Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Lo-calm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:10 pm

Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Post by Lo-calm » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:42 pm

Hi there !
I need your help for a little problem with my linux mint ( cinnamon ) on my laptop ( MSI GS60 6QE )
Here is the problem :
On this laptop, i have the possibility to choose between my graphic card for performances or my intel graphics for energy saving with this panel :
http://hpics.li/f421924
But, there is a problem : When i want to reboot or shutdown my computer when intel graphics is selected, my computer stays locked on a black screen forever with a "_" on the right corner of my screen. And it's not the case with the graphics card selected instead !
Here, the driver :
http://hpics.li/9895a68

So, if you have a solution for this problem, or if you can help me to find one, i'll be really grateful !
Thank you ;)

rene
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Post by rene » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:56 pm

Not a solution but a note: intel-microcode is not related; it's nothing to do with graphics, but with the possibility to through microcode patch your (Intel) CPU for flaws discovered after its release. It's usually not needed: generally nothing's needed, and even if it is, a current BIOS will do it for you already.

rene
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Post by rene » Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:56 pm

You can by the way try specifying the reboot method; "reboot=acpi" or "reboot=efi" might be most promising. To do so, you can manually add the parameter to the kernel command line through the Grub boot menu, or you can add it to the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT string in /etc/default/grub and run sudo update-grub.

Lo-calm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:10 pm

Re: Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Post by Lo-calm » Tue Nov 21, 2017 3:37 pm

Hi Rene !
Thank for your help ! I tried to do what you said, but it doesn't solve my problem ! But now the screen is not black anymore :lol:

User avatar
Spearmint2
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5710
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: Maryland, USA

Re: Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Post by Spearmint2 » Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:14 pm

what's xrandr in terminal show?
All things go better with Mint. Mint julep, mint jelly, mint gum, candy mints, pillow mints, peppermint, chocolate mints, spearmint,....

rene
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1809
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 6:58 pm

Re: Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Post by rene » Tue Nov 21, 2017 6:26 pm

Lo-calm wrote:But now the screen is not black anymore :lol:
Seeing as how it apparently did make some difference I'd also try reboot=pci -- but other than that I'll bow out; have no idea and basically wanted to comment only on that microcode thing...

Lo-calm
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:10 pm

Re: Reboot / Shutdown locked because of intel-microcode

Post by Lo-calm » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:00 am

No problem rene ! thank you for your help ^^.
Spearmint2 wrote:what's xrandr in terminal show?
Here the xrandr output !
Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1080, maximum 32767 x 32767
eDP1 connected primary 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 344mm x 194mm
1920x1080 60.02*+ 59.93 47.99
1680x1050 59.95 59.88
1600x1024 60.17
1400x1050 59.98
1600x900 60.00
1280x1024 60.02
1440x900 59.89
1280x960 60.00
1368x768 60.00
1360x768 59.80 59.96
1152x864 60.00
1280x720 60.00
1024x768 60.00
1024x576 60.00
960x540 60.00
800x600 60.32 56.25
864x486 60.00
640x480 59.94
720x405 60.00
640x360 60.00
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VIRTUAL1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”