ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
drmalphas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:15 pm

ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by drmalphas » Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:15 am

I'm trying to run the ffmpeg application, but it is not found anywhere on the main menu. I have removed it and re-installed it multiple times. What can I do? It says that it is installed and that it is the latest version, but I can't seem to be able to run the program.

User avatar
Sleven
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 397
Joined: Sun Oct 03, 2010 9:03 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by Sleven » Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:28 am

ffmpeg is a command line function, not sure if it has any kind of gui
The documentation on how to use it can be found here:

http://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg-doc.html#SEC1

Since you have installed it, running this from a terminal might help

Code: Select all

man ffmpeg
Hope that helps
LMDE 64 running Cinnamon on an HP Compaq Core2 Duo 4G Ram

drmalphas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:15 pm

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by drmalphas » Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:30 am

Thanks for the help, but typing "man ffmpeg" in the terminal still doesn't seem to help. It gives me the manual, but no information as to how to run the application.


unexistance
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:28 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by unexistance » Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:00 pm

Hi,

A simple sort-of GUI for ffmpeg is something like WinFF, there are others

Regards,
:: Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved ::

drmalphas
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 8:15 pm

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by drmalphas » Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:19 am

WinFF sounds like it would be much easier use than ffmpeg, which seems to be terminal-only. I installed WinFF but when I click to launch the program, I get no response at all. To use WinFF, do I need ffmpeg as well?

unexistance
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 638
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 12:28 am
Location: Malaysia

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by unexistance » Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:02 pm

Hi,

Yes it needs ffmpeg ... you can try to start it from terminal to see why it's not loaded when you click to open it

Regards,
:: Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved ::

bitshifter
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:13 am

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by bitshifter » Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:31 pm

I too am unable to get winff to run. When I run it from the command prompt here is the message I receive:


Runtime error 203 at $00000000004A7C96
$00000000004A7C96
$0000000000491F01

It looks like something is broken...

ur_sunny
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:54 pm

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by ur_sunny » Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:51 am

here is a short tutorial for installing and using ffmpeg:
http://myit-solutions.blogspot.com/2011 ... fmpeg.html

swwets
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 6:46 am

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Post by swwets » Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:01 am

Thanks for the quick response. I initially set the size limits in "admin -> transcoding." Then they tried to remove them (size limits set larger than the movies that you download), but the result is the same.

Post Reply

Return to “Sound, Multimedia, & Codecs”