No sound card found after upgrade from LM 20 to 21

Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Locked
wanchai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:50 pm
Location: Canada

No sound card found after upgrade from LM 20 to 21

Post by wanchai »

Since I upgraded my desktop to Vanessa, I have no more sound. I still have an old LM 17 in another partition, and sound works fine there. So, the hardware isn't broken.

Here we go with some details:

Code: Select all

#aplay -l
aplay: device_list:274: no soundcards found...

Code: Select all

#amixer -c 0
Invalid card number '0'.
pulseaudio is not running and I cannot start it.

syslog is full of these:

Code: Select all

ALSA lib confmisc.c:855:(parse_card) cannot find card '0'
ALSA lib conf.c:5178:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_card_inum returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib confmisc.c:422:(snd_func_concat) error evaluating strings
ALSA lib conf.c:5178:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_concat returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib confmisc.c:1334:(snd_func_refer) error evaluating name
ALSA lib conf.c:5178:(_snd_config_evaluate) function snd_func_refer returned error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib conf.c:5701:(snd_config_expand) Evaluate error: No such file or directory
ALSA lib control.c:1528:(snd_ctl_open_noupdate) Invalid CTL default
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory

Code: Select all

#inxi -xxzASM
System:
  Kernel: 5.15.0-56-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 11.3.0
    Desktop: MATE 1.26.0 wm: marco dm: LightDM Distro: Linux Mint 21 Vanessa 
    base: Ubuntu 22.04 jammy
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP xw4600 Workstation v: N/A
    serial: <superuser required> Chassis: type: 6 serial: <superuser required>
  Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 0AA0h serial: <superuser required>
    BIOS: Hewlett-Packard v: 786F3 v01.17 date: 07/29/2009
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 82801I HD Audio vendor: Hewlett-Packard
    driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus-ID: 00:1b.0 chip-ID: 8086:293e
  Sound Server-1: ALSA v: k5.15.0-56-generic running: yes
  Sound Server-2: PulseAudio v: 15.99.1 running: no

Code: Select all

#dmesg | grep snd
[   19.487689] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: ALC262: SKU not ready 0x411111f0
[   19.488209] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for ALC262: line_outs=1 (0x15/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[   19.488214] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=1 (0x16/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   19.488218] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   19.488221] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[   19.488223] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[   19.488226] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Rear Mic=0x18
[   19.488229] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Front Mic=0x19
[   19.488232] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Line=0x1a
[   19.488234] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      CD=0x1c
[   19.488237] snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC0D0:      Aux=0x14

Code: Select all

#cat /proc/asound/modules 
 0 snd_hda_intel

Code: Select all

#cat /proc/asound/devices 
  1:        : sequencer
  2: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
  3: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
  4: [ 0- 2]: digital audio capture
  5: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
  6: [ 0]   : control
 33:        : timer
 

Code: Select all

#lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_realtek   159744  1
snd_hda_codec_generic   102400  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
ledtrig_audio          16384  1 snd_hda_codec_generic
snd_hda_intel          53248  0
snd_intel_dspcfg       28672  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_intel_sdw_acpi     20480  1 snd_intel_dspcfg
snd_hda_codec         163840  3 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core          110592  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm               143360  3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_seq_midi           20480  0
snd_seq_midi_event     16384  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_rawmidi            49152  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                77824  2 snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device         16384  3 snd_seq,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi
snd_timer              40960  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                   106496  10 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,snd_pcm,snd_rawmidi
soundcore              16384  1 snd

Code: Select all

#sudo lspci -v | grep -A10 -i "audio"
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
        Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 25
        Memory at f0200000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
I read somewhere that the realtek driver maybe flaky and it was suggested to blacklist it:

Code: Select all

#cat /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-realtek.conf
blacklist snd_hda_codec_realtek
This replaces snd_hda_codec_realtek with snd_hda_codec_generic:

Code: Select all

#dmesg | grep snd
[   20.403490] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0: autoconfig for Generic: line_outs=1 (0x15/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
[   20.403498] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:    speaker_outs=1 (0x16/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   20.403502] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
[   20.403505] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
[   20.403508] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:    inputs:
[   20.403511] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:      Rear Mic=0x18
[   20.403513] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:      Front Mic=0x19
[   20.403516] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:      Line=0x1a
[   20.403519] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:      CD=0x1c
[   20.403521] snd_hda_codec_generic hdaudioC0D0:      Aux=0x14
However, the end result is the same:

Code: Select all

#aplay -l
aplay: device_list:274: no soundcards found...
The inxi outout didn't change either.

Reinstalling alsa-base, pulseaudio, linux-sound-base, libasound2 and alsa-utils didn't help.

Does anybody know how to fix this?
Last edited by LockBot on Tue Jun 06, 2023 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
wanchai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:50 pm
Location: Canada

Re: No sound card found after upgrade from LM 20 to 21

Post by wanchai »

After torturing my favorite search engine a bit more, I made some progress. I found that the super user was able to see sound devices and play audio:

Code: Select all

#sudo aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: Generic Analog [Generic Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
After adding my user to the audio group, I was able to play audio files:

Code: Select all

sudo usermod --append --groups audio <username>
This is a bit weird because I also have a Lenovo laptop that I upgraded a few days ago, and it does not have any sound problems and its users are not part of the audio group. The permissions of the sound devices are the same on both machines:

Code: Select all

crw-rw----  1 root audio 116,  5 Dec  6 11:07 hwC0D0
crw-rw----  1 root audio 116,  3 Dec  6 11:07 pcmC0D0c
crw-rw----  1 root audio 116,  2 Dec  6 14:53 pcmC0D0p
crw-rw----  1 root audio 116,  4 Dec  6 11:07 pcmC0D2c
crw-rw----  1 root audio 116,  1 Dec  6 11:07 seq
crw-rw----  1 root audio 116, 33 Dec  6 11:07 timer
wanchai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:50 pm
Location: Canada

Re: No sound card found after upgrade from LM 20 to 21

Post by wanchai »

After adding myself to the audio group I can play audio files. However, only in mono. The Sound Preferences show a single output device as "HDA Intel Mono".

pulseaudio is not working either. When I start it with the verbose option, I can see that it shuts down after the line

Code: Select all

I: [pulseaudio] module-suspend-on-idle.c: Sink alsa_output.pci-0000_00_1b.0.analog-stereo idle for too long, suspending ...
Maybe pulseaudio is looking for a stereo device. So am I...

P.S. I removed the blacklist-realtek.conf file and switched back to the snd_hda_codec_realtek driver.
wanchai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:50 pm
Location: Canada

Re: No sound card found after upgrade from LM 20 to 21

Post by wanchai »

Even though the Sound Preferences show only a mono device and no left/right slider, the audio is actually stereo. When testing with https://www.audiocheck.net/audiotests_stereo.php it's very clear that I have two separate channels. I can even adjust the balance with amixer sset 'Line Out' 80%,20%.

However, the question why pulseaudio fails to start remains. As a consequence Firefox cannot play any audio. Chromium, on the other hand can. The output of pulseaudio -v is attached. Can anyone help with that one?
Attachments
pa.txt.zip
(3.36 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
wanchai
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:50 pm
Location: Canada

Re: No sound card found after upgrade from LM 20 to 21

Post by wanchai »

There were a few other things bothering me about this install, including the partitioning. Today, I finally reinstalled the OS from scratch. This solved my audio problems, now it's working just fine. No tricks needed.

In case a moderator reads this: Please delete this thread. There's nothing useful in here.
User avatar
SMG
Level 25
Level 25
Posts: 31990
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: No sound card found after upgrade from LM 20 to 21

Post by SMG »

wanchai wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 9:49 pm There were a few other things bothering me about this install, including the partitioning. Today, I finally reinstalled the OS from scratch. This solved my audio problems, now it's working just fine. No tricks needed.

In case a moderator reads this: Please delete this thread. There's nothing useful in here.
I think letting others know they may run into issue when updating in place instead of doing a fresh install is useful.

Additionally, the below explains for me why someone in another topic was having issue with sound only related to Firefox. I didn't realize the two browsers handled it differently.
wanchai wrote: Wed Dec 07, 2022 2:11 amHowever, the question why pulseaudio fails to start remains. As a consequence Firefox cannot play any audio. Chromium, on the other hand can.
However, if you want it removed, just click a ! button on one of your posts and write in the drop-down box you want it removed and a mod will remove it from view on the forum.
Image
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.3 Cinnamon.
Locked

Return to “Sound”