What if I change my motherboard?

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
User avatar
Skankin' Rat Fink
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:39 pm
Contact:

What if I change my motherboard?

Postby Skankin' Rat Fink » Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:04 pm

Hey everyone. I'm thinking of upgrading my computer soon -- new motherboard, new processor (32-bit to 64-bit), new RAM. Same hard drives.

Can I somehow update my current installation of Mint, for the new hardware, without completely reinstalling? Do I have to recompile the kernel or something? Can I switch it to the 64-bit version, while maintaining all my settings, installed packages, etc.?

I'd like to know exactly what I have to do beforehand. so I'm asking all this now. Thanks in advance for your help. :D

revdjenk
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 2:51 pm

Re: What if I change my motherboard?

Postby revdjenk » Tue Nov 25, 2008 7:56 pm

As far as I know, SRF, Mint isn't compiled specifically for your hardware, but at each boot is reconfigured. So there should be no problem in switching out your hardware for new. Your first boot after the rebuild may be longer, as the new hardware is detected.

BTW, you do have a backup of your data, correct?
God Bless
Doug
Malachi 3:10 NRSV
...says the LORD of hosts... I will not open...windows...for you...

Linux user since 2001 pda; 2006 lappy

User avatar
Skankin' Rat Fink
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: What if I change my motherboard?

Postby Skankin' Rat Fink » Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:17 pm

revdjenk wrote:BTW, you do have a backup of your data, correct?
God Bless
Doug

Not yet, but I will. Thanks for the info.

User avatar
Skankin' Rat Fink
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: What if I change my motherboard?

Postby Skankin' Rat Fink » Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:19 pm

Y'know, I thought of something .... aren't the 32 bit and 64 bit entirely different?

It won't automatically upgrade to the 64-bit, will it? I think I would like the 64-bit edition, to take advantage of my soon to be 64 bit processor.

exploder
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6965
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:50 am
Location: HartfordCity, Indiana USA
Contact:

Re: What if I change my motherboard?

Postby exploder » Sun Nov 30, 2008 5:41 pm

It won't automatically upgrade to the 64-bit, will it?


No, to have the 64 bit OS you will have to install the 64 bit edition.

User avatar
Skankin' Rat Fink
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2008 4:39 pm
Contact:

Re: What if I change my motherboard?

Postby Skankin' Rat Fink » Sun Nov 30, 2008 6:58 pm

exploder wrote:
It won't automatically upgrade to the 64-bit, will it?


No, to have the 64 bit OS you will have to install the 64 bit edition.

Is there a way I can do that without losing my installed packages, etc?

bobpur
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 5:46 pm

Re: What if I change my motherboard?

Postby bobpur » Sun Dec 07, 2008 12:50 pm

Is there a way I can do that without losing my installed packages, etc?

Only in hindsight. :) I think, if I understand your post, that a 64 bit upgrade will need a complete re-do from a 32-bit OS. That's drivers and packages, etc.

The following advice is for things you want to keep despite an OS failure (or change).

When you re-install set up a "/" partition and a "home" partition as well as "swap." Put the OS in the "/" partition and anything you want to keep in the "home" partition. After that, anything you put in the 'home' partition will still be there no matter what you do to the "/" partition.

Good Luck.


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests