MSI Z370M compatibility

Questions about hardware, drivers and peripherals
Forum rules
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
tmg

MSI Z370M compatibility

Post by tmg »

I've never used Mint before. I've only got some limited experience with Ubuntu and Lubuntu and have never used Linux as a home machine.

I am building my own PC with plan to install Linux Mint after a friend recommended it as I want to learn Linux and also for networking virtualisation (GNS3 etc).

I have decided to go with Intel 8th Gen Coffee Lane. The motherboard I have got is the MSI - Z370M GAMING PRO AC mATX. The MSI website only has links for Windows support so it made wonder whether there will be any problems. I didn't check whether Linux will work at all, I just assumed it would be okay. I don't really understand how the hardware / software compatibility works with Linux (as everything is geared towards PC gamers it seems) or where to find that information.

Is anyone else using this or any similar platform?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Re: MSI Z370M compatibility

Post by catweazel »

tmg wrote: Sat Feb 24, 2018 8:21 pm I have decided to go with Intel 8th Gen Coffee Lane.
The only thing thast should need changing is the kernel, it needs to be the newest to take full advantage of that CPU. You can run Mint in a live session and see how it goes, but I wouldn't expect trouble.
"There is, ultimately, only one truth -- cogito, ergo sum -- everything else is an assumption." - Me, my swansong.
tmg

Post by tmg »

How do I make sure I am using the latest Kernel?

I was going to make a boot USB using the latest download available (18.3) is that all I need to do?
catweazel
Level 19
Level 19

Post by catweazel »