Connecting computer to television

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Connecting computer to television

Post by nomko » Sat May 12, 2012 7:03 am

Hi,

Can i expect any issues when connecting my computer to my television? Do i have to re-configure settings? If any more info is required, please let me know. Brand/model of videocard is in my signature.

I have DVI/VGA on my videocard and 3 HDMI ports on my tv.

Many thanks!

User avatar
proxima_centauri
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3961
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2007 3:24 pm
Location: NB, Canada

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by proxima_centauri » Sat May 12, 2012 9:46 am

Should be able to use the NVIDIA settings manager to tweak the display settings for multiple monitors. Depending on the TV, some can be finicky about specific resolutions. Give it a try!

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1079
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by 900i » Sat May 12, 2012 11:55 am

Is it just me, but don't you have a port incompatibility issue there !
Core i7 Linux Mint 19.2/Windows 10

User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by nomko » Sat May 12, 2012 2:49 pm

900i wrote:Is it just me, but don't you have a port incompatibility issue there !
Like i didn't know that! And it would be more helpfull if you could provide a sort of solution instead of just posting something.

User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by nomko » Sat May 12, 2012 2:50 pm

proxima_centauri wrote:Should be able to use the NVIDIA settings manager to tweak the display settings for multiple monitors. Depending on the TV, some can be finicky about specific resolutions. Give it a try!
Everything can be configured using the Nvidia settings manager? I'll try that.

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1079
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by 900i » Sat May 12, 2012 3:18 pm

nomko wrote:
I have DVI/VGA on my videocard and 3 HDMI ports on my tv
You started it.
Core i7 Linux Mint 19.2/Windows 10

User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by nomko » Sun May 13, 2012 5:36 am

900i wrote:You started it.
Have i asked for your useless reaction??? If you have anything usefull to say, than don't react!

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1079
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by 900i » Sun May 13, 2012 5:41 am

nomko wrote:
900i wrote:You started it.
Have i asked for your useless reaction??? If you have anything usefull to say, than don't react!
And a good morning to you too.
Core i7 Linux Mint 19.2/Windows 10

User avatar
OldManHook
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 501
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:57 am
Location: SomeWhere In The US of A

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by OldManHook » Sun May 13, 2012 3:30 pm

nomko wrote:Hi,

Can i expect any issues when connecting my computer to my television? Do i have to re-configure settings? If any more info is required, please let me know. Brand/model of videocard is in my signature.

I have DVI/VGA on my videocard and 3 HDMI ports on my tv.

Many thanks!

Does your TV have a VGA port? You will need HDMI port on your V.. Card to use same on TV :) ,There might be a DVI to HDMI cable but most of these are a problem :? To Use
"Be the change you want to see in the world"
Gandhi

User avatar
HogNation
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 11:02 am
Location: United States

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by HogNation » Sun May 13, 2012 5:27 pm

I hook my Dell Laptop running Linux Mint to my television all the time. Basically all I do is use a HDMI cable and then change the audio settings to HDMI in the audo hardware prefernces, and all works good. Sometimes the screen resolution acts odd but that's all.
"Keep Calm & Call On"
Linux Number: 551803

User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by nomko » Wed May 16, 2012 2:35 am

Does your TV have a VGA port?
I have to check that agian. I had a quick look at the back of my LCD tv but can't remember any VGA ports. I checked for DVI/HDMI.
You will need HDMI port on your V.. Card to use same on TV :)
I do have no HMDI on my videocard, just VGA/DVI. Any good Nvidia card available with HDMI and which is 1001% compatible with Linux???
There might be a DVI to HDMI cable but most of these are a problem
That's my worries too. I know working with adapters could be disastrous.

User avatar
nomko
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3025
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by nomko » Fri May 18, 2012 9:37 am


User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1079
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by 900i » Fri May 18, 2012 9:53 am

Yes you have. Finally we have a solution to your no-existant problem. Case closed, problem solved.
Core i7 Linux Mint 19.2/Windows 10

User avatar
Oscar799
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9985
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:21 am
Location: United Kingdom

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by Oscar799 » Fri May 18, 2012 10:47 am

Best this doesn't descend into a shouting match
Image

User avatar
900i
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1079
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2006 9:30 am
Location: Wakefield, UK

Re: Connecting computer to television

Post by 900i » Fri May 18, 2012 11:22 am

Oscar799, It was never going to do that. Rest assured.
Core i7 Linux Mint 19.2/Windows 10

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”