Memory missing in system monitor and system info

Questions about hardware,drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
strat4tony
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:03 pm

Memory missing in system monitor and system info

Post by strat4tony » Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:26 pm

Thanx to the Adm for adding me to the forum. I am not new to Linux as I have been playing around with it for years, but now it is all i'm gonna use. So...still a newb. I am running Mint 19.3 Cinnamon 64 bit on Asus AMD Quad core with 1 tb hd and 16 gb ram, at leasy thats what I thought. System info shows 6.8 gb. I do know the video card on this laptop shares some memory. Also the same in system monitor. My bios confirms 16 gig. I also did sudo lshw -C memory and sudo dmidecode -t memory in terminal, which I found online with these results: sudo lshw -C memory

Code: Select all

[sudo] password for strat4play: 
  *-firmware              
       description: BIOS
       vendor: American Megatrends Inc.
       physical id: 0
       version: 206
       date: 09/02/2015
       size: 64KiB
       capacity: 960KiB
       capabilities: pci upgrade shadowing cdboot bootselect socketedrom edd int13floppy1200 int13floppy720 int13floppy2880 int5printscreen int9keyboard int14serial int17printer acpi usb biosbootspecification uefi
  *-cache:0
       description: L1 cache
       physical id: 22
       slot: L1 CACHE
       size: 256KiB
       capacity: 256KiB
       clock: 1GHz (1.0ns)
       capabilities: pipeline-burst internal write-back unified
       configuration: level=1
  *-cache:1
       description: L2 cache
       physical id: 23
       slot: L2 CACHE
       size: 4MiB
       capacity: 4MiB
       clock: 1GHz (1.0ns)
       capabilities: pipeline-burst internal write-back unified
       configuration: level=2
  *-memory
       description: System Memory
       physical id: 31
       slot: System board or motherboard
       size: 16GiB
     *-bank:0
          description: SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1600 MHz (0.6 ns)
          product: CT102464BF160B.C16
          physical id: 0
          serial: 1194AC87
          slot: DIMM 0
          size: 8GiB
          width: 64 bits
          clock: 1600MHz (0.6ns)
     *-bank:1
          description: SODIMM DDR3 Synchronous 1600 MHz (0.6 ns)
          product: CT102464BF160B.C16
          physical id: 1
          serial: 1194AC88
          slot: DIMM 0
          size: 8GiB
          width: 64 bits
          clock: 1600MHz (0.6ns)

sudo dmidecode -t memory
[sudo] password for strat4play: 
# dmidecode 3.0
Getting SMBIOS data from sysfs.
SMBIOS 2.8 present.

Handle 0x0031, DMI type 16, 23 bytes
Physical Memory Array
	Location: System Board Or Motherboard
	Use: System Memory
	Error Correction Type: None
	Maximum Capacity: 16 GB
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Number Of Devices: 2

Handle 0x0033, DMI type 17, 40 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0031
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 8192 MB
	Form Factor: SODIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM 0
	Bank Locator: CHANNEL A
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
	Speed: 1600 MHz
	Manufacturer: <BAD INDEX>
	Serial Number: 1194AC87
	Asset Tag: A1_AssetTagNum0
	Part Number: CT102464BF160B.C16
	Rank: 2
	Configured Clock Speed: 1600 MHz
	Minimum Voltage: 1.35 V
	Maximum Voltage: 1.5 V
	Configured Voltage: 1.5 V

Handle 0x0034, DMI type 17, 40 bytes
Memory Device
	Array Handle: 0x0031
	Error Information Handle: Not Provided
	Total Width: 64 bits
	Data Width: 64 bits
	Size: 8192 MB
	Form Factor: SODIMM
	Set: None
	Locator: DIMM 0
	Bank Locator: CHANNEL B
	Type: DDR3
	Type Detail: Synchronous Unbuffered (Unregistered)
	Speed: 1600 MHz
	Manufacturer: <BAD INDEX>
	Serial Number: 1194AC88
	Asset Tag: A1_AssetTagNum1
	Part Number: CT102464BF160B.C16
	Rank: 2
	Configured Clock Speed: 1600 MHz
	Minimum Voltage: 1.35 V
	Maximum Voltage: 1.5 V
	Configured Voltage: 1.5 V
Both show both DIMMS with 8gb a piece. Please any suggestions or help, or am I OK? I plan on using my machine for music production. Thanx for the anticipated responses!

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11464
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Memory missing in system monitor and system info

Post by WharfRat » Thu Feb 15, 2018 12:53 am

Hello strat4tony Image

Welcome to Linux Mint and the Linux Mint forum :)

It would help if you provided your system information with sudo inxi -Fzxm and also the name of the application you're running,
ImageImage

strat4tony
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:03 pm

Re: Memory missing in system monitor and system info

Post by strat4tony » Thu Feb 15, 2018 6:44 pm

Hey WharfRat. here is the results:

Code: Select all

strat4play@Tony-X550ZA ~ $ sudo inxi -Fzxm
[sudo] password for strat4play: 
System:    Host: Tony-X550ZA Kernel: 4.10.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: ASUSTeK (portable) product: X550ZA v: 1.0
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X550ZA v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 206 date: 09/02/2015
CPU:       Quad core AMD A10-7400P Radeon R6 10 Compute Cores 4C+6G (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 19963
           clock speeds: max: 2500 MHz 1: 1700 MHz 2: 1700 MHz 3: 1700 MHz
           4: 1400 MHz
Memory:    Array-1 capacity: 16 GB devices: 2 EC: None
           Device-1: DIMM 0 size: 8 GB speed: 1600 MHz type: DDR3
           part: CT102464BF160B.C16
           Device-2: DIMM 0 size: 8 GB speed: 1600 MHz type: DDR3
           part: CT102464BF160B.C16
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kaveri [Radeon R6 Graphics]
           bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           tty size: 80x24 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Kaveri HDMI/DP Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Card-3 Focusrite-Novation Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
           driver: USB Audio usb-ID: 005-002
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.0-38-generic
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (6.6% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB temp: 37C
Partition: ID-1: / size: 910G used: 56G (7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 7.46GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 101.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 51.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 209 Uptime: 1:50 Memory: 1323.3/6920.3MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (sudo) inxi: 2.2.35 
strat4play@Tony-X550ZA ~ $ 
As far as what application, nothing in particular right now, but want to use the machine for music production. Getting some help with that from LinuxMusicians since I was a windows 10 guy and dont know what direction to go in with that. Thanks for you response!
Last edited by WharfRat on Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added code tag

User avatar
WharfRat
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11464
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 8:15 pm

Re: Memory missing in system monitor and system info

Post by WharfRat » Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:17 pm

Everything looks good and there's no doubt that you have 16 GB of memory.
strat4tony wrote:As far as what application, nothing in particular right now
What I meant was what is the name of the application that incorrectly depicts your system memory :?:
strat4tony wrote:System info shows 6.8 gb
I don't have an application of that name :?

Do you mean System Monitor :?:
ImageImage

strat4tony
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:03 pm

Re: Memory missing in system monitor and system info

Post by strat4tony » Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:44 pm

I'm sorry Wharfrat, Yes ...6.8 in system monitor and in system info...Im sorry, thought u meant what app i'm using for the memory...

strat4tony
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 9:03 pm

Re: Memory missing in system monitor and system info

Post by strat4tony » Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:47 pm

I'm gonna assume that the terminal info will be more accurate then the system apps!

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware Support”