Issues with Alsa and music players Deadbeef & Audacious

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
hag6
Level 2
Level 2

Issues with Alsa and music players Deadbeef & Audacious

Post by hag6 »

Hi
I am relatively new to Linux so I would appreciate any help/advice with regards to getting the best audio from my rather old system. I want to be able to play PCM as flac and DSD (although that is probably a separate issue). My flac files are both red book 16/44.1 and higher res up to 24/192. I have a USB DAC (Ifi Zen Dac) which is recognised by the OS. The playback issues occur with both the on-board audio card and the external USB DAC. I can play all files using Audacious even .dff but only with Pulse. Changing to Alsa generates an error message: "ALSA error: snd_pcm_open failed: Device or resource busy".

With Deadbeef I can play flac with Pulse but not .dff. With Alsa It plays sometimes but often it just displays the file info and "Stopped". On other occasions it will play flac at the wrong pitch - 16/44.1 too fast and higher res eg 24/96 far too slow. My aim is to get Deadbeef to work perfectly with Alsa to obtain a bit-perfect playback system. Any help greatly appreciated.

Code: Select all

system:    Host: GA-MA790FXT-UD5P Kernel: 5.3.0-62-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.5.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.4.8 
           Distro: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:   Type: Desktop Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-MA790FXT-UD5P v: x.x serial: <filter> BIOS: Award v: F8n date: 01/07/2011 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Phenom II X4 955 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: K10 rev: 2 L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm bogomips: 25716 
           Speed: 3200 MHz min/max: 800/3200 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3200 2: 800 3: 800 4: 800