Unicorn HDD

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
ArchBeekeeper
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:28 pm

Unicorn HDD

Post by ArchBeekeeper » Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:54 pm

How is it that I have a HDD with a msdos partition table AND it's also larger than 2TB!?!?!?

I can't properly clone it as a result.

Super stumped...Tried dd, but that didn't work.

How do you copy the impossible?!?!?!


Thanks in advance; I really am stumped here.

User avatar
MintBean
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2956
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:54 am
Location: Blighty

Re: Unicorn HDD

Post by MintBean » Mon Feb 12, 2018 5:03 pm

What's this say?
sudo parted -l

ArchBeekeeper
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 9:28 pm

Re: Unicorn HDD

Post by ArchBeekeeper » Mon Feb 12, 2018 7:50 pm

Thanks!

Code: Select all

Model: Seagate Expansion Desk (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 4001GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 4096B/4096B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags: 

Number  Start   End     Size    Type     File system  Flags
 2      1049kB  1049GB  1049GB  primary  ext4
 1      1049GB  4001GB  2952GB  primary  ext4


Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4918
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm

Re: Unicorn HDD

Post by Mute Ant » Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:19 am

An MBR partition table is limited to 32-bit unsigned integers to describe...
o The position of the first sector of a partition.
o The number of sectors in a partition.

A drive like yours has sectors 4096 bytes in length, so MBR is good for one-or-more partitions in a 16TiB space.

A BIOS or boot-loader or OS or partition-editor that simply assumes the sectors are 512 bytes long will have problems. GNU commands like dd don't see sectors though, just a sequence of bytes. All the normal disk-copy methods will work, except...
4001GB at 100MB/s -----> 11 hours
...so something like the ddrescue command, which can be restarted if you are cloning, or a backup of files instead to skip the empty spaces.
Data stored in an encrypted volume will only be accessible with the original password. Without this key, all the data will remain scrambled beyond hope of recovery.

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”