Mouse problem

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
JanKol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:13 pm

Mouse problem

Postby JanKol » Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:52 am

Since a while I have problems with using the mouse (Logitech M305). So I decided to reinstall Linux Mint (18.3, 64-bits on Medion Akoya E7227/MD98742-16 GB RAM). A few weeks all went as I expected but now it is junk again.

Example: I select one post in Thunderbird t delete it by pressing the (right) mouse-button the delete-button in the programm the selected post disappears. But, by releasing the mouse-button the next post disappears also. Selecting a spot in a text-document does not select the spot itself but the entire word or by releasing the button the entire sentence.

The mouse is ok. I used it on a Windows laptop to and it gave no problems.

deepakdeshp
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2810
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Mouse problem

Postby deepakdeshp » Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:10 pm

The mouse settings are in setup-- mouse where you can tweak the mouse to your liking.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 18.3 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD processor . Memory 8GB

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16108
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Mouse problem

Postby Cosmo. » Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:46 pm

Dying mice can behave very unpredictable. How behaves the touchpad? Or if possible another mouse?

JanKol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:13 pm

Re: Mouse problem

Postby JanKol » Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:59 pm

deepakdeshp wrote:The mouse settings are in setup-- mouse where you can tweak the mouse to your liking.

I tried all possible options but this doesn’t solve the problem.

Cosmo. wrote:Dying mice can behave very unpredictable. How behaves the touchpad? Or if possible another mouse?

I used several different mice; on a Windows 10 laptop these mice all function as usual.
Unfortunately the touchpad doesn't function at all because Medion gives no support...

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16108
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Mouse problem

Postby Cosmo. » Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:45 am

And all those mice show the same problem in Mint?

User avatar
ClixTrix
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 351
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:40 am
Location: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Re: Mouse problem

Postby ClixTrix » Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:54 am

While you've stated the Touchpad doesn't work, I'm curious if it is involved, i.e. still enabled.

From Menu - Preferences - Mouse and Touchpad, disable Touchpad and test.
Linux Mint 18.3 x64 Cinnamon Kernel 4.14.14 Mainline (Ukuu)
Gigabyte GA-AB350M-D3H (F5a) / Ryzen 5 1600 / Micron Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400 2x8GB / XFX HD5450-1GB
SSD Samsung EVO 960 250GB / HDD WD1600BEKT 160GB / SSD Toshiba OCZ VX500 512GB

JanKol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:13 pm

Re: Mouse problem

Postby JanKol » Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:53 pm

Indeed what ever mouse I use, the problem with Mint is the same
and
Not using the touchpad has to do with the refusal of Medion, the laptop manufacturer, to inform me how I can install it (no guaranty = no support as I experience it)

Cosmo.
Level 22
Level 22
Posts: 16108
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 7:34 am

Re: Mouse problem

Postby Cosmo. » Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:46 pm

Launch the live system. Do you see the same problem there also?

JanKol
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:13 pm

Re: Mouse problem

Postby JanKol » Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:16 pm

Cosmo: unfortunately I do not know what "the live system" is.

I think I solved the problem. I put all setting on standard and it seems that my problem is solved. Ok some actions are a bit slower but that is better than the problems I had. Remarkable is that tis problem is not happens in the first weeks/month after installation Mint but after some time
A screen-shot of the mouse settings at this moment (Dutch language system): http://sterntje.nl/71216-Muis.png


Return to “Hardware Support”