Page 1 of 1

ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:15 am
by drmalphas
I'm trying to run the ffmpeg application, but it is not found anywhere on the main menu. I have removed it and re-installed it multiple times. What can I do? It says that it is installed and that it is the latest version, but I can't seem to be able to run the program.

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 4:28 am
by Sleven
ffmpeg is a command line function, not sure if it has any kind of gui
The documentation on how to use it can be found here:

http://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg-doc.html#SEC1

Since you have installed it, running this from a terminal might help

Code: Select all

man ffmpeg
Hope that helps

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:30 am
by drmalphas
Thanks for the help, but typing "man ffmpeg" in the terminal still doesn't seem to help. It gives me the manual, but no information as to how to run the application.

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 5:45 am
by Elisa

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:00 pm
by unexistance
Hi,

A simple sort-of GUI for ffmpeg is something like WinFF, there are others

Regards,

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:19 am
by drmalphas
WinFF sounds like it would be much easier use than ffmpeg, which seems to be terminal-only. I installed WinFF but when I click to launch the program, I get no response at all. To use WinFF, do I need ffmpeg as well?

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:02 pm
by unexistance
Hi,

Yes it needs ffmpeg ... you can try to start it from terminal to see why it's not loaded when you click to open it

Regards,

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2011 4:31 pm
by bitshifter
I too am unable to get winff to run. When I run it from the command prompt here is the message I receive:


Runtime error 203 at $00000000004A7C96
$00000000004A7C96
$0000000000491F01

It looks like something is broken...

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 1:51 am
by ur_sunny
here is a short tutorial for installing and using ffmpeg:
http://myit-solutions.blogspot.com/2011 ... fmpeg.html

Re: ffmpeg application is missing in main menu

Posted: Mon Feb 14, 2011 7:01 am
by swwets
Thanks for the quick response. I initially set the size limits in "admin -> transcoding." Then they tried to remove them (size limits set larger than the movies that you download), but the result is the same.