S-Video resolution

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
SiKing
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:57 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

S-Video resolution

Postby SiKing » Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:30 pm

Hello all.
This is not specifically LM-related, just looking for other's experience.
Recently tried to play some DVDs connecting my laptop (running LM) to the TV through S-Video - nothing else available that goes between the two. I found that the video quality is quite poor; I even tried using a regular DVD player to confirm. I got something like 350x300 in colour, or 640x480 in B&W. It's my first time using S-Video. What kind of resolution should I expect from S-Video? Anyone actually using S-Video on (semi-)regular basis? Wikipedia seems to be convinced that it should be much higher than what I have seen.
Thanx.

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19593
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: S-Video resolution

Postby Husse » Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:45 am

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=89470
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S-Video
Slightly different but still about the same
Check your cable......
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

SiKing
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 570
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 10:57 pm
Location: Las Vegas
Contact:

Re: S-Video resolution

Postby SiKing » Tue Mar 31, 2009 9:09 pm

Have confirmed the problem with another computer/OS, so it must be the cable. That seems odd though. I just have to rummage around to see if I can find a better one.


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: austin.texas and 7 guests