.d/sof-fix.conf <<<'options snd-intel-dspcfg dsp_driver=1'
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

Output is back to normal, I still don't get any input though. In Alsamixer no micro line appears. :?
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

Okay, remove that with this:

Code: Select all

sudo rm /etc/modprobe.d/sof-fix.conf
I'm almost certain you need the sof driver here, but don't know why it isn't loading.

If you run the Live ISO that you used to install with, does the input work there?
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

MrEen wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 5:18 pm
If you run the Live ISO that you used to install with, does the input work there?
Just to make sure I get that right. You suggest that I boot from my usb stick to check if the mic works then am I correct?
From what I can remember, I did try the sound output when I first booted on the ISO before the install, but not the mic.

I'll try that tomorrow, I don't have it with me right now.
Thanks a lot for your time :wink:
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

Yes, you got it correct.

Those Swift models have been a pain for a while for mic input. The sof audio driver generally cured that, but for some reason your system isn't recognizing it as needed, which it should do automatically. And when we forced it, it made things worse.

If the mic does work on the Live ISO, run the curl command there:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
I'm willing to bet it will show the sof driver in use. Short of a reinstall, I'm not sure what else we can do, but I'll try to come up with something.
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

Hi,
MrEen wrote:
Sun Feb 14, 2021 5:38 pm
If the mic does work on the Live ISO, run the curl command there:
Too bad... It does not work either from the ISO. The device shows up in control panel, exactly like on the installed OS, "output works fine, but no input... Neither on the built-in mic nor the headset one.

Does that mean there's no workaround?
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

F_bb wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 2:09 pm
Does that mean there's no workaround?
Hopefully not, but we're getting low on ideas here. Try a 5.8 kernel. Update Manager > View > Linux kernels. Reboot after installing the highest 5.8 kernel and see if that solves this.
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

Unfortunately with the highest 5.8 kernel, the system doesn't find the hardware device, no input or output. :? !!!
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

MrEen wrote:
Mon Feb 15, 2021 10:14 pm
Hopefully not, but we're getting low on ideas here. Try a 5.8 kernel. Update Manager > View > Linux kernels. Reboot after installing the highest 5.8 kernel and see if that solves this.
It didn't work (cf my previous post) :( :?

And I'm a bit disappointed about myself that i didn't pay attention to wich was the Kernel I was before the change. I'd like to go back to the original (from the first install) I was using before to get the output sound back. Any advice on how to know which one it was and pick get back to it correctly?
Maybe there's something else to try out before going back to the original?
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

In the Advanced option of the grub menu you can see all the kernels that are installed and boot to your choice. If I'm not mistaken, the oldest will be at the bottom of the list. Once booted to it, and confirming things work, you can then uninstall all the others that aren't working the same way you installed the 5.8 kernel.
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

MrEen wrote:
Tue Feb 16, 2021 7:52 pm
In the Advanced option of the grub menu you can see all the kernels that are installed and boot to your choice. If I'm not mistaken, the oldest will be at the bottom of the list. Once booted to it, and confirming things work, you can then uninstall all the others that aren't working the same way you installed the 5.8 kernel.
Great thank you very much for your time, sound is back through the speakers :wink: but still no microphone working... :cry: :shock:
Other ideas?
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
User avatar
MrEen
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 17600
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2017 8:39 pm

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by MrEen »

Sorry. New job is drastically reducing my time here.

Let's get a look at this again:

Code: Select all

curl https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/pulseaudio/pulseaudio/raw/master/src/utils/pa-info?inline=false | bash | nc termbin.com 9999
F_bb
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:05 am
Location: Toulouse

Re: No microphone input or line

Post by F_bb »

MrEen wrote:
Thu Feb 18, 2021 8:17 pm
Sorry. New job is drastically reducing my time here.
No pb! I'm already glad I get help from you.

Here you are : https://termbin.com/lstf
Thank you
♲ --------- ∞

LAPTOP Acer Swift 15 - 2019 : Acer Swift 15 | Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa | MATE 1.24.0 | 5.4.0-65-generic x86_64 | Intel Core i5-8250U | 8Go | Intel UHD Graphics 620
Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”