graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Sun Mar 08, 2009 2:51 pm

hej evryone,
just installed elyssa on a new pc with gigabyte´s GA-MA78G-DS3H MoBo, AMD X2 4850e CPU, and a nice ASUS VW 193 D-B ( no it´s not an extended BEETLE ). To my surprise XP ´ s running pretty well, but elyssa is installed half in english - half in german. I already tried to change options in the lang support menue, but still it is a bit strange. also m player with xine engine is not working properly ( hacked/flickering pictures etc ). Soundwise i can play mp3´s etc, but watching a clip on You-Tube is pretty heavy, because there´s almost no sound. I wonder if this is all about that MoBo, or has some other reasons, i do not know by yet. My other PC runs fast & smooth on Elyssa, complete translation included.
Does anyone have a clue ?

thx,

Belzebub

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby Husse » Tue Mar 10, 2009 8:19 am

Well I can tell you that much - the mobo doesn't care about language :)
Is this the same CD you have used before?
Could be worth checking the md5sum of the ISO and perhaps burn at the slowest speed possible
Sound on youtube could be a hardware problem
If the problem remains post lspci so we can take a look at your hardware
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Mon Mar 16, 2009 3:45 pm

Hi again,

well, i swapped mint 5 for 6 and the graphics problem still is not solved yet. soundwise it seems pretty done. but what ever player i use for dvd or video ( vlc, xine, mplayer or totem ), the picture still is hacked, filled with white flashs. it checked the installed driver, good one recommended and tested, no other driver available.
usually there should be catalyst software to manipulate/adjust, but i couldn´t find it for this one.
so, i be thankful for any help to solve this problem in linux.
under XP there is no problem to see dvd or whatever.

greeez,

Belzebub

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby Husse » Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:58 am

Just a quick reply - no time for more
There have been updates to flash recently in mintUpdate and it could be worth to try some of the solutions for flash you find in the forum
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Fri Mar 20, 2009 3:57 pm

hej husse,

maybe you´ll have a look on the lspci data following:

suzan@suzan-desktop ~ $ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
00:0a.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 5)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
01:05.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc RS780 Azalia controller
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
03:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments TSB43AB23 IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)

any idea how to configure the 780 ( HD 3200 ) to get it running smooth ? :?:


thx,


greeez,

Northlander

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby Husse » Sat Mar 21, 2009 12:42 pm

As I've already answered you - just before I saw this post - I think envyng will do the trick
Open a terminal and

Code: Select all

envyng -t

(there was no room for the GUI on the CD)
I prefer envy to "jockey" the Hardware Driver tool in the menu
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Sat Mar 21, 2009 1:58 pm

thx, husse, try it, hopefully there´s another driver....


Northlander

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:46 am

hi again,

tried to manage, but also with this option it doesn´t work properly. The only one recommended and usable graphicsdriver already was installed. Are there any other options to get video running properly ??? :evil:

greeez,

Northlander

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:12 pm

After research found that there is a bug ( confirm launchpad ). advise to shut off compiz fusion and it should work......
so, where we are to compete WINDOOF ????

greeez,

Northlander

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby Husse » Mon Mar 23, 2009 6:55 pm

Well, go to a forum for Vista and you'll find much more problems than Mint has 8)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Tue Mar 24, 2009 7:40 am

Husse, i know you´re wright, but i wanna have a solution for this. at this stage it´s either shut off compiz or no vidoes/films with any player under mint ..... :( :( :(
Fortune is that i´d installed it in dual boot modus with xp.
thx anyway,


Northlander

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby Husse » Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:14 am

Ah - I read you the wrong way partly
This is a situation you are not alone with - turn Compiz on and off depending
I don't really think I have a solution, but let me think
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:18 am

No Problem Husse, guess someone will find a solution for this one day. Personly i´ll keep an eye on launchpad, that helped a lot during the last years with ubuntu etc.

tak !!!

Belzebub

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby Husse » Sun Mar 29, 2009 9:50 am

To solve this (if I can) I would have to spend a large amount of time on it, so if you can live with turning Compiz on and off I'd be happy - and this is unfortunately not an uncommon situation
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it

belzebub
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 7:15 pm
Location: ..on european tracks...

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby belzebub » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:38 am

No Problem Husse.
I guess my daugther can live without a working videoplayer on mint for a while ( she uses windoof´s mediaplayer anyway ) but she doesn´t wanna get rid of compiz, so....
But back to the problem: i wonder because this PC´s hardware config was an advise of the famous CT´s magazine :!: ( 25th anniversary end of last year ). So they checked that Mobo with, i guess it was Fedora 5/6 version, and it worked fine with Linux. So, i ask myself where´s the Hick ?

greeez,

Northlander

Husse
Level 23
Level 23
Posts: 19595
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: graphics on GA-MA78G-DS3H

Postby Husse » Sat Apr 04, 2009 4:04 pm

Fedora 5/6 version,

Older kernel....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it


Return to “Hardware Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: celem and 14 guests