Dual Monitor Help Please

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Thornton_KenB
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: CO, USA

Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by Thornton_KenB »

Hey Folks,
I have an older ASRock system that I switched to Mint... "wow" over a year ago. About 9 months ago I've been trying to attached 2 monitor to the system. After reading the manual closely, I now know that I may need to install a driver... I have the ASRock Utility CD, but it is in the format of "OS name that shall not be spoken".

My issue that I ask for your collective wisdom in helping me resolve:
Where can I get the drivers to activate the dual monitor use for my system?
Or.... is there something I already have access to and just unaware?

I have the monitors currently connected to the computer but when I use the display port or HDMI as my 2nd monitor interface all I get is darkness. I have a 1st monitor using the DVI I/O.

Below are system details

Code: Select all

System:
  Kernel: 5.4.0-72-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0 
  Desktop: Cinnamon 4.8.6 wm: muffin 4.8.1 dm: LightDM 1.30.0 
  Distro: Linux Mint 20.1 Ulyssa base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ASRock model: Z68 Extreme7 Gen3 serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: American Megatrends v: P1.30 date: 09/21/2011 
Battery:
  Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech K350 serial: <filter> 
  charge: 70% (should be ignored) rechargeable: yes status: Discharging 
  Device-2: hidpp_battery_1 model: Logitech Wireless Mouse M510 
  serial: <filter> charge: 55% (should be ignored) rechargeable: yes 
  status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-2500K bits: 64 type: MCP 
  arch: Sandy Bridge rev: 7 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
  flags: avx lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 26339 
  Speed: 1597 MHz min/max: 1600/6000 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1596 2: 1596 
  3: 1596 4: 1596 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics 
  vendor: ASRock driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:0112 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.9 driver: modesetting unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
  resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 3000 (SNB GT2) 
  v: 3.3 Mesa 20.2.6 compat-v: 3.0 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Family High Definition Audio 
  vendor: ASRock driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  chip ID: 8086:1c20 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.4.0-72-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Broadcom and subsidiaries NetLink BCM57781 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe 
  vendor: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 driver: tg3 v: 3.137 port: e000 
  bus ID: 0a:00.0 chip ID: 14e4:16b1 
  IF: enp10s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Broadcom and subsidiaries NetLink BCM57781 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe 
  vendor: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 driver: tg3 v: 3.137 port: d000 
  bus ID: 0c:00.0 chip ID: 14e4:16b1 
  IF: enp12s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.36 TiB used: 356.15 GiB (25.5%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: PNY model: CS900 500GB SSD size: 465.76 GiB 
  speed: 3.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> rev: 0E13 scheme: MBR 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Seagate model: ST500DM002-1BD142 size: 465.76 GiB 
  speed: 3.0 Gb/s rotation: 7200 rpm serial: <filter> rev: KC45 
  ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Seagate model: ST500DM002-1BD142 size: 465.76 GiB 
  speed: 3.0 Gb/s rotation: 7200 rpm serial: <filter> rev: KC45 
RAID:
  Hardware-1: Intel SATA Controller [RAID mode] driver: ahci v: 3.0 
  port: f060 bus ID: 00:1f.2 chip ID: 8086.2822 rev: 05 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 456.46 GiB used: 44.46 GiB (9.7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 34.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Repos:
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
  1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/jtaylor-keepass-focal.list 
  1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/jtaylor/keepass/ubuntu focal main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
  1: deb http://mirrors.evowise.com/linuxmint/packages ulyssa main upstream import backport
  2: deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu focal main restricted universe multiverse
  3: deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu focal-updates main restricted universe multiverse
  4: deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu focal-backports main restricted universe multiverse
  5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ focal-security main restricted universe multiverse
  6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ focal partner
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/spotify.list 
  1: deb http://repository.spotify.com stable non-free
Info:
  Processes: 246 Uptime: 1h 19m Memory: 15.37 GiB used: 1.51 GiB (9.8%) 
  Init: systemd v: 245 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 9.3.0 alt: 9 Shell: bash 
  v: 5.0.17 running in: gnome-terminal inxi: 3.0.38 
Thank you in advance for your inputs.
User avatar
SMG
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5551
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by SMG »

Thornton_KenB wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 7:46 pm
Where can I get the drivers to activate the dual monitor use for my system?
Your computer has Intel graphics. Those drivers are in the kernel and load automatically. There are not special drivers for dual monitors.
Thornton_KenB wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 7:46 pm
I have the monitors currently connected to the computer but when I use the display port or HDMI as my 2nd monitor interface all I get is darkness. I have a 1st monitor using the DVI I/O.
Are you seeing the boot screen on both monitors and the display disappears when you log in or is the second monitor always dark?
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by absque fenestris »

BIOS vers. 2.30 2012/6/27
1. Add Dehumidifier Function.
2. Modify for Windows8 shut down behavior.
3. Update CPU code.
4. Improve discrete VGA card vBIOS compatibility.
https://www.asrock.com/MB/Intel/Z68%20E ... x.asp#BIOS

Graphics Output Options : D-Sub, DVI-D, HDMI, DisplayPort
Maybe a BIOS upgrade would help - and a try with the D-Sub VGA connection.
In addition, there would definitely be space for a separate graphics card ... doesn't have to be expensive.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (MATE) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook
Linux Mint 20.0 Ulyana (Cinnamon) - Huawei MateBook X Pro
Thornton_KenB
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: CO, USA

Re: Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by Thornton_KenB »

[/quote]
SMG wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 9:16 pm
Thornton_KenB wrote:
Fri May 07, 2021 7:46 pm
I have the monitors currently connected to the computer but when I use the display port or HDMI as my 2nd monitor interface all I get is darkness. I have a 1st monitor using the DVI I/O.
Are you seeing the boot screen on both monitors and the display disappears when you log in or is the second monitor always dark?
The second monitor is always dark has never activated.
absque fenestris wrote:
Sat May 08, 2021 3:38 am
BIOS vers. 2.30 2012/6/27
1. Add Dehumidifier Function.
2. Modify for Windows8 shut down behavior.
3. Update CPU code.
4. Improve discrete VGA card vBIOS compatibility.
https://www.asrock.com/MB/Intel/Z68%20E ... x.asp#BIOS

Graphics Output Options : D-Sub, DVI-D, HDMI, DisplayPort
Maybe a BIOS upgrade would help - and a try with the D-Sub VGA connection.
In addition, there would definitely be space for a separate graphics card ... doesn't have to be expensive.
Will give the BIOS upgrade a shot. You're right there is plenty of space on the board for a video card. Re: the VGA connection. What drove this attempt for the dual monitor is the insertion of a KVM switch into my environment. That said, the connector needs an HDMI connector on the KVM side; i.e. VGA to HDMI gender changer or cable.
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by absque fenestris »

When a KVM switch is involved, things get complicated.

Try the 2-monitor operation directly without the KVM switch - this is the only way to find out where the error is.
If both monitors are working in direct connection, at least you know where to troubleshoot.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (MATE) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook
Linux Mint 20.0 Ulyana (Cinnamon) - Huawei MateBook X Pro
User avatar
SMG
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5551
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:15 pm
Location: USA

Re: Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by SMG »

Thornton_KenB wrote:
Sat May 08, 2021 9:21 am
The second monitor is always dark has never activated.
That indicates an issue with the hardware setup. The BIOS/UEFI splash and boot screen are handled by the firmware's graphics and not by the operating system (Mint).

As absque fenestris has already indicated, it's possible the KVM is the issue. Not all KVM's which work with Windows also work on Linux. It's also possible the cable you are using is the issue.
A woman typing on a laptop with LM20.1 Cinnamon.
Thornton_KenB
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: CO, USA

Re: Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by Thornton_KenB »

Thank you hive collective. I attempted the by-pass the KVM switch idea, before I must not have made a great connection. Today it worked. I ordered a VGA to HDMI cable today ... AMZN says it will be here Monday. More to come. Today's learning..... When the package says HDMI to VGA believe it. it won't work VGA to HDMI. VGA to HDMI is a rare bird and cost a bit more, but there really is such an animal.
Thornton_KenB
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: CO, USA

Re: Dual Monitor Help Please

Post by Thornton_KenB »

absque fenestris wrote:
Sat May 08, 2021 3:38 am

Maybe a BIOS upgrade would help - and a try with the D-Sub VGA connection.
In addition, there would definitely be space for a separate graphics card ... doesn't have to be expensive.
Thanks for the insight. As you suggested the KVM may be an issue. I've tried the VGA - HDMI cable into the KVM doesn't work, and directly in to the monitor, which yielded success. Looks like I may either cause expense creep or a separate card is going to be the real answer. Will visit the site of the KVM manufacturer and decide.
Post Reply