Help with tv tuner

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
mrmcanus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:41 pm

Help with tv tuner

Postby mrmcanus » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:36 am

I recently bought a Sabrent saa7130 Phillips TV Tuner card. I installed it just fine in windows but alas I favor linux mint for obvious reasons. I booted into mint and tried to install it with wine. No such luck. "That's alright I'm a big boy I can do this on my own......"

Guess not. I tried tvtime and when I opened it all I saw was a black screen. I saw no option for channel scan or any other feature that I encountered in windows. What would be the correct process for getting this to work?

User avatar
Caraibes
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:08 pm
Location: Dominican Republic

Re: Help with tv tuner

Postby Caraibes » Sun Jan 25, 2009 6:19 am

Mine works great, it is a LifeView Fly Video 2000, see it here:
http://www.google.com/images?q=+LifeVie ... nt=firefox

I just need to create this file: /etc/modprobe.d/options
And add that line in the file: options saa7134 card=3 gbuffers=4

Then I recommend using TVtime, as the best Linux TV viewer !

kwisher
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 735
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:54 pm
Location: Greentown, Indiana USA

Re: Help with tv tuner

Postby kwisher » Sun Jan 25, 2009 12:35 pm

The instructions suggested Windows XP or better, so I installed Linux :)


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests