What is wrong and how do i do it!

Questions about codecs, DVD playback, web plugins...
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
llj
Level 1
Level 1

What is wrong and how do i do it!

Post by llj »

As any noob would open up,
I'm new to Linux and I love it. My goal with OS beside learn more about it is to use it as my #1 operating system with a custom build pc. I have researching allot and learned a little. :?

As I learn and before I go full bore on my custom pc i decided to practice on an older machine. I know that most newer desktop are a little more friendly to the Linux system and older one require a little more work to get them the way you want but none the less a learning experiance.

My experimental rat for a machine is the infamous Dell dimension 2400. I finally installed a Asus usb-n13 addapter that was supposably compatible, but some research and newer drivers i finnaly got it going and it's working like a charm. Now....if you ask me how...well thats the bad part, I can't remember. But would gladly re-research it.

Now my next issue and still working on it is that any video I view via youtube are very choppy when using the full screen. In normal screen it seems tolerable. So the "what is wrong" part of my post is "What is wrong"? I have used four of the top browsers and they are all the same. I updated to the latest kernel (2.6.38.1) I updated flash plugins. I have also research and downloaded a possible updated graphic driver. So what did I miss and where do I go from here?

Now the how do I do it part....As I said I downloaded a driver that may be the problem but I do not know how to install it. Like I said I compleatly for got how i diid the wireless driver, if it even the same way to do. So please Help!! :shock:

proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11

Re: What is wrong and how do i do it!

Post by proxima_centauri »

* Moved to Multimedia & Codecs subforum from Tutorials/Howtos

llj
Level 1
Level 1

Post by llj »