How to use FN keys as keyboard shortcuts

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
user108

How to use FN keys as keyboard shortcuts

Post by user108 »

Hello

I installed Mint 15 Cinnamon on an Acer Aspire V5-431P laptop. I would like to use the hardware buttons to change the screen brightness. I opened the Keyboard Shortcuts but I could not add FN + Brightness Up / Down button as when I pressed the combo to register it as a keyboard binding nothing happened. I found that the the Volume Down keyboard shortcut was pre-configured to keyboard binding "XF86AudioLowerVolume".

So how do I set the brightness up/down hardware buttons (which are the FN + left/right arrow buttons) to raise/lower the screen brightness.

I am a Linux noob.

Thanks and all the best
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
stratus_ss

Re: How to use FN keys as keyboard shortcuts

Post by stratus_ss »

This is generally set in the bios of the computer. If these buttons do not work and the bios is set correctly, then there may be other problems in the system.

On certain systems, the "media keys" (fn + some key) do not work properly due to the manufacturers settings. Sometimes you can add stuff to make it work to the bootloader (I used to have to do this with Asus laptops), and sometimes you cant. Your best bet (unless you are lucky enough to have someone with a similar laptop) is to google for the issue but instead of using "Linux Mint" put "Ubuntu" as the fix will be almost identical (if not identical)
user108

Post by user108 »

Hello