Will my Samsung SSD work without its "Magician" software?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
rogerthat1945
Level 2
Level 2

Will my Samsung SSD work without its "Magician" software?

Post by rogerthat1945 »

Hi all, noob here.
I also am using an SSD with LinuxMint 16 x64 (on i7 3D Dynabook). Samsung Pro 128Gb.
But.... its software "Magician" does not install. No linux version.

Hoping am not hi-jacking the thread.

Can anyone advise if my SSD will continue to work ok, or is there anything I should do?

All I did was install from the Linux download ISO after a format of the SSD.

The SSD is still Magician partitioned (10% swop file partition?) from when Windows 7 was on it (and I came to Linux as neither Microsoft nor Toshiba would honor the laptop `Japanese` W7 licence for Windows as it was `out of the Toshiba 1-year warranty` [I bought it in Japan (no Japanese download ISO avaialbe anywhere)]), and that `partition` is now Blank in Linux Drive manager.

As I say, I am a noob, and there are literally thousands of conflicting informations out there.

But it does run very clean atm.

Hope this is not a hi-jack. Just wondered.

Linux drive benchmark said 4.5 ms average. It would not let me do a write test.

SSD on a home laptop is ESSENTIAL if you have young children. No more worries if they hook the cable running round the table. :D :D
Last edited by xenopeek on Tue Mar 04, 2014 3:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split from http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=191&t=135012. New questions deserve new topics.
zolar1
Level 4
Level 4

Re: Will my Samsung SSD work without its "Magician" software

Post by zolar1 »

Yes it will work fine. I use a 500GB evo samsung.

Depending on how you use your computer would depend on how often you need to run fstrim.

To run that command open a terminal

sudo fstrim -v /home
press enter
put in your password and press enter