Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
bolle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:53 pm

Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by bolle »

Ive tried almost every tutorial out there including using gtkpod, ifsue, etc.

I cant figure out how to do this!
Please someone give me a tutorial or something! :(

bolle
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2009 8:53 pm

Re: Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by bolle »

Thanks for the links ikey, but none of them really pertatin to my generation of ipod touch.
It is 3.1.2, and the newest one..

Thanks anyways :D

User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College
Contact:

Re: Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by Kaye »

gtkpod and ifuse through Rhythmbox works perfectly for me with the latest iPhone software.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image

jamesthelibertine
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:09 pm
Location: Orkney

Re: Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by jamesthelibertine »

I use Rhythmbox with my ipod classic and it works a treat and i have a friend who also uses Rhythmbox with his iphone and it works fine as well.

wahaneebelly
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 11:18 pm

Re: Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by wahaneebelly »

I was very excited to see this thread. Daughter has Ipod touch. Been purching songs from i-tunes for almost a year. so obviously syncked ipod touch to computer. That computer crashed. got new lap top. When try to buy from i-tunes says not synced- try to sync and get message that says it is going to delete all songs already purchased so it can sync to new computer.

User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College
Contact:

Re: Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by Kaye »

Little bit of an update - in Mint 9 all that's needed for and iPhone or iTouch to sync with Rhythmbox is ifuse:

Code: Select all

apt install ifuse
Then just open Rhythmbox, plug in your device, and be happy.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image

kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by kwisher »

Just to clarify, what all is possible with these new features in Lucid/Isadora for the iPod/iTouch/iPhone? I am not an Apple supporter but know quite a few people who are. Can you manage the apps for these devices or just music & media files? Can someone depend exclusively on Linux if they have a Apple device as previously mentioned?

TIA
The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)

User avatar
Kaye
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 933
Joined: Fri Feb 06, 2009 5:05 pm
Location: Boston College
Contact:

Re: Ipod touch 3g syncing?

Post by Kaye »

kwisher wrote:Just to clarify, what all is possible with these new features in Lucid/Isadora for the iPod/iTouch/iPhone? I am not an Apple supporter but know quite a few people who are. Can you manage the apps for these devices or just music & media files? Can someone depend exclusively on Linux if they have a Apple device as previously mentioned?

TIA
A good question. It's only music and media.. which is to be expected because apps are 100% tied in with the iTunes app store. I doubt if app syncing will ever make its way into Linux without a virtual machine.
"In somnis veritas"
Antivirus or defragging?
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”