Need to get 5.1 sound on Mint 5

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Go2doug
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:34 am

Need to get 5.1 sound on Mint 5

Postby Go2doug » Sun Oct 05, 2008 9:15 pm

I'm running Mint 5.0 KDE with a Sound Blaster Audigy SE sound card. When I play MP3s, I only get sound from the two front speakers and the center one. The two rear speakers are quiet.

I tried adding this to ~/.asoundc:

Code: Select all

"pcm.!dmix {
type plug
slave {
pcm surround51
channels 6
}
}
pcm.!default {
type plug
slave.pcm "dmix"
slave.channels 6
route_policy duplicate
}"


And I also tried adding this to /etc/pulse/daemon.conf:

Code: Select all

default-sample-channels = 6


But neither of these have worked. Any suggestions? Thank you.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Need to get 5.1 sound on Mint 5

Postby Husse » Mon Oct 06, 2008 6:41 am

I think you are on the right track
Take a look at this blog post
http://www.linuxtricks.net/index.php/ar ... with-alsa/
There are a few more things for ~/.asoundc than you have
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

Go2doug
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:34 am

Re: Need to get 5.1 sound on Mint 5

Postby Go2doug » Fri Oct 10, 2008 10:39 pm

Husse wrote:I think you are on the right track
Take a look at this blog post
http://www.linuxtricks.net/index.php/ar ... with-alsa/
There are a few more things for ~/.asoundc than you have


When I edit ~/.asoundc according to the example on that page, I get no sound at all. Anybody have any other suggestions? I am really surprised that Mint did not auto-configure the 5.1 sound.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Need to get 5.1 sound on Mint 5

Postby Husse » Sat Oct 11, 2008 4:38 pm

I am really surprised that Mint did not auto-configure the 5.1 sound.

It generally does, this could be something with your system and/or the KDE edition
I've only used 2+1 which only needs a stereo output so no personal experience
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests