Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by tuxwx » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:41 pm

Hello all,

I just downloaded Linux Mint 13 today, and I'm having this strange Cinnamon issue that goes on every once in a while. Sometimes when I web browse (using either Firefox or Chromium) Cinnamon randomly freezes and I cannot control either my mouse or type in any input via my keyboard. After going through IRC, Google tips, and the /var/log/syslog file I discovered this message:

segfault at 10000000 ip 004f03c6 sp bffe9710 error 4 in libglib-2.0.so.0.3200.1 (deleted)[48f000+f7000]
Nov 4 10:55:16 Akane gnome-session[1301]: WARNING: Application ‘cinnamon.desktop’ killed by signal

This appears to be a crash due to the way Cinnamon is talking to something else (either the kernel or otherwise). I mean Cinnamon works great 98% percent of the time with no lagging or other issues. It's just annoying that Cinnamon will randomly freeze out of the blue. Any help or patch would be great to fix this.

Thanks again :)

mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by mank_in » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:49 pm

You can try upgrade to cinnamon 1.6
Cinnamon 1.4U3 (shipped with LM13 ) always freeze in my PC ( i change Mainboard 3 time and even try add discrete Graphic card too )
Instruction in : http://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=2177

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11510
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by karlchen » Sun Nov 04, 2012 7:56 pm

Hello, tuxwx.

After you had installed Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon desktop have you made sure that this fresh installation (state May 2012) downloaded and installed all available official updates, including Cinnamon 1.4 UP3 and the latest kernel 3.2.0-32?
In order to achieve this you will have to (temporarily) allow the Mint Updater to display, download and install software packages which are considered to belong in the risk categories 4 and 5.
Alternatively you switch to Synaptic. You go to Settings => Package Sources => tab "Linux Mint Software" and make sure that the option main, upstream, import and backport are ticked. Do not tick romeo - you want stable software I assume.
Go to Edit => Reload Package Information.
Once the list has been updated select all available updates for installation and click [Apply].

Provided updating makes the intermittent hangs of the Cinnamon desktop go away, fine, problem solved.

On one machine here I had to add "acpi_osi=Linux" to the kernel options used by the Grub bootloader when it launches the Linux kernel. This made the intermittent hangs go away completely. (This was on a Dell Latidue E6400 which has got an internal Intel mobility graphics card.)

HTH,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)

tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by tuxwx » Sun Nov 04, 2012 8:17 pm

karlchen,

thanks bunches :) The backport option wasn't ticked. This sounds like the solution I need.

mank_in
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1390
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:29 pm
Location: Bali

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by mank_in » Mon Nov 05, 2012 8:16 am

Backport repository for LM13 contain no package.
You can see : http://packages.linuxmint.com/list.php? ... a#backport

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11510
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by karlchen » Mon Nov 05, 2012 5:13 pm

Hello, mank_in.

You are right. As long as Mint13 is the current latest Mint release, the backport option in Synaptic will not have any effect, because there is no newer Mint release from which bugfixes and new features could be backported to Mint 13.
I just mentioned the options which I check in order to make clear that romeos and source codes should not be checked, in particular romeos should not be checked.

Whether updating Cinnamon 1.4 to Cinnamon 1.4 UP3 will improve the situation or whether ugrading to Cinnamon 1.6 is more likely to do so may depend on the graphics hardware. For my internal Intel graphics card Cinnamon 1.4 UP3 seems to be good enough. As your system, mank_in has got two graphics cards, it is imaginable that only Cinnamon 1.6 handles such a configuration adequately.

Kind regards,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)

User avatar
karlchen
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11510
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by karlchen » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:47 pm

Hello, tuxwx.

Could it be that you have been hit by the same problem as user matva? => cinnamon won't start (amd driver issue) (solved).
He reported the problem first and the solution which he found soon afterwards.

HTH,
Karl
Image
Linux Mint 19.2 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.22a 64-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)

tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by tuxwx » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:58 pm

Yeah the updater option tick didn't do anything so I updated to 1.6. I hope it works :) Cinnamon 1.6 appears to be a little more polished anyway.

tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by tuxwx » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:30 pm

Nope it still freezes every once in a while (only while browsing sometimes and if I'm on youtube listening to music, the audio goes into a weird looping behavior). This is even the case on Cinnamon 1.6. I can boot into my desktop fine, unlike the other bug described above, and graphics performance is smooth all the time until the random freezes. What a disheartening bug since Linux Mint Cinnamon behaves brilliantly most of the time. I have no idea on how to modify drivers so any help would be appreciated! Once this bug is fixed, then everything should be fine.

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by zerozero » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:42 am

tuxwx,
can you provide us the output of

Code: Select all

inxi -F
this way we have an idea of the hardware involved and will help others spot something that might be wrong.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by tuxwx » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:17 pm

Wow didn't know that printed my system info via the CLI :) Here's the specs:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: Akane Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine:   System: System76 (portable) product: Pangolin Performance version: panp9
           Mobo: System76 model: Pangolin Performance version: panp9
           Bios: American Megatrends version: 4.6.5 date: 06/25/2012
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-3210M CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 2501.00 MHz 2: 2300.00 MHz 3: 2501.00 MHz 4: 2400.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Ivy Bridge Graphics Controller 
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Audio:     Card: Intel Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169 
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 00:90:f5:db:13:07
           Card-2: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1030 driver: iwlwifi 
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 58:91:cf:54:3c:c4
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (2.5% used) 1: /dev/sda ST9500424AS 500.1GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 462G used: 12G (3%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.18GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 60.0C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 154 Uptime: 9 min Memory: 366.9/3438.5MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33 
Though this weird bug appears to have stopped happening after I switched to Cinnamon 2D, so I'm thinking it's a 3D graphics issue. I know that Gnome 3 hasn't been too hot and I know the devs probably pulled out *all the stops* to get something as good as Cinnamon out of it. Strange things just happen.

Have a nice day :)

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by zerozero » Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:38 pm

tuxwx,
this way is easier to help :)
unfortunately i believe that you are affected by the ivy bridge bug; just a couple days ago Vincent here >> http://forum.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.ph ... 20#p644991 was giving some advices in another topic regarding the same subject.
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Random Cinnamon 1.4 Freeze

Post by tuxwx » Tue Nov 06, 2012 10:15 pm

kk thanks, I'll be sure to post the specs from this point forward! I'll try Cinnamon 3D again after I updgrade to the 3.5 kernel like it is suggested in the forum. I think this is the first issue ever I think that the kernel wigged with any of my hardware if that's the case (Ivy Bridge I believe is fairly recent technology?). Thanks again and this thread has really helped me with this issue ^-^

tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Post by tuxwx » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:51 am

Hello everyone,

I'm currently using a System76 Pangolin performance with an Ivy Bridge GPU. And apparently the kernel that ships with Linux Mint 13 doesn't like Ivy Bridge and every once and a while I get a kernel segfault and my PC crashes. The only way I can avoid this is to use Cinnamon 2D (I'm using MATE right now, still the same problem) because it forces the graphics rendering 100% to the CPU. I already posted a thread about this, thinking it was just a Cinnamon thing, but apparently this affects not only Linux Mint, but also Ubuntu because the Ubuntu Quantal distro I had shipped with this PC also exhibited similar freezes. I even tried upgrading to the 3.5 kernel per other forum suggestions, and still no luck. What is, if there is any, fixes to this pretty horrible bug? Because I can't have my PC crashing every few days because it lacks a kernel patch for Ivy Bridge GPUs. My Laptop specs are below:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: akane Kernel: 3.2.0-23-generic i686 (32 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Linux Mint 13 Maya
Machine:   System: System76 (portable) product: Pangolin Performance version: panp9
           Mobo: System76 model: Pangolin Performance version: panp9
           Bios: American Megatrends version: 4.6.5 date: 06/25/2012
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-3210M CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1200.00 MHz 2: 1200.00 MHz 3: 1200.00 MHz 4: 1200.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Ivy Bridge Graphics Controller 
           X.Org: 1.11.3 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
Audio:     Card: Intel Panther Point High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169 
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 00:90:f5:db:13:07
           Card-2: Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1030 driver: iwlwifi 
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 58:91:cf:54:3c:c4
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (2.3% used) 1: /dev/sda ST9500424AS 500.1GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 462G used: 11G (3%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.18GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 52.0C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 151 Uptime: 24 min Memory: 319.6/3438.5MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.33 


Thanks again for your time

User avatar
everready
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 133
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2012 6:37 am
Location: In His Service

Re: Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Post by everready » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:07 am

My first thought was possibly dust and or dirt in the cabinet when i see a PC crashing not the kernel not the Distro then i saw Ivy Bridge and did some snooping around, it appears that its had some issues, have you tried pursuing
that train of thought?

Thanks..
everready

User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1859
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: FR

Re: Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Post by eanfrid » Tue Nov 13, 2012 4:18 am

The 3.2 kernel is too old for Ivy Bridge graphics. You really need a newer kernel to use this chipset efficiently. Apart from that, the cause of your problems may be some hardware failure or loss of the tuning/tweaking made by the manufacturer when you switched from Ubuntu PP to LM13.

http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=a ... yout&num=1
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie 64bit - MATE
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
Safer than Dropbox

tuxwx
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:36 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Post by tuxwx » Tue Nov 13, 2012 10:19 am

What's weird is that this problem also occurred on the stock Ubuntu 12.10 that was orginally preloaded on my laptop as well since it also used the 3.2 kernel. I mean other than these crashes I have no other performance issues. Seriously why would you ship a PC with an outdated kernel for your hardware? O_o What suggestions do you have on upgrading to the latest stable kernel for my PC?

Thanks again for the help :)

User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1859
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: FR

Re: Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Post by eanfrid » Tue Nov 13, 2012 10:53 am

At the time when you bought your PC, there was no better kernel than 3.2. 12.04 (Precise Pangolin) runs it and so does LM13. The brand new 12.10 runs 3.5 and so will LM14...

First I would suggest you to update the revision of your kernel: 3.2.0-23 is many months old. There have been a lot of bugs and security fixes since. The current one is 3.2.0-32 or 3.2.0-33 (based on the vanilla 3.2.32 or 3.2.33). Open your favorite package manager and install the newest 3.2.x kernel image/headers.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Jessie 64bit - MATE
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
Safer than Dropbox

zerozero
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6506
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 2:29 pm

Re: Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Post by zerozero » Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:09 pm

[topics merged, same subject, same OP]
Image

[ bliss of ignorance ]

homerscousin
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 2:43 pm
Location: Somewhere on planet Earth (mostly)

Re: Linux Mint 13 Ivy Bridge Problem

Post by homerscousin » Wed Nov 14, 2012 6:29 pm

For whatever this is worth: I built a new IB system a few months ago. I was running , at the time, another distro, UE 3.4, based on Ubuntu, same as Mint. I experienced the random hard freezes, 5 or more per day. I read the launchpad bug reports, tried to do a kernel upgrade, but was confronted with another bug related to the ( crap, can't remember the name of the chip ) motherboard lan chip. I happened to visit Distrowatch and saw that Mint 13 KDE was released that day. Downloaded and clean installed. It works perfectly on IB even though it is the same kernel- 3.2.0-29 generic 64 bit. If you feel frustrated, give KDE a try. I love it. Effects like Compiz, very stable memory use, options I haven't even discovered yet. My terminal now has a transparent window , I'm working on animated wallpapers, I can have any app open to a particular size and location on my screen if I want, etc. Lots of variables and very stable. I think people tend to overlook KDE because they think it is bloated, but from my experience it does at least a bit better at mem use than Cinnamon.

Try it, you just might flippin like it.

I'm using the onchip HD4000 Intel graphics, by the way.
i5 3570k, ASRock z77 Extreme 4, 8 Gb Ripjaws 1600, Antec 430w psu, HVR 1600 tv tuner, custom case- marble top, oak face. Carver & DCM Time Window sound system. Mint 14 KDE.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”