[SOLVED] Trackpoint stops working

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
Moem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5893
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

[SOLVED] Trackpoint stops working

Post by Moem » Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:03 am

This morning my Thinkpad had a fan error which resulted in pretty high temperatures until it shut down. When I rebooted it afterwards, all was fine until I'd started up an application; then the mouse froze. This turns out to be reproducible. It happens every time and with different applications.
I can use the laptop with an external mouse and I even found that the touchpad works, once I turned it on. I'm not used to mice and touchpads at all so I want my trackpoint back! Any pointers to where I should start my troubleshooting will be appreciated.

Code: Select all

moem@moem-ThinkPad-X201 ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: moem-ThinkPad-X201 Kernel: 4.13.0-32-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: LENOVO (portable) product: 36805B8 v: ThinkPad X201
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 36805B8
           Bios: LENOVO v: 6QET61WW (1.31 ) date: 10/26/2010
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5 M 560 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10640
           clock speeds: max: 2667 MHz 1: 1199 MHz 2: 1333 MHz 3: 1199 MHz
           4: 1333 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1280x800@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ironlake Mobile
           GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 17.2.4 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 5 Series/3400 Series High Definition Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-32-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82577LM Gigabit Network Connection
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: 1820 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: enp0s25 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6200
           driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 240.1GB (51.0% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: INTEL_SSDSC2BW24 size: 240.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 31G used: 9.1G (31%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: /home size: 157G used: 102G (68%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.08GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda7
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0C mobo: 0.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 3395
Info:      Processes: 208 Uptime: 6 min Memory: 1663.8/7773.4MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
Moem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5893
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trackpoint stops working

Post by Moem » Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:14 am

What the fluff! I just found out that the trackpoint is not fully inoperational: it's not working otherwise, but it scrolls vertically and horizontally like nobody's business. Seems like there's a setting messed up somewhere, but where?
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
catweazel
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5473
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: Trackpoint stops working

Post by catweazel » Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:01 am

Moem wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:03 am
...my Thinkpad had a fan error which resulted in pretty high temperatures until it shut down. When I rebooted it afterwards, all was fine until I'd started up an application; then the mouse froze.
Moem wrote:
Sat Feb 10, 2018 5:14 am
Seems like there's a setting messed up somewhere, but where?
It's more than likely synchronicity. If it were my machine I'd be looking for a hardware failure first. Try a live session.
A new scientific truth does not triumph by convincing its opponents and making them see the light, but rather because its opponents eventually die, and a new generation grows up that is familiar with it. - Max Planck

User avatar
Moem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5893
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trackpoint stops working

Post by Moem » Sat Feb 10, 2018 6:19 am

Hardware could well be... it's now intermittently working as normal, and not-working-but-scrolling. I think I'll switch it off completely and give the keyboard a good clean. I have a feeling something is stuck under a key and triggering some kind of scrolling option in combination with leftclick.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

User avatar
Moem
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5893
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Trackpoint stops working

Post by Moem » Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:49 am

The trackpoint proceeded to fix itself over the course of the day, so it does seem like there was some crud stuck under a key. Because it's almost spring, and because I'm worth it (or maybe I've seen too many ads?) I gave it the full Moem's Certified Thinkpad Cleaning Procedure* today. That goes as follows:
  • Shut down laptop
  • Use compressed air to clean keyboard. Be persistent especially if you have cats.
  • Also spray the air gently into USB and ethernet ports and you'll see a nice puff of dust emerge.
  • Then spray the screen and keyboard SPARINGLY with a thin mist of glass cleaner. DO NOT SOAK. It may be a Thinkpad but it's still a computer.
  • Proceed to clean between the keys, and any other nooks and crannies, with cotton buds.
  • Then clean the screen with a soft dry cloth, and finally wipe your greasy mitts off the keyboard with that same cloth. Like new! :mrgreen:
* Guaranteed to be free of BleachBit.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”