Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
munim
Level 1
Level 1

Sluggish UI/video performance on NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GS

Post by munim »

I am a newbie in Linux and installed Linux Mint in my really old laptop Dell Vostro 1500. Everything seems to be working fine except the graphics driver. Initially, I didn't understand that Linux is using the default driver as all colours were looking good however the UI looks very slow and sluggish and very hight CPU usage . Moving window or any new popup comes up so late.

System configuration:
Intel Centrino 1.7GHz dual-core
3 GB RAM
320 GB HDD
NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GS
Linux Mint 16 (Cinnamon)

Firstly I tried to install with the latest Ubuntu provided NVIDIA driver, but it didn't work and caused x-server to crash. I used

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install nvidia-latest
Also tried installing the recommended driver from Device Manager, that didn't work either. I ended up with 640x480 resolution.

After lots of Googling, I came up with unofficial NVIDIA drivers from x-swat which seems to fix my resolution and a loaded NVIDIA driver. I used the command below

sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-x-swat/x-updates
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
sudo apt-get install nvidia-current
sudo nvidia-xconfig
I have also checked if NVIDIA is loaded using

lsmod | egrep "nvidia"
which resulted
nvidia 10304704 44
I have also checked the driver version from NVIDIA X Server Settings from start menu which resulted 304.117

I have also black-listed the following in

/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

blacklist intel_agp
blacklist nouveau
blacklist lbm-nouveau
I have also tried to tweak NVIDIA settings with these following commands:

nvidia-settings -a InitialPixmapPlacement=2 -a GlyphCache=1
and also added:

Option "PixmapCacheSize" "300000"
Option "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "True"
to my xorg.conf Device section.