Not seeing Floppy

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Not seeing Floppy

Postby borgward » Wed Nov 08, 2017 5:26 pm

Mate 17.1 32bit not seeing floppy drive. BIOS sees it. Should I expect 17.1 to see the floppy drive?

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9008
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby Pjotr » Wed Nov 08, 2017 6:32 pm

Only when it contains a floppy. Geez, do those still exist? :mrgreen:
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

User avatar
BG405
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby BG405 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:56 pm

Pjotr wrote:Only when it contains a floppy.

Spot on :) & yes, they do still exist; in fact are still available NEW from the likes of floppydisk.com, even the 5¼" in DD & HD and 8" disks. I have boxes of 5¼" disks and a fair few 3½" disks too. Have been archiving them and experimenting. :mrgreen:

OP: Be aware it's necessary to unmount the disk before ejecting it, as with other removable media :!:
Last edited by BG405 on Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - LM17.3 Xfce 32--------------------K7S5A Athlon 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 -----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby borgward » Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:00 pm

Not seeing it with floppy in the drive. Should the drive be recognized if the floppy is bad?

User avatar
BG405
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby BG405 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:15 pm

If it's unreadable, it will not be recognized by file managers etc..

Is this a USB drive, by the way, or an internal one? Reason I ask is that on one of my machines, the 5¼" drive in my machine is the first and the 3½" is the second, but (Puppy) Linux doesn't see the second drive at all although it works fine with the USB 3½" floppy drive. You might need to put the drive at the other side of the twist assuming your FDD cable has one, otherwise change the drive select jumper from 0 to 1 or vice versa which will probably mean the BIOS won't report it correctly, but Linux should. Experimentation is probably key here.

If it's a USB drive you will need tools in order to format etc. which I should be able to help you with.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - LM17.3 Xfce 32--------------------K7S5A Athlon 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 -----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby borgward » Wed Nov 08, 2017 8:31 pm

It's internal. Will it be seen if it has a blank floppy that is good? Only one floppy drive on this machine. By "You might need to put the drive at the other side of the twist assuming your FDD cable has one," you mean swap the cable end for end?

User avatar
BG405
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2016 3:09 pm
Location: England

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby BG405 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 10:43 pm

borgward wrote:By "You might need to put the drive at the other side of the twist assuming your FDD cable has one," you mean swap the cable end for end?
That won't work. If there's no twist in the cable (probably single connector on each end rather than three, one at one end and two near & at the other end, the twist being between thesee two) the only way is to change the drive jumper.

Could you post the model number of the floppy drive? I might be able to find something on this.

I'll need to fix my tower with the single floppy as it needs a couple of caps replacing on the motherboard, hopefully this week so I'll test that one & see what happens.
Dell Inspiron 1525 - LM17.3 CE 64-------------------Acer D255E 2GB - LM17.3 KDE 32
Toshiba NB305 - LM17.3 Xfce 32--------------------K7S5A Athlon 1.2GHz - LM17.3 Xfce 32 & WinXP-Pro
Acer Aspire E11 ES1-111M - LM18.2 KDE 64 -----Dell PII 350 64MB - Puppy 4.3 & Win98-SE

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby borgward » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:33 pm

The cable has only 1 connector at each end. The dive does not have a jumper. Maybe I am overlooking it. Would the jumper be on the mobo? The floppy drive is NEC FD1231H. I have a spare, a Sony MPF920-F. Both are 3-1/2" internal.

Has Linux never recognized floppy drives unless there is a floppy in them?

FreedomTruth
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 326
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:19 am

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby FreedomTruth » Sat Nov 11, 2017 11:49 pm

I'm using XFCE 18.2 so a little different ... but yes, "Floppy Disk" shows up on the side of the file manager, as something to mount (whether there is a diskette in it or not).
Also, I have the following directories: /media/floppy (symbolic link to /media/floppy0) and /dev/fd0
Actually I don't know why /media/floppy and /media/floppy0 exist. When I mount in file manager, it goes to /media/username/disk.
Anyway, if you have /dev/fd0 you can try manually mounting a formatted diskette. Make a mountpoint sudo mkdir /mnt/floppy then mount sudo mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy If all goes well, you can view your files in /mnt/floppy then. If it needs formatting, a quick search shows these steps: sudo fdformat /dev/fd0 to format, then create filesystem sudo mkfs.vfat /dev/fd0

As a side note, or rather question, does "Floppy Drive" show up in the gnome-disks utility for you?
gnome-disks.png
If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free... Most assuredly, I say to you, whoever commits sin is a slave of sin... Therefore if the Son makes you free, you shall be free indeed.

borgward
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:18 pm

Re: Not seeing Floppy

Postby borgward » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:34 pm

Does not show up in gnome-disks with either floppy in it or not. It does show up in the BIOS.


Return to “Hardware Support”