Tablet accelerometer sensor on Lenovo Helix

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
NOOB

Tablet accelerometer sensor on Lenovo Helix

Post by NOOB »

I recently installed Mint Cinnamon 18.3 on a slightly old Lenovo Helix and iio-sensor-proxy 1.1 came with Mint but doesn't seem to work with the accelerometer. iio-sensor-proxy 2.4 is evidently out, now, but I couldn't figure out how to install it (why d'ya think I'm a NOOB? but I vaguely recall DOS and even CP/M commands, so I'm not totally useless). Running monitor-sensor in a terminal had no results at all. One of the other commands on the iio-sensor-proxy Github page led to monitor-sensor showing lighting changes; and yet another indicated that no accelerometer existed or functioned. Being wholly new to Linux, I couldn't find how Mint would show any sensors at all via the graphics menus, much less how to turn them on.

FYI, the Helix in not like a Yoga--the screen detaches from the keyboard & behaves like a tablet. In tablet mode under Win10, I could right-click with a stylus, but not in Mint. Nor would the image shift when the screen rotated, and screen-touch was limited (e.g., Calibre would not advance pages with clicks on the right-side of them, only with the page-turn arrows).

Advice is very much welcome, but should be explicit for this NOOB, who is a user not a programmer. Thanks in advance. I'll check back in a while.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
WiltshireJon
Level 2
Level 2

Re: Tablet accelerometer sensor on Lenovo Helix

Post by WiltshireJon »